When Blogging is…

17 Oct

If you follow me on twitter (@briaquinlan) you know I hang with two lovely lasses: Abby Mumford and Jessica Corra. Both rock. Seriously. Go follow them. I’ll wait.

Ok, welcome back.

Now, if you spent any time at all checking them out (aren’t they hot?) you know they both have blogs. Not only do they both have blogs, but they both have really good blogs. Reading their blogs made me wish for something.

It just took me a little while to figure out what that wish was.

Then I realized. Sadly, it wasn’t pretty.

Abby’s blog is about those first steps — those wonderful moments as  you realize things about writing and crafting and editing and reading and all the wonderful first discoveries.

Jessica’s blog has a lot to do with what’s it like as you grow into a published writer. Her first book comes out in about a year, and there’s a lot of new discoveries happening for her.

Me? I’m in the middle. The shine, as they say, is off the apple.

Don’t get me wrong, I love love love writing. I’m currently in school getting a Copyediting Cert to freshen up my undergrad Creative Writing minor but at the same time, I’m missing writing horrible. The only thing keeping me going is knowing that three months is a small amount of time to only get to squeeze writing in between work, commuting, homework and school. In a few months it will be all about the writing again.

But, at the same time, I’ve done all the blogs about first discovery. I’ve moved into the new realm of  now-I-have-an-agent-and-stuff-out-in-the-world.

There is, of course, a joy in this. But I do wonder how many of us find our blogs (and maybe ourselves) a little adrift in this new spectrum of the world.

People warn you about so many things getting out there and getting started. They warn you about all the stuff to be aware of when a deal is on the table and prepping for release.

Who talks about that in-between time.

I hesitate to call it a “waiting period” because, to be honest, I know my wait to get to this point even was not much. I know getting an agent in 1.5 years and having 2 books done, 1 a Golden Heart finalist, 1 getting polished and 1 more waiting for it’s turn to be attacked is a lot of writing at this point.

And, you know that I’ll tell everyone one thing over and over again. There is no waiting in writing.

There is always another project to be worked. So, where does that leave the blog?

I don’t know. I guess we’ll find out together… Look, a new discovery!

5 Responses to “When Blogging is…”

  1. abby mumford October 17, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    in her quest to find true happiness (in the form of food, a chair and a bed), i believe goldilocks found the middle to be JUST RIGHT.

    but in your quest of the publishing holy grail, i know the book contract will be reached and we’ll be here alongside you as you cross over the invisible bridges, dodge falling rocks and solve complicated logic puzzles. i swear, we’re as good as harrison ford.

  2. abby mumford October 17, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    oh and p.s. THANK YOU for the kind words re: my blog.

  3. briaq October 17, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    LOL – the middle is… well, I’m pretty sure as I put more thought into it, I’ll be finding out more of what it is exactly in the next few weeks!
    THANKS 😉

  4. jessicacorra October 17, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Love this post. Yes, there is no waiting! Wednesday’s blog post revisits that idea, actually. And thank you for the kind words, too. 🙂

  5. briaq October 17, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Of course! You two definitely have inspired me!

Leave a Reply

