So You Think You Can Write

17 Aug

If you follow me on twitter (@briaquinlan) you know I’m *obsessed* with So You Think You Can Dance. But, after Lauren kicked the boys’ butts in the finals last week, I wondered….What am I going to do with my Wednesday & Thursday nights now.

I know – a tragedy, right?

And thus: So You Think You Can WRITE!

The winner of SYTYCW gets a 3 CHAPTER CRIT FROM TINA BURNS of LIQUID SILVER BOOKS – yeah. I know. Pretty cool.

WEEK ONE:

  • Contestants enter 1st sentence of their story. Anyone with more than one sentence will be deleted. Not the extra sentence, the whole darn entry
  • Entries must be in by Tuesday (Aug 24th) Β Night – 10 pm EST – I’ll open the contest Tuesday at 7pm EST
  • If, somehow a bunch of people enter, I’m capping it at 100
  • Starting Wednesday once I have everyone up, voting begins – there will be a poll button at the bottom — ANYONE can vote

EDIT: The bottom 3 vote earners will be eliminated each week

Final week: Super Special Judge picks from top 3!

EACH WEEK AFTER

  • One more sentence gets added to the previous lines
  • Entries must be in by Monday Night,Β 10 pm EST – no, seriously. It’s a *deadline*
  • Voting opens Tuesday with a poll button at the bottom of the contest post AND closes Wednesday night at 10pm EST

The final week, a Super Secret Judge (okay, it’s Tina) will pick the winner!

ETA:

  • This is a family show folks, so please keep your posts PG13 – anything not PG13 will be disqualified and taken down
  • Also, ONE entry per person – not per persona, per person – both will be deleted if there’s cheatery going on πŸ˜‰
  • No changing lines once their posted. You can not go back the next week and tweak what you posted the previous weeks
  • This is for unpubbed and pubbed – BUT no piece that has been published can be used. This will get you disqualified
  • The first week needs to be the first sentence of your story. After you post it, you can’t edit it. The following week, you add the second sentence of your story to the first….etc.
36 Responses to “So You Think You Can Write”

  1. katcantrell August 17, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Question – do you have to participate to vote? Just curious. I’m totally participating!!

  2. briaq August 17, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    NOPE! You do *not* have to participate to vote — actually, writers, this is a great time to start sucking in your friends to get you something free!

  3. Cory August 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    What a great idea! I’m totally going to play along. BTW – Wasn’t it cool that Lauren kicked butt? I was glad since both of favorite boys were gone. I wanted Alex to win.

  4. Leona Bushman August 17, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    where do we posts our sentences (this is @pizaseven :D) I’m so participating

  5. briaq August 17, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    They’ll be a post that opens at 7pm EST next Tuesday – it will be very clear that is THE post πŸ™‚

    GOOD LUCK

    (pppsst Cory, I was not pro-Alex. I’m anti-professionals being on the show, but he was amazing!!!)

  6. dyromance August 17, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Hey Bria…since this is a YA blog, any heat limits? πŸ˜€ Wouldn’t want to shock anyone! LOL! Also, does it have to be the first page of the WIP?

  7. Suzannah Burke August 17, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Count me amongst the addicted. I’m in.

    soooz

  8. briaq August 17, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Excellent point – we’re going to keep it PG13 – language restricitions

    THANKS, great catch Dara!

  9. jodi August 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I’ll be watching–and voting, lol. πŸ™‚

  10. Cara Wallace August 17, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Cool!

  11. Cara Wallace August 17, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Any genre restrictions?

  12. briaq August 17, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    No genre restrictions, BUT don’t forget, we’re keeping it PG13 πŸ™‚

  13. sharla August 18, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    I’m SO gonna play. How fun and a great idea!

  14. briaq August 18, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    Excellent – GOOD LUCK!

  15. Jesi O'Connell August 18, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    Oh, super cool contest! I’m so in as well. Thank goodness the So You Think You Can Dance finals happened so you could run this! πŸ˜‰

  16. briaq August 18, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    What am I going to do with that 3 hours of SYTYCD time? *panic* I guess I’ll just have to write…and run a contest LOL

  17. Raye August 18, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Weed 5-12 is that wishful thinking… weeding us out? πŸ˜€

  18. Raye August 18, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    oh.. sorry forgot to ask… is there a prompt or is this ANY one sentence?

  19. briaq August 18, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    HA! We all missed that typo πŸ™‚

    Nope, this is any story you want to tell. Each week you’re in you just have to add to it. There’s no going back and changing what came before.

  20. Scribereglyph August 19, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    Sounds like a cool contest.

  21. briaq August 19, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Hope I see something by you there!

  22. Jus Accardo August 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    This is a great idea!

  23. Kendal Ashby August 22, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    oh I am in!
    Just debating which WIP to put in. BTW awesome score on the editor crit Bria! You’re the woman!

  24. Kendal Ashby August 22, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    Good luck everyone!

  25. briaq August 22, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Great! Yup, Tina’s pretty awesome to jump into SYTYCW!

  26. Allison Kelsey August 24, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    You know I suck at these contests. Don’t you? πŸ˜€ I mean, really, I do.

    — The writer formally known as Stephanie Secrest.

  27. Allison Kelsey August 24, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    And the fact that I spelled “formerly” wrong just proves I suck even more. πŸ˜€ Good gawd. I blame the wine.

    (Yeah. First place, bay-bee! Right here!)

  28. briaq August 24, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    LOL well, when you were Stephanie, it was very *formal* — we all do that stuff πŸ˜‰

    You’re going to rock it!

  29. Jeannie Lin August 24, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I suck at first lines, but I love contests. The dilemma…I think I’ll just have to hover and cheer on my faves.

  30. briaq August 24, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    LOL – you still have time to cave πŸ˜‰

    And vote – you can vote!

  31. Lia Morgan August 24, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    Anyone else checking the clock, like me. I have tried to distract myself just a little. I folded a load of towels, took me 3 whole minutes.

  32. briaq August 24, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Lia – You’re too cute – on the upside – you won’t need to wait to be moderated when we go live either! πŸ™‚

  33. Raye August 24, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    I keep having to remind myself of time zones.. i’m six hours behind the official clock… *tapping fingers nervously*

  34. briaq August 24, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    7 minutes πŸ™‚

  35. angela ackerman August 24, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    great idea! πŸ™‚

  36. Raye September 5, 2010 at 5:16 am #

    Sorry to tag on this question…

    i think originally there was going to be a set number of weeks for the contest… is that still going to happen.. if so, how many?

Leave a Reply

