10 Minute Mentor: Learning How to Write

23 Apr

I was a member of RWA since the second I decided to start writing. Ok, the day after the second I decided to start writing. It’s a funny story. It’s on the blog somewhere and one day I’ll dredge it up again.

But, not the point.

The point is, as soon as I decided to start writing again, I joined one of the most reputable writers’ groups out there.

RWA immediately started giving me the tools I need to get to the next level (and helped me define “the next level”) as well as the support to get me there. I did a fast list once on what I got from RWA HERE. That’s the off the top of my head list, but you get the point.

I just started listening to the RWA 2011 conference MP3s. I thought there’d be a lot there for me to skip. I mean, I’ve heard it all before, right? It’s stuff I’ve learned. Those first, entry-level talks that I thought I could skip? Well, they’ve been gems. Amazing.

I find myself saying, I knew that. I knew that, right? a lot. Some of it I’m already doing and hadn’t realized it had become second nature. Some of it I’d started doing and forgotten. Some of it had never penetrated this thick skull of mine.

And so, as you grow, do not forget that no level is behind you. When you climb that ladder to the next level, every wrung you climb is held together by the one below it as much as the one above it. By looking back, you’re making a stronger base. By looking forward, you’re making a stronger plan.

You can’t move up without both.

4 Responses to “10 Minute Mentor: Learning How to Write”

  1. Kristen Koster (Kaige) April 23, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Great post, Bria. And so true. I usually find SOMETHING I can use or that I’m ready to hear when I revisit previous topics in lectures or craft books.

  2. Bria Quinlan April 23, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    It makes me feel smart…and a little bit, not (sung in Little Red Riding Hood’s voice) every time I do it!

  3. Bethanne April 23, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    The page looks beeeeautiful. 🙂 I agree, too. Just keep learning.

  4. Bria Quinlan April 23, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Thanks! It was time to shift back to a more Bria’y look. The “newspaper look” was for a project last year!

Leave a Reply

