Hijinx & Amnesia – Golden Heart Finaling

4 Apr

People keep asking, “Isn’t it great? Has everything changed?”

I can honestly say that YES! Being a Golden Heart finalist is GREAT! Super Great! But, nothing feels like it’s really changed.

Actually, I kind of keep forgetting. Not because it’s not a big deal, but because it’s SUCH a big deal… I mean, *I* couldn’t possibly really be a GH Finalist, right?? RIGHT????

It all started the night before the calls were made. I actually had a realistically vivid dream that I finaled. This vivid dream should have been negated by the fact that to let Gwen Hayes and Jeannie Lin know, I didn’t call them, I opened my back window and shouted out to them where they were both hanging their laundry in our connecting backyards…which, let’s be honest, that would have rocked too.

But, the dream itself was SO vivid, the part about the call…how stressed and surprised I was, how I couldn’t believe it…that it seemed real.

So, Friday, I get the call at about 10am. I’m actually waiting on an out-of-state call at about that time, so when I glanced at the phone and saw the number, I assumed it was the call I was waiting for.

Well, IT WAS!!! Only, I didn’t know I should be waiting on that GH call.

I missed everything the poor woman said and made her repeat it.

<insert running around the house screaming>

I then got off the phone and called Gwen, Jeannie and Special Agent Lauren Macleod to let them know (actual telephones were used) – then I jumped on twitter and LET THE ENTIRE WORLD KNOW I’D WON THAT AWESOME FINALIST SPOT.

Everyone sent congrats and retweeted it. Joy abounded. And then I started to have this funny feeling…. like something wasn’t quite….right.

Wait. I just dreamed about getting the call. What if, that really vivid dream was all that happened and I didn’t really get the call. O.M.Gosh! What if I just told the entire world I was a finalist and I wasn’t????

Rush to the RWA site. Check the page. Holy Shnikies. There’s no “Bria Quinlan” — I did. I made it up in my head. Panic! PANNNNIC!!!! I can’t be the first person this has happened to? Right? I mean, twitter just made it happen faster…. It’s like when you’re a kid and you wake up in September and think it’s Christmas. That happens to everyone, right?

Um, right?

Ok. I’ll just apologize to everyone and delete my account and blog and start writing under a pen name. It could be worse. But before I do that….

*REFRESH*

AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! IT’S THERE! IT’S THERE! I’M A GOLDEN HEART FINALIST!!!

<insert more running around the house screaming>

But the funny thing is, it keeps happening. I think it’s from getting used to the rejections during querying and then having to start from scratch and do it all over again. You learn to compartmentalized. Just put it away. My mantra is, just write the next book. It drives some of my beloved writing buddies insane, but I’ve gotten really good at putting the business stuff in motion and then forgetting about it in the waiting game.

I’m sure there’s going to be times when this fails. Say I go out on submission and Special Agent Macleod sends me an email that says, “I’ve even subbed to Daily Free Reads That Don’t Pay, and they don’t want you either….” I’m pretty sure there will be no compartmentalizing if that ever happens  – but for now, I like to put that stuff away. You can’t do anything about it. All you can do is write the next book (or in my case, right now, revise the next book).

The Golden Heart final has been a lot like that. I know it’s amazing. I know that great things happen just being in that final 8. But, I keep forgetting and then BAM! Something reminds me and I get completely giddy again. Oh, and here’s also those amazing women I’m getting to know on the 2011 GH loop. But, the mantra stands: Yes this is <insert appropriate emotion> but the only thing I can do right now is write the next book.

So, there it is, hijinx and amnesia – that’s basically where my mind’s been since the … Wait. I FINALED IN THE GOLDEN HEART! OMGOSH!

4 Responses to “Hijinx & Amnesia – Golden Heart Finaling”

  1. Gwen Hernandez April 5, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    Oh boy, what a roller coaster! I didn’t dream about finaling, but I can relate to the rest of your post. When I really stop and think about it, the whole thing still doesn’t seem real!

  2. briaq April 5, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    I know! I keep waiting for it to “make sense” LOL

  3. Amanda Hoving April 5, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Great story! Congrats — it wasn’t a dream 🙂

  4. briaq April 5, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    I’ll believe it when they let me in the awards dinner 😉

Leave a Reply

