Paid Writer

15 Aug

Only 1 person took up August’s challenge, so here’s a new one… and it’s thru the end of the year.

What if you were a paid writer? No, seriously. What if!

You don’t need to use money to play along, but that would work really perfectly. I have no income so gas and food come out of my savings…so do any extras I occasionally let myself splurge on. But, what if I only used the money I “made” writing?

What if, I gave myself an hourly wage…Heck, what if I gave myself a bonus at the end of big projects?

Here’s what I came up with:

  • $10/hr – writing/editing/revising
  • $  5/hr – research
  • $ 7/hr – project work
  • $  5/hr – criting
  • $ 5/hr – EM or YABC
  • $50 Completion of Large Projects

You don’t need to play along with money – maybe it’s time for you, or a date night for you and hubby or a walk *alone* or a bubble bath, a new book — what do you have to do to earn these things?

I’ll be playing with Monopoly money…but I’ll still have to earn out my gas, food and any extra’s each week.

So, what do you think of my structure? What’s your writing time worth?

You don’t have to be an ACer to play along – jump in and tell me what you’d pay you!

8 Responses to “Paid Writer”

  1. katcantrell August 15, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    *does math* WHOA. Even at these rock bottom bargain prices for my services, I’ll make a boat load of cash by the end of the year! (esp because I don’t have to pay taxes LOL)

    I’ll play along with my monopoly money too!

  2. Kimberly Farris August 15, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    I’ll play along too.

    What defines project work? Is that brainstorming and plotting? Also, what is YABC?

    I’m off to make a spreadsheet to tally my earnings.

  3. briaq August 15, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    GREAT!

    I defined project as: book, short, edit cards, something finished and usable

    YABC is YA Book Central – I’m now a reviewer there!

  4. Kimberly Farris August 15, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Okay. So project work can be stuff off my LTG list. Thanks.

  5. Patti August 16, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    2 hrs. of writing $20.
    15 min. research $1.25
    30 min. project work $3.75

    A grand total of $24.75 for today….

    Unfortunately I spent more than that today (on DD, not me) without even leaving the house! 😦

  6. briaq August 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    LOL – are you keeping track of debit & credit? or just what you earn?

  7. Patti August 17, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Me? Just what I earn….

    but I ordered a (maternity) top for DD and called the jeweler’s to see about getting my mother’s diamond reset for me (since the $ of gold is going up–it may be now or never)–that one really broke the bank. I obviously have expensive taste!

  8. Danie Ford August 19, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    I’ll play along too.

Leave a Reply

