SYTYCW – Week 3 Results!

9 Sep

You’ve waited patiently while I tallied the votes! This week, we’re slowing down for a few weeks to 2 entries eliminated since we skipped a few weeks because of disqualifications, etc. Also, there was no tie breaking judge.

First, the winner of the drawing (I’ll be doing this every week till I run out of books – if you’re linking here for votes, you’re already qualified to enter – anyone can enter) is: @katcantrell– Kat dear, I’m emailing you later today!

Now, on to the good stuff. Next week we’ll be down to 21 entries – this is really flying by, huh? So, the top five are (in numeric order):

ONE

 The thick cloud of confusion occupying my thoughts lifted and was instantly replaced by paralyzing fear.  My body stiffened as my mind raced uncontrollably with realization; this harsh, sterile environment was unfamiliar.  I tried desperately to speak, to scream out, to connect to something concrete.

FIVE

When the phone call came from a man identifying himself as an attorney in Ohio, Rowena’s first thought was, who’s in jail this time? She’d had her fill of phone calls from attorneys. The past six months had been a non-stop parade of rescheduled court dates and press conferences, each one splattered across the front page of every rag mag in the country. 

THIRTEEN

 Lady Phoebe Howard had been in and out of trouble all her life; but kidnapping was new ground, even for her. She grunted as her knees hit cold wet earth. Cursing the ancient tree roots that conspired against her escape, she scrambled to her feet.

SEVENTEEN

 Miss Marcia Elizabeth Drummond snatched the ivory invitation from the salver and perused the elegant handwriting. Dashing away a tear that clung stubbornly to her lashes, she wished six years of accumulated shame could be brushed away as easily. Her hand trembled as she crossed the room and flung the horrid thing into the fireplace.

EIGHTEEN

 I stood at the crime scene with police tape tangled in my trembling hands and the taste of blood in my mouth. I couldn’t remember how I got there and that scared me more than the murders. I prayed that I wasn‘t going crazy again.

Congrats to this week’s top five!

AS I SAID ABOVE, WE’LL BE ELIMINATED 2 A WEEK FOR THE NEXT FEW WEEKS.

And now, unfortunately, on to the eliminations. I can’t tell you how glad I am that I’m not the Super Secret Tie Breaking Judge. We’d had a big tie from the beginning because votes didn’t start pouring in until the second 1/2 of the second day (and we had fewer votes than last time – so everyone keep remembering to link in so voters remember!)

And so, the bottom three are:

SEVEN

“Carey Breen is MIA.”

His lips and tongue measure, weighing each word to cause the most pain.

I lean my hips against my desk until the pine bites into my backbone.

ELEVEN

 I never saw the truck coming. It’s the story of my life, I get blindsided by something that’s obvious to everyone else. My memory is a bit hazy, not that I want a vivid recollection of being flattened by a garbage truck.

SIXTEEN

If this alien doesn’t die soon, I’m gonna be late for cheerleading practice. Somehow I don’t think Coach Harbinger will take Sorry, I had to save the world from an alien invasion as a legit excuse. She’d not only make me run laps, but send me to the school shrink and I’d rather take an electron ray to the eyeball than talk to another therapist.

The two returning next week are….. 7 & 11 – congrats ladies!

4 Responses to “SYTYCW – Week 3 Results!”

  1. katcantrell September 9, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    HOLY COW!! I wasn’t in the bottom this time? Are you sure? Did you double check? BRB, going to buy a lottery ticket….

  2. Dara Young September 9, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Woot! Woot! One round closer to my humiliating video debut!

  3. Laura K Curtis September 9, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Congratulations, folks! These stories are getting good!

  4. Raye September 10, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    Glad I dodged the bullet again this week 😀

Leave a Reply

