Golden Heart Finalist

25 Mar

Someone mentioned I *MIGHT* consider throwing the announcement up on my blog *head desk* I’m just so excited, I think my brain turned off!

So, here it is: TODAY I GOT THE CALL FOR THE FINALISTS FOR GOLDEN HEART!!!!! My manuscript Secret Life is in the pack!

Yes, this is exciting! Yes, I jumped up on the bad ankle (and then fell down) and then the adrenaline kicked in and I ran around. Yes, I know that’s going to hurt later. Yes, I’m worried about author photos. Yes, I’m worried about the money to even get to NYC. Yes, I have amazing friends who are helping me in every way with all of this… Okay, not the ankle. That was my own fault.

In case you’re curious…or just to, you know, humor me…. here’s my blurb for SECRET LIFE:

Rachel Wells is a liar. No one outside her family knows about the panic attacks or the medication, the weekly therapy drive-bys or the rules she has to follow to stay sane. No one, not even her best friend knows about The Disorder. When Rachel comes home from a summer of counseling and coming off the meds, everything is upended enough. But when her best friend’s bad boy kind-of-ex-boyfriend needs a tutor, she’s painted into a lying corner she should have avoided at all costs.
 
Chris Kent is IT. Hot, popular and a state-wide soccer god. He can have any girl he wants. Actually, he pretty much has…and that’s the problem. Chris is fighting his own demons after he lost the one girl who liked him for who he might have been. As he tries to score his way into college, he needs to get his grades up and the only qualified person available without a hook-up-history is Rachel.
 
Now, the two most messed up people in Ridge View High are trying their damnedest not to fall into the one trap that will expose all their secrets: Love.
 
 I adore this book. It’s really close to my heart and I’m so amazingly excited, honored and blessed just to see it listed on that RWA page.
17 Responses to “Golden Heart Finalist”

  1. dara young March 25, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    OMG! How exciting! Big huge freaking congratulations!!

  2. Kat Cantrell March 25, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Congrats again! I’ve never actually seen the blurb and I want to read it now. Go get published now. It’s your year.

  3. December March 25, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I’m SOO excited for you BRIA!! Congrats, I can’t WAIT to see what happens next for you!

  4. briaq March 25, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Thanks ladies – I’m a little excited too! I start the new job in an hour and haven’t done the paper work LOL

  5. Bethanne March 25, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    OMG!!! Congratulations, Bria! I am sooo danged excited for you. What an opportunity. Whoot! The blurb sounds awesome, btw. Can’t wait to read it. Let me know if you need anything for NY. I’ll help you.

  6. sharla March 25, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    SOOOOO COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very excited for you, Bria. I can just imagine you are over the moon and distracted as hell!!! lol.

    When I got agented, I got the call at work, and I was worthless and stupid all day, couldn’t remember how to do anything. I’m sure you are in that category today….how exciting to be spotlighted like that!! Woot!

  7. briaq March 25, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Thanks ladies – I’m so excited. I mean, I ADORE this book, but I realize that the other books are probably SUPER AMAZING TERRIFIC. I love that everyone is tweeting that people “won” the golden heart – seeing so many of those instead of “final” – and you know what? It’s totally true! Finalling IS winning!!!!

    And not in a weird Charlie Sheen I’ll Melt Your Face Off way

  8. Cambria Dillon March 25, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I’m totally over the MOON for you! The books sounds amazing — YOU’RE amazing — and whatever I can do to help get you to NYC, just let me know. You deserve this and more. Mwah!

  9. briaq March 25, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    awww thanks hun! Also, while up at the moon, could you get a little scoop of cheese? We’ll prove that the moons made of cheese yet!

  10. Alicia Gregoire March 25, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Congrats, Bria. This is fantastic news for you!

  11. briaq March 25, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Thanks – It’s feeling very unreal LOL

  12. Linda G. March 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    WOO-HOO! Congratulations. That is fantastic news. 🙂

  13. briaq March 25, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Thanks Linda!!!!

  14. abby mumford March 29, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    AWESOMESAUCE NEWS! CONGRATULATIONS!

  15. briaq March 29, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Thanks! And thank goodness you’re back – twitters been too quiet 😉

  16. clairehennessy April 15, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Just stumbling across this site because of the YA author survey, but oh this sounds *nifty*. Really hope it goes far. 🙂

  17. briaq April 15, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Thanks Claire – I’m hoping I get enough to be interesting. I have a weird feeling that the day after I post everything, I’ll get double the results 😉

Leave a Reply

