Goaling to Success – Day 4

18 Jan

Hope everyone had a good weekend. Someone mentioned on twitter they were traveling for the long weekend, so I decided to do a Tue/Thur blog week instead.

Today’s post is going to sound easy, but really is the next push in getting a more well-drawn picture of what YOU want….this year and in the future.

Pull out that Dream Big and the list you want for 2011 and check them out side-by-side.

First, take a look at your Dream Big. I had a great conversation with my MPJ (Money, Purpose, Joy) group this weekend about my own DB list. I’d always had “be a bookstore owner” on the list, but had never really thought of it as doable. It was a dream – but the MPJ book pushes you to ask for more, to believe that no dream is to large for you to be worthy of.

So, with that in mind, we’re going to look at the DB list one more time 😉 Here are some questions that might help you fill in the blanks you didn’t know you had:

  • What do I want to do?
  • What do I want to have?
  • Where do I want to go?
  • What contributions do I want to make?
  • What do I want to become?
  • What do I want to learn?
  • How much do I want to save?

The second thing we’re going to do today is flesh out our 1-year list (Feel free to do with your DB as well).

For example, let’s say I listed “Write & Query a book” as one of my 2011 goals. We all know there’s a ton more that goes into that:

  • Fast Draft the book
  • Clean to First Draft
  • Revise
  • Edit
  • Beta Reader
  • Revise
  • Edit
  • Write Synopsis
  • Rewrite Synopsis
  • Throw Synopsis away and eat a whole lotta chocolate
  • Write new Synopsis
  • Edit
  • Get reader for Synopsis
  • Send chocolate to reader
  • Research agents
  • Make top 100 list
  • Sort in order
  • Create draft emails for top 20 agents to query
  • Write query
  • Rewrite Query
  • Send to top 20 agents

And that’s the short version. Some people rewrite their book several times. Start thinking about your own process. I once wrote out a timeline of my process on a forum and saw what it would look like worse case scenario. It really helps for planning. You may not know what that looks like now. But, after keeping track of your goals for 2011, you will for 2012. And, if the only positive thing you get out of 2011 is the ability to gauge your own timeline and abilities for the future, it’s a win.

Of course, I’m expecting a lot more than that!

So, go flesh out your lists – feel free to add to them as well. And let’s see what #goaling leads to this week!

3 Responses to “Goaling to Success – Day 4”

  1. Sabrina January 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Ok – giving this a try starting with stealing a few of Bria’s examples:

    WIP:
    – Fast Draft the rest of WIP
    – Clean up the Fast Draft
    – Revise
    – Edit
    – Beta Reader
    – Revise
    – Edit
    – Write Synopsis
    – Rewrite Synopsis
    – Edit
    – Get reader for Synopsis
    – Send bribes to Beta Reader & synopsis reader
    – Create long & Short Pitch
    – Subject everyone I know to long & short pitch for feedback
    – Revise long & short pitch
    – Write query
    – Rewrite Query
    – Submit to Harlequin Intrigue

    Writer’s Blog:
    – Research/think up 3 blog topic ideas for each week
    – Write blogs
    – Find images for blog posts
    – Create posts in blogger (this can be fast or a time suck based on if blogger wants to play nice or not)
    – Tweet/Share Blog posts
    – Reply to comments on blog posts
    – Read RSS feed of other writer blogs & leave comments
    – Build in time for blog updates to look and links

    Critique Group:
    – Get a better understanding of how they want to work (currently the critique load seems crazy full with reading everyone’s chapter every week and commenting/editing on all of them)
    – Negotiate maybe everyone doing 1 chapter critique a week instead of all of them
    – Submit my chapter
    – Read someone else’s chapter
    – Critique that chapter
    – Consider the comments on my chapter and decide if changes should be made
    – make those changes
    – Find ways to further build the relationship with the group

    RWA:
    – Decide which local chapter of RWA I want to join
    – Sell books on Amazon in order to make $$ to pay RWA & Local Dues
    – Attend 1x month local meetings

    New Book or Novella: (Based on last year’s productivity I don’t think I will accomplish all of this in 2011, but here are the steps I WANT to accomplish)
    – First finish current WIP (see long list above)
    – Decide which project is calling to me the most & fits my time schedule
    – Fast Draft SFD
    – Revise Fast Draft
    – Edit
    – Beta Reader
    – Revise
    – Edit
    – Write Synopsis
    – Rewrite Synopsis
    – Edit
    – Get reader for Synopsis
    – Send bribes to Beta Reader & synopsis reader
    – Create long & Short Pitch
    – Subject everyone I know to long & short pitch for feedback
    – Revise long & short pitch
    – Write query
    – Rewrite Query
    – Submit

    Personal:
    – Workout 6 days per week (make sure to schedule around holidays & work, etc)
    – Continue eating healty, balanced meals I make mostly at home
    – De-stress with Yoga (also counts as a workout)
    – Keep workout clothes clean and ready to wear so no excuses
    – Watch for sales on travel to spots considering for Anniversary – sign up for alerts to those places so I don’t have to spend time searching
    – Schedule remodel projects so that I’m still writing at lunchtime and it’s not affecting my writing time at all
    – Pre-set 1 day of the month as a “Me” day to scrapbook
    – Plan ahead food and things for myself and hubby for that day

    Work:
    – Get out of bed every morning
    – take my butt to work
    – do my best
    – learn all that I can
    – continue to push my boss to give me chances at higher level tasks
    – schedule regular meetings to review performance & growth

    Ok – how was that for a first attempt? 🙂

  2. briaq January 19, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Good, but don’t worry, we’re going to drill down even further tomorrow…

    It’s just you left sugar – still feeling positive? You’re looking good!

  3. Sabrina January 20, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Of course I’m still positive! I’m so excited to go through this process with you and very thankful you are doing this. Very awesome of you.

Leave a Reply

