Dash-Board Interview: Shoshana Brown

17 May

Welcome to this week’s Dash-Board Interview: Shoshana Brown!

Let’s start off with a short bio.

I wrote a little bit of everything, including romantic comedy, romantic suspense, and part of a cookbook, before finding my way to young adult romance. My novel STAGE FRIGHT is the winner of the 2009 Golden Heart (YA category). If I’m not writing or toiling away at my day job, where I attempt to make Important Scientific Discoveries but usually just end up yelling at my computer, I can be found in the kitchen baking something (for research purposes).

 

Tell me a little about your GH book.

Sixteen-year-old Anastasia Chernov wants to escape her family of petty criminals and remake herself into the quintessential law-abiding citizen–starting by winning the election for student council vice president.  But when her brother Dima bribes his way into her new boarding school and announces he’s running against her, Stasia must decide if winning is important enough to return to her criminal ways.

 

What’s the opening line.

How about the opening paragraph instead?  (I’m such a rebel.)

According to Google maps, Laguna High School is located in Southern California, 0.76 miles from the ocean.  And yet, as I speed-walk through the administration building, I’d swear I’m trapped in hell.

 

Tell me about your GH call… and aftermath 🙂

I was in the bathroom, trying to convince my two-year-old to brush his teeth, when I got the call.  The whole time I was trying to talk to Trish Milburn, he was tugging on my arm and yelling something along the lines of “MOMMY!  I WANT TO READ A BOOK!”  So I’m not entirely certain what either Trish or I said.  Afterwards, I was in a mad rush to get the kid to day care, get myself to a doctor’s appointment and back, and get to a meeting at work, that I didn’t get to tell anyone but my husband until hours later.  Next time I’m going to have to schedule GH announcement day a little better.  🙂

 

What got you started writing?

I was back home for the summer after my freshman year at college and not happy about it.  I believe the first sentence of that first manuscript was something along the lines of–She was now certain there was a conspiracy against her.  Okay, I was a little angsty.  In my defense, I was, technically, still a teenager.

 

Have you always written YA?

After that disastrous first “book”, which I wouldn’t even know how to classify, I started writing romance targeted at Harlequin’s Flipside line.  An editor at Flipside liked my voice enough to explain to me the (many) things about my manuscript that weren’t working and how she thought I might fix them, but just as I was finishing revisions, the line folded.  I tried to switch to single title romance, but that didn’t work out well.  Eventually I had an idea for a YA, and once I started I knew that was what I was meant to write.

 

What’s your book’s or character’s theme music?

Silence.  I’m physically unable to write with music unless it’s in a coffee shop and/or the words are in a foreign language.

 

Now, let’s do the fast money round!

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter?

Spring

Movies or TV

TV.  Preferably trashy MTV reality television.  Or, as I like to call it, research.

Hot or Cold

Cold

Beach or Mountains

Beach

Travel or Staycation

Travel

Soccer Boys or Some Other Sport Guys (yes, we’re a little partial here at Luv YA)

I guess I’ll have to go with Baseball, since the last sports crush I had was on former Padres third baseman Ken Caminiti.  And, yes, I’m going to go with the I-was-still-technically-a-teen excuse again.  Don’t judge, people.

Silly or Serious

Serious 

Early or Late Bloomer

Late Bloomer

Morning Glory or Night Owl

Night Owl

Since we’ve been doing Quirky Facts on the GH Loop – share the quirkiest one you have… about you J

I hate driving and will do almost anything to avoid it.

11 Responses to “Dash-Board Interview: Shoshana Brown”

  1. skalb May 18, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Hi Shoshana, I really like the premise of your book. I’m wondering what inspired you? What was the original spark? Do their ethnic names–Russian?–factor into the storyline? Also, do you live someplace where driving IS avoidable? I spend half my life in a car–but love it! Love road trips!

  2. Shoshana Brown May 18, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    My husband is Russian, and there was one particular branch of his family who gave me the inspiration for several of the characters.

    I live in a city where most places a car is required, but I managed to move to one of the few places that’s easily walkable.
    I can walk to the doctors, the dentists, the grocery store, the park, a bunch of restaurants, etc. I love it.

  3. briaq May 18, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I wish I could buy all these books now. Shoshana, yours caught me right away when we were all trading descriptions and lines because it felt so different. Very excited to get a look at it too!

  4. Shoshana Brown May 18, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Thanks, Bria!

  5. Gwen Hernandez May 18, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    I’m glad to meet another night owl, Shoshana. Wish I could get the rest of the world to conform. 😉 I would love not to have to drive everywhere, not because I hate driving, just because I hate using all that gas! It’s sometimes hard to be green in suburbia.

    I’m loving these interviews, Bria!

  6. Shoshana Brown May 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I know, Gwen–what’s wrong with those people who like getting up while it’s still mostly dark outside?

  7. Gwyn May 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Great interview Bria and Shoshana. So much we don’t know about you lil sis. I think it’s adorable your baby wanted to read while Mom was being called about her own book.

  8. Shoshana Brown May 21, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Thanks, Gwyn. I love that he’s so into books. Although it would be even better if his favorites didn’t involve construction vehicles or big rigs. 🙂

  9. Gwyn May 22, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    He’s a He. He’ll branch out a little more later, I promise. Then watch out, Mom. *G*

  10. Sharon May 25, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Congrats on your GH!

  11. Shoshana Brown May 26, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Thanks, Sharon!

Leave a Reply

