ACer Workshop

10 Dec

I’ve had a lot of people asking about the ACer Workshop lately. I’m betting it has to do with the end of a year/the beginning of a new year…and maybe a little bit about not being where we want to be. A pretty common feeling.

In the real life world, I’m an HR Business Partner who has worked with managers at all levels and has an old-school cert in personal organizing. A few years ago, I took both of those things and a group of friends from a writing forum and I created Accountability Corner (now, ACers… each group picks their own little inspirational name) – since then, I’ve set up two more and help someone to create a non-writing one as well. I’m also doing some one-on-one stuff here at home with a new manager.

So, that’s me. Let’s talk a little bit about the workshop.

The AC workshop is a 6 week fling with your own GMC of writing. What do you want? How are you going to get it? What’s stopping you?

The workshop works best with 2 (I prefer 3) as the minimum and 12 as the absolute maximum. Personally, I think (and my own group has found this is true for us) that 8 is the perfect max for us. Because this is an accountability group, we like being able to hold the group in one piece. There are ways to make this go just as smoothly with as many as 12 which can be discussed.

Over six weeks we’ll look at what you want…and what you really want. Just like any journey, the one to a balanced (and successful) writing & real life partnership is a map.

To build that map, we’ll discuss key elements of setting up goals, as well as how to schedule and tier your goals to maximize your time and maintain balance in all parts of your life. In the end, your team will have a covenant, forum, and guidelines for weekly check-ins for accountability and goals. We’ll start with the ultimate dreams and work inward to create a five-year plan, a year plan and your weekly goals for each member.

This is an extremely hands-on workshop. We’ll meet weekly as a group and have in-depth homework each week as well. You’ll walk away with a strong foundation for steering your own career.

So, if you’re looking to take the first step to controlling your own path, email me at bria (@) briaquinlan.com

3 Responses to “ACer Workshop”

  1. Patti December 11, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    If anyone is hesitating about starting this process–DON’T!

    Speaking from experience, it might be the single best thing you can do for your writing!

  2. Lauren Johnson December 11, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    I should totally email you about this. It was great for me before I had my last kid and had to drop out… *searches for Bria’s email*

  3. briaq December 11, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Thanks ladies -It’s always nice to hear it’s working.

    Another person emailed about pricing – I’ll discuss that with anyone in the email process 🙂

Leave a Reply

