Late Bloomers

8 Nov

Hello. My name is Bria Quinlan and I’m a Late Bloomer.

I know, there’s a lot of us out there. I mean, a lot.

If you look at pictures of me between 16 and 24 — you know, those years when girls are supposed to be at their hottest — you’ll be just plain sad and embarrassed for me. I am proud to say, I’m one of those girls who keeps getting better –> I like the way I look, think and act so much more now than I did then. Life itself continues to get better.

What the heck does this have to do with writing?

Well, it’s NaNo time. *looks at calendar* Okay, it’s been NaNo time for a week now. I know, you guys all saw my Day One Post. I wrote that book for 2 days and stopped. Then I wrote another book for 2 days and stopped. There were two major problems:

  1. I typically write the first chapter before doing NaNo or Fast Draft so that I’m into the book and know I’m vibing – I didn’t do this
  2. There’s been this plot bunny really eating at the back of my mind — getting into my day (and night) dreams. I’ve pushed it off and pushed it off because I write Humorous Books about Hard Topics (say that five times fast!) – Not Historical Paranormal Shifters based on Twisted Fairy Tale books (yeah, say that five times fast also) 

Soooo… Yeah. Guess what I did today. You guessed it. I started the HPSboTWT book… we may have to shorten that.

I’m moving on to this book and feeling really good about it. YES! I’m worried because it’s different from both my contemp and my fantasy. YES! I’m worried about my voice and if it’s suited. YES! I’m worried because I know  the regency rules I’ll be letting my characters play outside of. BUT, what do you do when you don’t have a contract and are between agents (and can’t begin to query because of your term clause) and you already have three books in the can (do we have an equivalent I don’t know about?)

Can you think of a better time to play with something compeletely different? Something a little…dangerous even?

And so, NaNo is 1/4 of the way over and I’m kicking off my first chapters. As it stands, I have 2,707 words as I break to write this. My goal for today is 5k. I know, slap me.

But, NaNo is a chance to play, to color outside the lines, to be a late bloomer.

I can’t encourage you enough if you’re a writer or a reader or a closet storyteller to jump in. You don’t HAVE to finish the book by November 30th, but wouldn’t it be great if you did? You also don’t HAVE to ever, ever, ever, ever show it to anyone. Do it for yourself. Do that thing you alwasy said you wanted to do. Write that book. I give you permission.

Go ahead. Go bloom.

4 Responses to “Late Bloomers”

  1. Sabrina November 8, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    I’m so happy you found a story that is exciting you! I’m working away on my Rom Suspense WIP but find that I’m losing interest becuase it’s like the book that will never get to THE END. Now I’m questioning everything about it. 😦

    But I will keep going. I will finish it. I will make it 1 down and exciting new stories to come.

  2. Penny Dune November 8, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    I love when that happens!!! You should definitely go off and do that. It doesn’t have to hurt to expand your horizons…

    fwiw, I’m very happy your contest is over. 😛 😀 *hugs*

  3. Rachel Firasek November 8, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    You crack me up with your fifteen genre names. When I saw this tweeted this morning, I was like, hey someone who gets that it’s fun to mix it up. I think readers are looking for the new, I know I am. I’m glad you found you’re groove and look forward to many more sprints this month!

  4. briaq November 8, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Thanks Sabrina – Yup, sometimes you do need to just get to the end. I think the key is figuring it out early…the whole CAN I get to the end.

    Ms. Dune – Yeah, you know me! That’s all I need, another genre. 2 completely different ones weren’t enough – why are you glad the contest is over? LOL

    Thanks Rachel – Yeah, I think marketing it as Historical Paranormal will be fine… even though I keep trying to spell it Hystorical *snort*

Leave a Reply

