Goaling to Success – Day 3

14 Jan

Day 3 is a little harder for me to write because no one entered their accomplishments or barriers. I’m going to run this through with some standard answers.

Using you Dream Big and you Day 2 exercises as the basis, we’re going to start building your 1 Year Plan.

First, let’s look at last year.

How many books did you write — start to finish? That second part is very. If you finished a book in 2010, but you’ve been working on it for 3 years, that doesn’t show a pattern of finishing a book every year. It shows you *can* finish a book every 3 years. Can you finish a book in a year? Maybe. That’s why we also listed our barriers.

Barriers are things that can often be used as excuses. I had one writer tell me that next year she’d do better because this year she’d had to deal with her kids while they were home all summer and it totally threw off her writing.

But what’s going to be different about next year? Are the kids gone? Are the going to camp? If it’s not sleep away camp, who drives them there every day? Picks them up? Is it all day? How is it going to interrupt your time daily?

Or, I got sick twice last winter? Unless we’re talking some huge cold like you never get (I was just sick for 2 weeks, I *never* get sick like that), but I do get sick. Maybe a day or two. Oh, and yes, your kids and spouse will get sick this year too. If you’re the main caregiver, you will be expected to give care. Every year.

We need to stop being surprised by things that happen every year. We need to plan for them so we’re ready to conquer them. For example, keeping with the sick thing. It’s winter. It’s sick time. Do you have everything you need at the house for whoever gets sick next? Tissues? Dayquil? etc? Or are you going to have to run to the store, maybe one-by-one? Add them to the shopping list for this week and start prepping.

Do this with every foreseeable barrier. Don’t forget things like volunteering or making your Holiday Newsletter…. or anything that takes more time than you think it’s going to take. Those things every year you say “Oh, I can do this in….” and it takes longer. Don’t forget those 😉

Or, flipping this the other way, tragedies do happen. Loved ones pass away. That doesn’t mean that this year, if you suffered losing someone close to you in 2010, you will lose someone again. Jobs are lost, but, if you got a job again (congrats!) you hopefully won’t have to go through losing that one this year also. Look at the major things. The probably slowed you down the most and probably won’t happen again.

Looking at your barriers, separate them into ONE TIME and YEARLY or QUARTERLY. The One Time list is pretty much going to get tucked away. The Yearly/Quarterly lists are going to help you see how much time you really have.

Now, looking at what you accomplished last year – congrats!

Basically, you’ll be able to do more if you’re more prepared, more organized. But how much more? That’s the question.

Using last years list, we’re make a list of the things you think you can do this year.

Again,  I feel like I’m flying blind with no homework posted. Feel free to go back and post the homework 😉

Now’s the time to pull out your Dream Big.

Circle everything you know you can do if you just get more organized. Don’t worry. We’re not killing off those other dreams. We’re just not thinking about them this year.

Did you circle something like “Become a NYTBS author” – or something as big?

Well, you’re probably not going to BECOME one this year, but if you think about it, there’s a bunch of things that need to happen before that. Take your Dream Big and break down the things you circled into smaller goals: write the book, edit the book, revise the book, write the synopsis, write the query, research agents, query, write book 2 (because you never want to stop moving forward)

Which of those will you put on this years list? Don’t forget: Look at your accomplishments and barriers to judge your time available.

Post everything you want to do in 2011. Don’t worry, this isn’t a final draft. We’re going to talk about planning, balance and building SMART goals next week – then you’ll have 2011 taken care of! Okay, the big picture. After that we’ll talk about breaking that big picture down to little goals you can hit weekly. Then look out 5-year plan!

So, let’s see those lists! I’m off to work, check back tomorrow for comments from me.

6 Responses to “Goaling to Success – Day 3”

  1. Sabrina January 14, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    I just started adding my accomplishments on day 2 – I’ll finish that and come back to this one!

    Thanks Bria!

  2. sharla January 14, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Okay I posted my homework on day two! LOL.

    So….2011 wants…

    I want to
    – find a steady writing schedule…somewhere.
    – Finish last revisions on Seeing Alex
    – Edit my pitch
    – Edit/basically redo my synopsis
    – Probably redo query for the 80th time
    – Attend DFWCon writers conference in Dallas in February.
    – Pitch an agent
    – Have that agent love my story
    – Query 5-6 more agents on my top list (in case above agent is confused and doesn’t think he likes my story)
    – Start work on third novel idea that dangling back there like a shiny object.
    – Get represented
    – Get a book deal.

    Personal
    – Lose 40 pounds.
    – Get healthy
    – Find a balance of life
    – Go on a real vacation

  3. briaq January 16, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Hey Sharla~ Your second post was in spam – weird.

    Okay, I assumed you made the list in conjunction with your what I did, what barriers I had lists, and see that this is where you want to head.

    Couple challenges/questions: Is the “Have that agent love my story” go with “Pitch an agent” – I’m asking because there’s alwasy the chance who you get to pitch to isn’t a good match, or a lot of other things that could go wrong in the pitch (did you see my pitch-from-you-know-where story??? LOL) So, you can’t control someone elses reaction/love of your story. You can only control how well YOU do pitching it.

    Great about the writing schedule. I’ll be talking a little bit about that later 😉

    Is your agent list already orgainzed?

    This is a fabulous start! We’re going to dig into these lists deeper and really pepper our goals with a do-ability we don’t always feel 🙂

  4. Sabrina January 18, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Wahoo – finally got my accomplishments and barriers done Fridya – will work on this today and get it posted. Thaks Bria!

  5. Sabrina January 18, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Okay – here are my 2011 wants based on what I think I can do considering last year and my barriers list:

    – Finish my WIP “A Passion to Protect”
    – Revise (ok – this might need multiple revisions)
    – Draft Synposis (edit, revise)
    – Create my pitch (including long & short version)
    – Submit to Harlequin Intrigue
    – Blog on my writer’s blog 3x per week
    – Be more active in my new online critique group
    – Join RWA & Local Chapter
    – Find a few local writers to do 1x monthly meetings face to face for brainstorming, general writing chats and support.
    – Start on New Book or a Novella for an Epub
    – Continue challenging mylself to enter contests/get public feedback on my writing
    – FOCUS ON THE WRITING – not the research or the learning. JUST WRITE

    Personal:
    – lose that last 10 pds.
    – Celebrate 10 year Anniversary somewhere awesome
    – Finish kitchen remodel & start bathroom remodel
    – set aside at least 1-2 hrs. a month for scrapbooking

    Work:
    – Continue learning tasks that allow me to do the job above mine

  6. briaq January 19, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    This is a great Day 3 post Sabrina – Can’t wait to see what you do with day 4 😉

Leave a Reply

