#WordFool – Upping the Ante

14 Mar

So, you dove in and you’re writing to hit goal every day. Things are going pretty well… But that Bria, she’s evil, right?

I warned you all yesterday something was coming and you weren’t going to like it *evil laughter*

I’ve been talking to several people about the Used’taBeen of writing. When we first started and people were constantly in different chatrooms throwing down in challenges. I began to wonder why that wasn’t as much the case any more.

So I’ve asked people how writing in an online community has changed over the years. I had some thoughts of my own and what I heard reinforced those ideas.

Before twitter and all the other social media we use constantly, chatrooms were one of the few places to meet-up with other writers. And when you went in them, it was typically to write (and if it wasn’t, someone would say, hey.Β Aren’t we going to write?)

And so, here’s the challenge. You don’t have to take it up, but I’m daring you πŸ™‚

There are three weekends in WordFool. From Friday at 7pm thru Monday 1am, anyone who stays off extraneous gets one more point.

Yup. One more point for you (and your team) for prizes.

What is “extraneous” you ask? Well, let me give you an idea:

  • Twitter. Oh, my beloved twitter. You are extraneous.
  • Facebook. We don’t hangout that much, but you won’t be seeing me on you for the next few weekends
  • Forums. Yes, even “lurking”
  • Chats. I know this sounds backwards, but I’m talking about those “chatty, we don’t do anything but be social” chats. Not working chats.
  • IMing, DMing, OtherMing I don’t know about…anything that drags your attention away
  • Pinterest *sobs*
  • ADDS TO THE LIST AS YOU GUYS OWN UP TO THINGS πŸ™‚

You get the idea, but we can discuss things further.

This is obviouslyΒ an honor system thing. But all of #wordfool is.

And, don’t worry – there’s more torture to come πŸ™‚

EDITED TO ADD:

I’m posting a chat challenge schedule on the #wordfool page. Please comment on that page if you’d like to:

  • Volunteer to whip during a time listed
  • Want to set up a different time.

Keep in mind: You can use the chat room ANY TIME YOU WANT. But we’re just putting some times out there that people will be guarenteed to find others to write with.

NEVER DONE A CHAT CHALLENGE? NO PROBLEM!

We’re going to go old-school on this:

  • Some one sounds the *whip* to start.
  • The *whip* sound happens again after 20 mins to signal the end
  • There will be 3-5 min break to share snippets or run to the bathroom πŸ™‚
  • No one HAS to share a snippet – it’s completely voluntary.
  • All snippets shared must stay PG13. This is non-negotiable.
  • Everyone will crit politely. CRIT. If you post something, be prepared to get some gentle comments.
  • If people’s comments are not gentle, they will get an email from me… please be kind
10 Responses to “#WordFool – Upping the Ante”

  1. annie nicholas March 14, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Wrting chat rooms are okay, though? *clings to writechat*

  2. briaq March 14, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Yes, if you can look all of us in the eye and say 90% of the time is working on writing.

    *glances at own chatroom* I know there are nights that we’d be lucky to hit 40%. So, manage that or join the wordfool chatroom if you want.

  3. Sabrina Shields March 14, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    But my precious twitter…

    It’s not extraneous…not really…*Sigh*

    What about writing partner video chats? I have my first one scheduled for this weekend for brainstorming/general writing talk…but have no idea how well we’ll stay on topic since it’s our first time! LOL

    I can do without the rest. Twitter is hard for me. But I’m a pop in and out kind of girl usually. Check in – send a tweet. Come back an hour later to see what’s up…SIGH. Yes, I need to stay off.

    Tell me more about these challenges in chats? I’ve only been using chat rooms for a few years and honestly, I’ve always wondered why there are more actual challenges. So it hasn’t always just been “write 20 minutes and then break”? Interesting. πŸ™‚

  4. briaq March 14, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    It’s going to be your call on the call Sabrina. It sounds like it’s a working call, but if it’s 3 hour tea party… *backs away*

    I’ve been in different “writer chatrooms” some are filled with work (writing, criting, brainstorming, editing, sharing and commenting, etc)… then that chat room became very… chatty.

    Several groups moved out to get back to writing. But, as often happens, we may have swung really far the other way.

    SOOOOO… If you’re up for chat challenges, I’ll post a schedule

    I’m adding info to the bottom of the post.

  5. Kimberly Farris March 14, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    I’ve been weening myself off of Pinterest and trying to cut back on mindless internet surfing so I’m down for the challenge.

  6. irenelefort March 14, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Would auto publishing on Twitter and Facebook via WP count as being extraneous? πŸ™‚

  7. briaq March 14, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    if you do it before we start at 7pm on Friday and then can manage not to check it or respond… you’re golden πŸ™‚

  8. irenelefort March 14, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    πŸ™‚ I’m in. My hubby would be happier because of it.

  9. briaq March 14, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Just let your captain know sunday night if you made it πŸ™‚

  10. irenelefort March 14, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    I will πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

