What’s in a Star?

29 Sep

When my Kindle crashed and I had to reload all my books, I decided to go with different categories.  After some thought, I decided to do a ranking system.

Who knew that would be so complicated. Here’s what I came up with:

5 Star: Loved it. LOOOOVVVEEDDDD it! Why have you never read it? I’m going to reread it. You know what. I need to hang up because I’m going to go reread it right now.

4 Star: This was great. I would 100% recommend it. I may reread it again some day. But, definitely, if you haven’t read it you should.

3.5 Star: This got added after a month. It means Wow, it’s almost a 4 star. I’d recommend it to a lot of people, but maybe not everyone. There was just something holding me back from making it a 4. I’m not sure if I’d reread it when there’s so many great books out there, but I might.

3 Star: Good read. Not a waste of time. I wouldn’t not recommend it and I definitely would pass it on to the friends I know it’s up their alley.

2 Star: This book was a total waste of time. It probably didn’t hold together, or broke its implied promise to the reader, or was poorly written. I would tell people NOT to read this book.

1 Star: OH DEAR GOD! Did I even finish it? Probably because I was trying to figure out why in the world anyone would write…let a lone publish… this book. It was horrible. There’s no coming back from this one. I might actually recommend this book as torture or for a laugh.

So, I’d love to hear how you rate books OR sort your kindle.

4 Responses to “What’s in a Star?”

  1. abby mumford September 29, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    your kindle crashed?? my book would never crash on me, unless i fell asleep and my hands stopped holding it up, which has actually happened because i always read right before i go to sleep. ANYWAYS, i love and totally agree with your rating system. it makes me want to go through my bookshelf and put a sticky note with the rating on it. i especially love the 1/2 star part because sometimes a book just hasn’t earned a full star.

  2. taureanw September 29, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    I block out the 1 star books, my therapist says I shouldn’t even acknowledge they exist.
    Also when you said your Kindle crashed I literally cringed 🙂

  3. briaq September 29, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    It was a sad…sad day. But Best Buy just handed me another one and called it good. Poof… Except for all the redownloading. Not so Poof.

  4. briaq September 29, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    We’ll have to do a compare tonight!

Leave a Reply

