The Agent Decision

26 Jan

I just made the most difficult decision of my writing career and (after thinking long and hard) decided to blog about it.

 

I passed on an offer of representation from and agent in a large agency.

 

I know, a ton of you unagented (and maybe some agented) writers just fell out of your chair, and to be honest, I’m feeling a little ill myself.

 

So, why did I pass? I’m not going to go into details. I can say, I liked the agent. She was bright, intelligent and had a passion for books. She offered me the opportunity to break all those pesky “rules” that made my book cross-genre. She liked the idea that she also saw the potential of the book to cross the YA/Adult line.

There was something –not a BAD thing– that made me realize we weren’t a good fit for a partnership at this point in my career. And so, after 6 months of querying , I did something I NEVER thought I’d do – I sent her a letter thanking her and explaining why I’d made the decision.

 

I’ll admit it, it was an AMAZINGLY DIFFICULT (like difficult to the level of blanking on words to measure the level of hard it was) — but when it comes down to it, we all know our own writing styles and personalities better than anyone else.

This is what I learned: Know what you need in an agent so that she can take what you’ve done and make you BOTH successful at what you do.

While this person will be a great match for someone else, I know that I’m not that girl.

 

OK, I’m still feeling ill, but I’m sure this is the right decision and, after all, this is a business we’re running here, right?

15 Responses to “The Agent Decision”

  1. melsmag January 26, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    *big hugs* Only you know if it’s going to be a right fit or not. Not someone else. Something to take out of this is that there will be so many more opportunities. You knew what you wanted and that is more than what some want and you stuck with that. Be proud of that. And when push comes to shove, and that right agent comes along, it’ll be the right time.

  2. December January 26, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    WOW – well, good for you! I’m sure you made the right decision!

  3. Inez Kelley January 26, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    WOw and congrats on staying true to your beliefs.

  4. anshakotyk January 26, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    All I can say is wow, and I need details. 😉 That sux that it didn’t work out, but they say it’s harder to get out of a bad situation than it is to wait for a good one. Or so they say. *hugs*

  5. briaq January 26, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    Thanks all!

    Like I said, not a BAD situation – just not the right one I’d say.

    Your support is helping my stomach ache 🙂

  6. Michelle (MG) Braden January 26, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    You will find your agent. I believe in you and I believe in your book.

  7. jeannielin January 26, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    I think you made the right move. Like I said, you have to go with your guy…oh, I mean gut. 🙂

    It takes some backbone to survive in this business (says unagented, unpublished newbie) and you’ve got it in spades.

    -Jeannie

  8. Shelley Munro January 26, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    I’m so sorry and have an inkling about how this must feel. Don’t worry because somewhere out there is an agent who will fit like a pair of comfortable shoes. I know that doesn’t help much at the moment, but every single Diva is urging you on and wishing you success.

  9. briaq January 26, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    Actually – you said to sleep on my guy….you mean gut lol

    Thanks ladies – seriously – the support means so much!

    MG – I’m so glad you believe in my book! I’m writing another page today just to get you closer to reading book 2 lol

  10. Moira January 26, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    Bria, I have faith you will find your match. I see it as finding the glass slipper…

    (Yes I totally see you as Cinderella, minus the evil stepmother and step siblings 😉 )

    MJ

  11. briaq January 26, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    hmmmm Prince Charming or a book deal….Prince Charming or a book deal…. maybe I shouldn’t think about that 😉

  12. Nell Dixon January 27, 2009 at 3:49 am #

    Hugs, I know how hard that decision is. I passed on an offer from an agent. At the time I was torn not knowing if I’d done the right thing and like you – not a bad agent just not right for what I felt I needed. Twelve months later I got a stellar agent where I feel I can really do some work. Keep your chin up – if one agent sees that something then another one will too.

  13. Grace Draven January 27, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    That took a lot of courage and a strong belief in yourself–something to be proud of. With that kind of belief system, you’re sure to find the perfect agent for you in the very near future.

  14. R F Long January 27, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Wow Bria, so sorry to hear that it wasn’t the right fit, but I think you made the right decision. (And I think you know that too, even if it hurts now). *Hugs* and you will get there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Writing When It’s Hard « Luv YA - February 2, 2009

    […] pm Tags: encouragement, readers I’ll admit, the last couple weeks have been very draining. THIS post is a lot of it, although having been unemployed except with the odd job for the last two years […]

Leave a comment