2011 – 1 – 3 – 13500

2 Jan

Have you ever looked at the small picture long term? I mean, making goals is so often about the big picture. But what if we broke it down.

In 2011, I want to write more books (I know, you’re all completely shocked.) But what do I want to write? To give myself some wiggle room, I made it an either or situation:

Either 3 of my YA contemps OR 1 YA contemp and 1 YA fantasy — Both of these come out to roughly 135k.

That works out to:

11,250 words a month
OR
2,597 words a week
OR
370 words a day

Wow! 370 words a day means writing 3 books – I could so do that….

Um, wait. Could I? That means learning how to write slower and cleaner. Maybe I could. Or maybe I should stick with what works.

That would mean 3 separate Fast Draft sessions and then balancing edits and revisions and letting it sit. On a separate forum I wrote my writing process out and figured out that, if everything took the longest time possible, a book (55-65k) takes 15 weeks to be good to go. There’s a lot of down time in there too, so that’s when edits, revisions, research, etc for other things needs to happen.

Can I do that? 15X3= 45 weeks.

In theory, I CAN write 3 books in a year with down time for recovery and anything else that might come up.

But, the point (NOTE TO SELF) is that I CAN do it, if I stay focused, stay balanced, take that downtime, and learn to work multiple projects at once.

So, 2011? You’re my year. I totally own you. Surrender now.

5 Responses to “2011 – 1 – 3 – 13500”

  1. Bethanne Strasser January 2, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    lo0ve it played out that way… when i have a free minute i am going to do the same. makes it so doable!! happy new year, friend.

  2. briaq January 2, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    It seems so doable when you think *I just have to write less than 400 decent words a day* – ya know 🙂

  3. Alicia Gregoire January 3, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Breaking it down that way makes it sound so easy. Good for you!

  4. Penelope January 3, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I love how you broke it down. This could really apply to anything. I’m so much better with manageable goals than big picture goals myself.

  5. briaq January 4, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Hi Ladies – Thanks. I’m the queen of the breakerdowner!

Leave a Reply

