One Year….

8 Dec

A year ago, I posted this. Amazing the journey a year brings. Here’s to the next year!

 

So, I have these papers. They came in the mail today. They want me to sign them. “Sign me, Bria! Sign me!”

“Okay,” I shout as loud as I can so everyone knows I’m signing them. I mean, why the heck wouldn’t I?

I take out my special pen, the one I did the last round of edits with on the latest book. It’s almost out of ink, but this is a great way to die the pen tells me.

I, who shall sign the papers, salute it.

So the pen signs the paper and dies. We have a moment.

Then I look at the paper again, my heart skitter stepping in my chest. Oh special papers! Oh how I love thee!

I do all the special paper sending preparations and then wait, waiting for the papers to jump up and shout and point and laugh. “HA HA HA Bria! We tricked you! We aren’t for you. You don’t get no stinking special papers.”

But they don’t and I smile. I smile at the papers and my happily self-sacrificing dead pen.

Then I DM Lauren MacLeod (code name: @bostonbookgirl) and shout in capitals, “I GOT THE SPECIAL PAPERS!!!”

And all was well in the world.

16 Responses to “One Year….”

  1. J. W. Hankins December 8, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Hilarious!

  2. abby mumford December 8, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    happy agentversary!

  3. briaq December 8, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Thanks guys – today, same as a year ago, I couldn’t be happier!

  4. mg December 8, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I love this. LOVE. So hard.

  5. briaq December 8, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    This is apparently the week for that sort of announcment 😉

  6. mg December 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Heh. It’s a good week for great agents. 🙂

  7. Caryn Caldwell December 9, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Awww. That’s sweet. I hope it’s been a good year.

  8. briaq December 9, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Thanks! It’s definitely been a ride – a new partnership and finalling in the GH and learning so much! Such a great year!

  9. Robert Lettrick December 9, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    The first agentversary is paper. And the next. And the next.

  10. briaq December 9, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    LOL – Cute Robert. Very cute.

  11. Alison Stone (@Alison_Stone) December 14, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Glad you had a great year & glad fate had us reconnect at RWA! Here’s to a wonderful 2012!

  12. briaq December 18, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    THANKS! I know- that was when I started writing. Can you believe it???

  13. Monica B. W. (@Monica_BW) December 18, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Happy belated AGENTVERSARY!! And I loved the post!! Can’t wait to see one of your book in print! ❤

  14. briaq December 18, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Thanks Monica! I was so happy to sign with Lauren. It’s great to see that excitement in the post again… and I love that we’ll share agentversary weeks 😉

  15. Liz Czukas December 30, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Yay, Bria! I hope 2012 brings even more wonderful things for you!

    – Liz

  16. briaq January 1, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    THANKS! I’m looking for us all to have a happy, exciting and successful year 🙂

Leave a Reply

