Big News – Again ;)

8 Dec

So, I have these papers. They came in the mail today. They want me to sign them. “Sign me, Bria! Sign me!”

“Okay,” I shout as loud as I can so everyone knows I’m signing them. I mean, why the heck wouldn’t I?

I take out my special pen, the one I did the last round of edits with on the latest book. It’s almost out of ink, but this is a great way to die the pen tells me.

I, who shall sign the papers, salute it.

So the pen signs the paper and dies. We have a moment.

Then I look at the paper again, my heart skitter stepping in my chest. Oh special papers! Oh how I love thee!

I do all the special paper sending preparations and then wait, waiting for the papers to jump up and shout and point and laugh. “HA HA HA Bria! We tricked you! We aren’t for you. You don’t get no stinking special papers.”

But they don’t and I smile. I smile at the papers and my happily self-sacrificing dead pen.

Then I DM Lauren MacLeod (code name: @bostonbookgirl) and shout in capitals, “I GOT THE SPECIAL PAPERS!!!”

And all was well in the world.

24 Responses to “Big News – Again ;)”

  1. Weronika Janczuk December 8, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Hehehe, congratulations! Terrific news. 🙂

  2. briaq December 8, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Thanks so much!!!

  3. Rita Sawyer December 8, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Congrats!!!

  4. briaq December 8, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Thanks so much Rita 🙂

  5. Ella Drake December 8, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    Yay!!!!

  6. briaq December 8, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    I know 🙂 right – Yay to the yay! THANKS!!!!

  7. Kat Cantrell December 8, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    What an awesome way to express a really great experience. Congrats and big hugs. Go get em.

  8. briaq December 8, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Thanks hon!

  9. Kaige December 8, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Woot! Such a brave little pen, I know it will be sorely missed. But what a way to go! You too! Congrats!

  10. briaq December 8, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    We’re having a ceremony for it later. Feel free to stop by. Since I come from a very irish family, bring booze and a good pen story.

  11. Janelle Alexander December 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    So happy for you, Bria!!!! You totally deserve it!!! :o)

  12. briaq December 8, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    Awww thanks… I hope I deserve it… I’ll work hard to deserve it!!!!

  13. Jodi Meadows December 8, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    I am SO SO SO SO pleased!!!

  14. June December 8, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Super congratulations. You’ve hit another milestone. I know it’s hard, but try not to faint 🙂

  15. briaq December 8, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    I’m pretty darn excited too… glad you’re happy to share 🙂

  16. briaq December 8, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    Thanks June – I already told Lauren that I’m not doing this ever again – this was too many times already …. I die first.

  17. Laura K Curtis December 8, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    YAY!!! *doing happy dance*

  18. briaq December 8, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    thanks – you and jaycee are one of the reasons this was good to do now 😉

  19. Dara Young December 8, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! Woot! Woot!

  20. briaq December 8, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Thanks I always love CONGRATULATIONS ALL IN CAPS!!! 😉

  21. KB Alan December 8, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Wooooot!!!

  22. briaq December 8, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    Thank you west coast wooter 😉

  23. Lauren Johnson December 9, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Woohoo!!!! Yay for special papers!

  24. briaq December 10, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Aww thanks Lauren and *waves hey there stranger!*

Leave a Reply

