Dash-Board Interview: Darcy Woods

15 Jun

I’m really excited to introduce you all to Darcy Woods. Why? Because Darcy is a late-comer to the group. You see, the GH loop isn’t created by RWA so it kind of happens that people wander in as they find the group (or the group finds them) – I’d tried to find Darcy, the last of the YA sistren, but couldn’t. So, when she finally found us, it was cause for celebration. Now, in her interview, we all get to know her a little better!

Let’s start off with a short bio.

I live in Williamston, Michigan located in the lower, central part of the mitten, with my husband, two cats, and a sundry of wildlife on 5 wooded acres. I’ve worked in a spa as an esthetician for the past 14 years and ladies, I’ve seen and heard it all! Should I ever pen a memoir it will be titled TALES OF AN ANGRY BEAVER.

Tell me a little about your GH book.

Ember Carroway talks to plants. Literally. Commanding plant life and healing at will are two quirks that guarantee the troubled seventeen year-old can kiss normalcy goodbye. The revelation of a nature-based lineage kept secret by her family has Ember grappling to make order out of chaos, but one fact remains clear—her kind is disappearing.

What’s the opening line.

I could jump right now.

Tell me about your GH call… and aftermath

Because I work in a spa, the only time I’m able to check my cell is on my lunch break. I didn’t know they called the finalists directly, and figured I’d go home and not see my name online. Then I heard the message telling me RWA was trying to get in touch. My stomach felt all sloshy as I called Maggie Landry back…and got her voicemail. 15 minutes left on the clock before my break was over. I gave myself the pep talk that they’re not going to phone 1100 people to tell them their manuscripts were as foul as the monkey house at the zoo. Finally, I got the call and was utterly and completely stunned. The news was received by a bat-like procession of squeaks. I didn’t have a full night of sleep for about a week because I kept waking up thinking, “holy s#*t, I finaled?!” and then my feet would windshield wiper back and forth until I fell asleep again.

What got you started writing?

Love of reading and thrill of escape to the playground of imagination.

Have you always written YA?

Yes. SPARK is my first manuscript, but honestly, I’ve always been a teen at heart and can’t imagine writing anything else.

What’s your book’s or character’s theme music?

FLORENCE& THE MACHINE! (Among MANY others.) I’m seeing her live right before Nationals, as if my blood needed more pumping.

Now, let’s do the fast money round!

Chocolate or Vanilla?
Vanilla? What’s vanilla?! 

Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter?
Fall. Spectacular colors and comfort foods! Applecrisp anyone? 

Movies or TV
Movies, unless were talking an HBO series involving hot vampires. 

Hot or Cold
Generally opposite of the prevailing temperature, I welcome change. 

Beach or Mountains
The mountains on beachy islands, like the Na Pali Coast of Kauai.

 Travel or Staycation
TRAVEL!

 Soccer Boys or Some Other Sport Guys (yes, we’re a little partial here at Luv YA)
My first boyfriend was a soccer guy, and then there’s David Beckham…er,sorry, I was daydreaming. What was the question?

 Silly or Serious
Silly 

Early or Late Bloomer
I like to think I’m still blooming. 

Morning Glory or Night Owl
Morning Owl. Wrecks havoc with my sleep cycles.

 William or Harry
C. David Beckham 

Since we’ve been doing Quirky Facts on the GH Loop – share the quirkiest one you have… about you 🙂

Ooh, which one…probably that prior to working in a spa, I served three years in an Army Aviation Unit refueling helicopters in Bamberg, Germany. I prefer the smell of essential oils to jet fuel any day!

9 Responses to “Dash-Board Interview: Darcy Woods”

  1. Gwyn June 15, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Nice to meet you, Darcy. Having worked as a make-up artist (in a past life), I can imagine some of your Angry Beaver stories (but am so glad my work didn’t involve the removal or garments!) What is it with people spilling their guts to folks hired to make them presentable?

  2. skalb June 15, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    You are hilarious, Darcy. Love the title of your future book! Your YA sounds unique–something my daughter would definitely choose.

  3. Nan Dixon June 15, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    This interview is a blast!

  4. briaq June 15, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Thanks so much ladies for stopping by! The Dash-Board interviews HAVE been a blast. Two more to go! I”m loving getting to know my YA GH Sistren 😉

  5. Gwen Hernandez June 15, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Fun interview, Darcy. Us mountain island loving girls have to unite. Maybe on Tortola? We’ll just agree to disagree on the ice cream flavors and sleep habits. 😉

  6. Shoshana June 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Great interview, Darcy. Except that now I really want apple crisp. Maybe this is a sign that I should eat some lunch.

  7. Darcy June 15, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Thanks, Gwyn! Consider yourself lucky your clients got to remain fully clothed:) Regardless, I’m sure we’ll have stories to swap.

    Suzanne, thrilled to hear your daughter might enjoy my book! Does she know any agents that would 😉

    I had fun too, Nan. Imagine all of us together in real time? I hope NY is ready!!!

    Yes, Gwen, you’re the yin to my yang…I didn’t mean that as weird as it sounds.

    Ah, Shoshana, a foodie too, I see! I can’t wait to take a literal bite out of the big apple, care to join?

  8. Jenn June 16, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    Darcy! I always get to the party late, but I’m so glad to get to know you! Your book sounds AMAZING, and I can’t wait to meet you at Nationals! The batlike squeaks sound so familiar… maybe we were trying to converse across the miles that day?!? I live in southern Ohio so it’s possible.

    Thanks so much for sharing your story!

  9. Shoshana June 16, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Yeah, I won’t share how much time I’ve spent looking at NY restaurant reviews, but…well…it’s a lot.

Leave a Reply

