Should You Enter The Golden Heart?

19 Oct

It’s that time of year again. RWA’s Golden Heart entry time!

Every year in November I repost my Last Minute Prep for the GH. It gives a run down of reminder and last second panic questions people need.

But, this year is a little different. This year I’m getting a ton of questions. Okay, I’m getting two questions, just really, really, really often.

Question One: Bria, are you entering the Golden Heart this year?

Answer: Probably not. The book I’m working on now isn’t what RWA would consider a Romance. Does it have a strong romance? Yes. But, beyond that, it breaks just about every Romance and YA rule out there.

For that reason, I probably won’t enter. It doesn’t make sense to send in something that gives judges too many excuse to check the “This doesn’t meet the category guidelines” box.

Question One A:  What about Secret Life? It didn’t win so you could enter it again.

That’s true. I could enter it again. I’m just not sure I’d want to.

Don’t get me wrong. I love (adore)  that book and feel really confident about it. It is, still, my favorite thing I’ve written. I still cry when I read it.

But, right now, it feels like it did its GH thing. Could I change my mind? Maybe. I know Certain People are pushing for me to enter it again.  Never say never I guess.

Question Two:  Well Bria, should I enter?

To that I give you a resounding, Maybe.

So, because I’m always thinking about my darling friends and followers, I created a handy-dandy flowchart (during a conference call) for you to follow to your very own answer. It was either that or buy you all Magic 8 Balls.

So, without further ado, your path to the Golden Heart….or not:

4 Responses to “Should You Enter The Golden Heart?”

  1. abby mumford October 19, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    a flow chart — love it. this is a fabulous use of your time while on a conference call.

  2. Darynda Jones October 19, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    LOL, this is too cute!

  3. briaq October 19, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Oh, it was such a *helpful* call (read: I have no idea why I was asked to be on it) But look how I got to spend my time LOL THANKS

  4. briaq October 19, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Thanks D 😉

Leave a Reply

