Paid Writer – Day 2

17 Aug

If you want to jump in to play Paid Writer, any time works!

Since it’s the first week, I’ll be posting update and chatter space for all those who want to own up — I mean join in!

I’ve decided that I’m going to try to “earn” enough money for that replacement laptop. I’m working on a loaner now b/c mine got broken in a big-bad-unrepairable way – I know. Sad moment.

And we’re past it.

Yesterday several people shared on the blog or on twitter (#PaidWriter) how their first day went and what they were using as their plan (all money, saving money for a trip or gifts or big purchase, spending money, etc)

If you’re just jumping in, check out my plan in the first post and then share yours here!

9 Responses to “Paid Writer – Day 2”

  1. katcantrell August 17, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    Monday – I earned 43.75! I included mentoring in my total, which I’m spending a good chunk of my day on. I’m still not sure how to factor in expenses. I didn’t buy anything yesterday so I guess I’m still in the black…

  2. briaq August 17, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    (More hard questions, just a different forum) —> How does mentoring move your writing forward? How is that paying you to write?

  3. Kimberly Farris August 17, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    I earned $25.39 on Monday. I’ll be deducting writing related expenses. Earned money will go in my writing fund.

    I need to re-evaluate the jobs on my list in terms of ‘How does ____ move my writing forward?’.

  4. briaq August 17, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Nods – it’s about getting paid to write. Not just for things on your to do list. It’s about making this a job now 🙂

  5. katcantrell August 17, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    “(More hard questions, just a different forum) —> How does mentoring move your writing forward? How is that paying you to write?”
    So in my mind, I have a rich patron who is paying me. This person loves the romance genre and is thrilled I’m helping a fellow writer become successful. After all, the more good romance there is, the better odds the industry will continue to flourish. That helps me.

    Also, you have critting on your list. I look at mentoring the same as what I believe you do about critting. Mentoring helps keep me sharp and on top of my game, as well as feeding my creativity.

  6. briaq August 17, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Hmmmm… I’d argue those on several levels, but it’s your paycheck to earn as you like 🙂

  7. Claire August 17, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Day 2 and I didn’t do as well as day 1. 3 hrs editing translated into $30 of monopoly money in my pocket.

  8. briaq August 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    right now I’m down for the day – there’s still time, but it was a pay out for stuff day 😦 (so far -$16)

  9. briaq August 17, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    So, i ended up being negative $12, but still up $11 overall – Good thing I did well yesterday 🙂 Too bad I had to pay a bill today 😦

    Can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!

Leave a Reply

