Rumors in YAlandia

7 Mar

I’m going to start with the obvious: I have no power. But, you guys knew that. I’m not one of those writers who anyone would assume is on the in. I’m a new girl. Got me a rocking agent and she’ll sell what is my (hopefully) rocking book for me one day, as I work on what (I hope) is continued rocking projects.

That is just about the extent of what I worry about when it comes to writing.

Beyond the writing, the business part: The mentory people have suggested I start keeping track of promotional skills and tools at my disposal as well as studying what other authors have done and what ways I may be able to pimp myself and my project when it sells. Put together a list so when said Rocking Agent asks, “So, Bria, are you ready to get out there and work your butt off?” I can say, “YES, MA’AM!” – plus, after having sat for months on that butt writing, it could use some working off.

The End.

Please note, there is nothing about worrying about making the popular writers my BFFs. They have BFFs already. So do I. I don’t worry about offending anyone, because I stick to a simple rule:

Writing is my job. The internet is my office.

If you stick to that, and treat them as you would a 9-5 job and a mon-fri office, then you won’t have a problem. Act as you would at work. Let’s be honest, 75% of people seem to throw their common sense away when they get on the internet. Don’t. If you want to be a writer, make that your job title. If you want to be on the internet as a writer, make it your office. Use your common sense.

Now, there’s been a lot going around about the reviewer/author relationship. I have a lot of thoughts (I know, you’re totally shocked, right??) But, my thoughts are all formed around that whole “the internet is my office” thing, so bear with me.

First off, I’m going to admit something: I AM COMPLETELY BAFFLED BY THE ANGER ON BOTH SIDES. Seriously. Baffled.

Writers write. Reviewers review.

Ok, we’re all together so far, right?

Well, here’s where I start to get the fuzzies.  Should authors respond to negative reviews? 99% of the time, absolutely not. It’s not good business sense.

But here’s where the baffle starts for me: I’ve seen several bloggers saying that as reviewers they have the right to say whatever they want (I agree) especially if it’s on their blog (of course!) and that authors have no rights what so ever to respond… (um, no.)

Authors shouldn’t respond to a negative review. It’s their office. You don’t go to work and have a throw-down in the lobby with someone who disagrees with you and expect everyone in the office to still respect you. If a person in the office (the reviewer) has incorrect information (sometimes it happens, I’ve gotten several arcs with missing pages. Once I didn’t realize I missed the black moment b/c the jump made sense) I can see MAYBE privately sending them an email to ask if they’d seen XWZ. 

BUT ONLY IN EXTREME CASES.

For example: A friend saw a review of her book that complained that a character just went away. That there was one mention of him to say that she’d never get a chance to tell him something, but other than that, he just disappeared. Now, the book had 4 pages about this characters death and the effect it had on the heroine. The author knew this reviewer may have gotten a faulty arc. She wrote, asked if that was true and offered to send her a signed author copy to replace her bad arc if it was — Fortunately for the author, it was. She did. Everyone was happy.

See? Extreme case.

But, that doesn’t address the baffle. The baffle is about this whole “rights” thing.

Writers do have the right to blog, comment, talk, tweet, vlog, whateversocialmediaimissedbecauseimnotpayingattentioncloselyenough. They have the right. Writers live in the same free world that reviewers live in. So, what that means is they also have the right. That is the beautiful thing about the internet (well, here in the USA) EVERYONE HAS THE RIGHT. Bloggers also have the right to delete your comment. And we all have the right to say nothing and let the negativity die away. And honestly, this whole “behaving badly” thing can happen on both sides (and all the people in-between who get sucked in) — so, let’s all stop. Just stop a second.

You can say you hate something tactfully. You can accept that someone hates your something gracefully. But what it all comes down to is this:

Having the right to do something doesn’t always make doing something right.

7 Responses to “Rumors in YAlandia”

  1. Linda G. March 7, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Great post! You summed it up perfectly with: “Having the right to do something doesn’t always make doing something right.” Amen. 🙂

  2. abby mumford March 7, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    this is a very fair and clear headed approach to something that’s raised a lot of ruckus lately. well said!

  3. briaq March 7, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Linda ~ You can thank Great Granny Hazel for that one 😉

    Abby ~ I really don’t understand the ruckus. And the more we pay feed it, the bigger it would get anyway!

  4. Pam March 7, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Exactly! nothing more 😛

  5. briaq March 7, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Thanks Pam!

  6. Ansha Kotyk March 8, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Well stated!

  7. briaq March 8, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Hey you! *waves to Ansha* thanks!

Leave a Reply

