Anything

12 Aug

This is my blog post about anything. Tell me anything, ask me anything, vent anything. I’ll edit for language (we’re YA here people) but, anything is anything.

Let’s see if this works πŸ˜‰

28 Responses to “Anything”

  1. Leigh August 12, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    I wanted to ask you something clever, but nothing happened. But I would like to know, what was your favorite visit this past year? Place, not person, necessarily.

  2. briaq August 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    LOL – My favorite place. I LOVED southern Arizona – it was beautiful in a really weird way. And driving across the top of the country…just beautiful land as far as the eye could see. And the mountains… Oh, the ocean….um. Yeah. I have to say, we have a stunning country πŸ™‚

  3. briaq August 12, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Oh wait! I came up with a better answer. Everyone — EVERYONE — needs to see the Carlsbad Caverns. I’m not easily stunned, but this place really puts the entire world in perspective.

  4. Tami August 12, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    What are some of your favorite books from your childhood that you WISH you owned? As in, what books made an impact on you as both a reader and a writer. =]

  5. briaq August 12, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Oh wow, that’s harder LOL

    Anne of Green Gables
    My Side of the Mountain
    Pride & Prejudice
    Jane Eyre (I still read both of these every other year)
    Little Women
    Jacob I have Loved
    Witch of Blackbird Pond
    The Below the Root books
    The Narnia Books
    The Taran Wander books
    Mist of Avalon
    Eyes of the Dragon & The Mist
    Hmmmmm…. Maybe I should stop, I think I could keep going

    Also, I LOVED pulling all the encyclopedias out and going to all the cross references. I still can’t help clicking in Wiki. At my job a few years ago, I created a game called WikiSix — It’s a cross between Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon and Apples to Apples.

    I was just saying I never read the Little House books…maybe I should do that now?

    If anyone checking could pick ONE CHILDHOOD BOOK – what would it be?

  6. katcantrell August 12, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Here’s my question for today – why do I have the compulsion to write, the drive for perfectionism, and a thin skin, ALL IN THE SAME BODY? How does that make sense?

  7. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    LOL I think …no matter how much we all say we have “thick skin” we don’t….we have degrees of thin skin that get’s thicker πŸ˜‰

  8. mgbuehrlen August 12, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    I confess: I haven’t done a scrap of work today. Please don’t tell my boss. Which is me.

    How am I supposed to have brain power with no sugar in my system?

    Okay, like just now, I spent 3.6 minutes examining my fingernail. If there’s no such thing as a sugar high, why am I experiencing a sugar low?

    *crash*

  9. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Who said there was no such thing as a sugar high? I totally missed that. And, I’m Doubting Bria.

  10. December August 12, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Hmm – random question… Do you think this baby makes me look fat? What about my butt? Does the baby make my butt look big? Because I kind of think it does, but the Hubby won’t confirm.

  11. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    I hadn’t heard of anyone carrying a baby in their butt before! This is amazing – you look like a fertility goddess….in the hot way, not in the short, fat way….very different by culture (which always seemed weird)

  12. mgbuehrlen August 12, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I *just* found out myself. Seems most of us are behind the times! http://abcnews.go.com/2020/story?id=1658232&page=2

  13. mgbuehrlen August 12, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Also, did that hot dude at the movie theater ever tweet you?

  14. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Um, I’m going to need more than one statement of sugar high not-ness.

    And, nope….but we never knew if he was single or not…it was a weirdmaybething πŸ™‚

  15. Tami August 12, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    @Bria

    Oooh, some of those books are on my shelves!

    I don’t think I could pick just one! Dragonsinger, maybe? Or possibly Arrows of the Queen.

    *thinks*

    No, wait. I can do one better. The book that I read when I was younger that made me love reading AND want to begin writing, all in one bundle, was Beauty, by Robin McKinley. ❀

  16. mgbuehrlen August 12, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    In fact, that should be a new t-shirt: Just Google It

  17. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Okay, several people have told me to read Beauty*goes to library website to request*

    I’m not buying it MG. Not. Buying it! It’s like everything causes cancer too *sigh*

  18. mgbuehrlen August 12, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    I think the “sugar high” mentality is akin to “everything causes cancer.” *stirs pot even more* muwahahahahaha

  19. Tami August 12, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Beauty shows its age and the fact that it was McKinley’s first book.

    That doesn’t make me love it one iota less, though. *grins*

  20. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    LOL I reread the Allanna books this summer and was like “HUH” at some of the writing…but still great books

  21. Tami August 12, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    *grins* As long as you don’t expect angeldust and fairyglitter – it IS a great book and was absolutely, perfectly what I needed as a reader when I picked it up. ❀

    Which is especially nice because I think I lose a decade in age every time I pick it up to re-read it. πŸ˜‰

  22. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Awesome! *schedules reading it twice*

  23. mgbuehrlen August 12, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    I haven’t read the Allanna books, but I did try to read Wild Magic. I couldn’t finish it. 😦 Maybe I’ll give it another try again later.

  24. Tami August 12, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    @mgbuehrlen

    I have read many of the books in that series. My favorite is Trickster’s Choice (and the only one I own). I enjoyed Allanna – but I had a hard time reading Wild Magic, too. Might be a bad one to try that author on.

  25. briaq August 12, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    I couldn’t get into it either. Anything with magic in the title and her didn’t work for me

  26. katcantrell August 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Alanna books are my favorite. I couldn’t read any of the others. Tamora Pierce is one of the reasons I became a writer.

  27. briaq August 12, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I remember finding her and reading and rereading her over and over again

Leave a Reply

