Bossy Wench Job Description – Danielle Yockman

17 Mar

Bossy Wench

I have many jobs. But all of them can fall under one general description: Bossy Wench.

My primary job is Sr. Configuration Management Analyst. (That’s fancy talk for bossy wench!) Seriously, configuration management is about getting really smart people to understand that they can’t do whatever they want. They have to follow a process that helps them to document what they did and what decisions were made long the way. So quick example, look at your cell phone. My job is to help the engineer who designed that phone document everything about how it was designed, built and packaged. That way they can do it again, and again, and again with confidence that they will get the same result every time.

Next, I am a wife. I have a husband who needs love and attention, and occasionally to be told what to do (There’s that bossy wench again!). Fortunately for me, he cooks, cleans, and does yard work. Woot! Woot! No ladies. He is not available!

Then, I am President of the Board of Directors for my local Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation chapter. So I go to various events and publicly speak about why it is so important that we find a cure for this disease. I also run quarterly meetings where we work to keep the board focused on the fundraising goals of a nearly 2 million dollar chapter. (Hhhmmm…do-gooder bossy wench!)

Also, I am a cat pillow. Buster takes his lap time VERY seriously. Not even the computer is allowed to interfere with his time to knead and love on the mommy.   

Finally, I am an aspiring romance writer. (Whew!) I write historical and science fiction romance. Mostly I write straight historical; but I so love Steampunk that I am pushing my boundaries and playing with reality. I am yet unpublished, but that will hopefully change very soon. (Bossy wench checking in! Yes, I regularly tell my characters what to do.)  No I am not crazy, well okay I do hear voices, but I know they aren’t real. Snicker. I often listen to what they have to say and then tell them what I think they should do instead. It makes for interesting conversations with my self, that’s for sure.

So let’s recap. I am a bossy wench at work. I am a bossy wench at home. I am a bossy wench volunteer. I am a cat pillow. I am a bossy wench when I write. So I would have to say that if you need a bossy wench, I’m your gal. If not, I am sure I can tell you who/what you need, where to find it/them, and ultimately what to do with it/them once you have it/them!

Check out Danielle Yockman HERE

7 Responses to “Bossy Wench Job Description – Danielle Yockman”

  1. Alexia Reed March 17, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Ok I’m tired just reading that. LOL. Sounds like a very complex primary job you have. Sr. Configuration Management Analyst. Yeah, still over my head. Good luck on your writing!

  2. Danielle Yockman March 17, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Yeah…I hate trying to explain it. Bossy Wench is so much more to the point! LOL! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. katiebabs March 17, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Yo ho hoo sounds like the Bossy Wench needs some rum after a long hard day.

  4. Danielle Yockman March 17, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    The Bossy Wench can always use some…well not Rum.

  5. Tami March 18, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    *grins* Do you write Bossy Wench characters as well?

    I love how the cat gets to be the bossy one for the single “job” that doesn’t require bossiness on your part. =]

  6. Danielle Yockman March 18, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Tami,
    I do write Bossy wenches! LOL! Go to Http:dyockman.wordpress.com and check out a couple free reads. Caution: they are not YA books, but the excerpts should be ok for anyone. 🙂

    And yes, I know who my owner is. The cat always wins! LMAO!

  7. Katrina Williams March 18, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    Wow, you need to teach me how to boss my characters around. They insist on running around and doing stuff that ruins the last third of the plot. Hey, that sounds a lot like my kids too. I need bossing lessons all the way around.

    I love that you do the volunteer stuff. I so admire people who make time for that.

Leave a comment