FWIS ~> Writing Time, Keeping it Sacred

6 Jun

FWIS (From Where I Stand) is a monthly piece I’m collaborating on with Abby Mumford & Jessica Corra… all three of us are YA writers in different places in our journeys. Check out their links for this months FWIS from their point of view!

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m not even looking at the other ladies’ posts. We’ve seem to have a run of “Pick topic then everyone writes about it one way and Bria writes about it another.” So, let’s see what happens today!

Anyone who knows me knows that this is a topic near and dear to my heart. I’ve blogged about writing and time management over and over again. I’ve spoken on it, lead online discussions on it, taught workshops, created several small forum-based groups and (occasionally) bullied people into time management (HINT: That never works.) I’ve been a career and management coach. I work with executives and do office reorgs.

So, when you sayWriting Timethat’s typically where I go.

But, today I’d like to go somewhere else.

Today I’d like to talk about keeping it sacred.

Yes, finding the time can be nearly impossible. Yes, it can be a ten-minutes here, two-minutes at a stoplight, scribbling notes while I cook kind of thing.  But, just like any relationship, you need to learn to give this one all of your attention when it’s time to be with it.

If you have time set aside, then focus — even if that means turning off Twitter (something I often have to do – I have no twelf-control.)

The thing I’ve learned this year (that I’d secretly known before) is that when you’re writing, that time needs to be a time apart. A time when the world in your head, becomes the actual world you’re living in. It is – in that moment – the present reality you make real so you can share it with others.

Because of this we need to learn to ask ourselves, what is better: Five minutes of extreme focus or and hour of scattered time?

Treat whatever time it is you get as a present. It should never be, I have to write. It should always be, I get to write. because, let’s be honest, being able to write any amount of time is a gift. Take that gift and make it into something you can share with others. Make it into something sacred.

kk,
bria

4 Responses to “FWIS ~> Writing Time, Keeping it Sacred”

  1. abby mumford June 6, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    ooh, i love this post!

  2. Bria Quinlan June 6, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    LOL – Bria Goes Topic Rogue again 😉

  3. Sabrina Shields (@SabrinaShields) June 25, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    The idea of making my writing time sacred is something I’m trying hard to impart to the hubby. Just when I get really into a scene is always when he comes in asking “so how’s it going?” LOL

  4. Bria Quinlan June 25, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Well, that’s so much nicer than “Are you done yet!”

Leave a Reply

