Wonder Woman Job Description – Tina Burns

24 Mar

I was asked recently to write a true Job Description for myself. At first I balked thinking that to do so would be a job in and of itself. I didn’t want to really take a look at all that I do. Overwhelmed is typically my word of the day, but I don’t complain because we’re all overwhelmed. We all have a million balls up in the air, some fall, some we catch, we just have to get through the day and be thankful for the little things. If I can’t be thankful and take joy in the little things, I will go insane.

This year for me personally has been a journey of introspection. So, in light of my commitment to digging deeper into who Tina really is, and taking joy in finding myself again, I felt that writing the job description would be good, possibly even therapeutic, and a sight cheaper than my therapist. 🙂

Without further ado…

Title: Wonder Woman

Department: Life

Reports to: God, Husband, Children, Boss(s)

Overall responsibility: Manage household of three males and one dog while holding down two jobs, one in which each day is worse than the next and the other the lifeline to your sanity.

Key Areas of responsibility:

  • Maintain a high level of cleanliness in the home.
  • Prepare healthy, tasteful meals in a timely manner.
  • Raise two boys into men that respect themselves and others.
  • Interface with school teachers, medical staff, and other influences in the boy’s life.
  • Facilitate daily interactions with husband to maintain a high level of communication, ensuring continued intimacy and development of relationship that will endure the test of time and trials of life.
  • Coordinate individual schedules to ensure timely departure for daily activities, sending each off with a loving kiss, no matter how you feel.
  • Manage the evil day job with integrity, decorum, and expediency that belies your true feelings about those you will work with on a daily basis and the job itself.
  • Fit into the evil day job aspects of the wonderful second job, communication and interaction with staff, authors, and readers via email, phone, and social networks.
  • Continuously generate innovative ideas to bring in more authors, energize current authors, and entice readers.
  • Coordinate interactions with review sites, newsletters, and other promotional areas.
  • Facilitate a timely publishing schedule, while coordinating with editorial and art staff.
  • Note: all wonderful second job activities must be completed while maintaining attentive action to evil day job, and home job.

Term of employment: Life

Qualifications:
Strong sense of self.
Insane organizational skills.
Self-motivation.
Parenting experience not needed, must be able to wing it and learn along the way.
Excellent communication skills.
Ability to take joy in the little things.

5 Responses to “Wonder Woman Job Description – Tina Burns”

  1. Tami March 24, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    *laughs* Wow! I have to be honest, as it’s been phrased, I would totally not call in to apply for that job (though my own job looks suspiciously similar!).

    You say you’ve been working on introspection, but it sounds like you’ve got the prioritization part of the job down pat.

    My favorite requirement > “Ability to take joy in the little things.”

  2. Katrina Williams March 24, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Wow, I never thought about having a strong sense of self being a qualification. I’ve been trying to work on the thing where you try to convince yourself you don’t have to spend *all* 24 hours in the day doing stuff for other people. But what I take from your post is making it a point to keep true to who you are in the midst of all the chaos. That really resonates with me!

    So am I reading this correctly that editing is actually not your *real* job? That must be hard. Are you planning to make it your full-time job at some point?

  3. Tina March 24, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Tami: After reading it again today, I probably wouldn’t have applied either, but Life only throws at you what you can handle. Funny you say that about prioritization, I find that’s one of my biggest challenges in that I tend to do easy to hard vs. what needs to be done first. LOL.

    Katrina: The strong sense of self isn’t easy for me. I spent the last 10 years being a caregiver for my Grandmother with Alzheimer’s, thus the journey of introspection, I need to find myself again. YOU DON’T HAVE TO SPEND 24/7 DOING STUFF FOR OTHER PEOPLE. 😉 Make it your mantra. Taking care of yourself, and being true to yourself may at times make other people bent, but then that’s probably because their used to you giving 150% of yourself away, while all they do is absorb. People like you and I have to really work at only giving a small percentage of ourselves, and learn to be okay with others not understanding what we must do to stay sane and healthy.

    Wow, I got deep there. 😉

  4. Tina March 24, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Katrina 2: You are correct, I have a day job in addition to being Publisher for LSB. I would love to work LSB full time and I’m working toward that.

  5. C. Lee McKenzie March 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I’m going to have to re-examine my qualifications. I like yours so much better than mine.

    Great site!

Leave a Reply

