Conference Share Time

2 Aug

I thought I’d kick off my blogging about conference week with a little space for people to share their favorite things about being there (or following people being there) – Let’s kick it off:

  1. Meeting The Agent – Please feel free to share below stories that prove to her I’m not paranoid and neurotic
  2. Roomie Love (Gwen, you have to love me b/c I just declared my love for you)
  3. Seeing old friends – Being recently separated from Home Chapter #2, not being back in touch deeply with Home Chapter #1, and having missed my friends from my travels, well, this was great!
  4. Making new friends – I just looked at the stack of business cards I received from people who want to keep in touch – amazingly blessed
  5. Amazing Keynotes – As odd as this sounds, sometimes the keynotes make me nervous. You never know how accessible their talks will be, but these ladies were outstanding
  6. Confusing being in bed with getting sleep — Sooooo if we’re still talking, does that not count?
  7. Meeting some amazing people I know in passing online. It was lovely to get to put a real person with your tweets and blogs
  8. Opportunities to say ‘thank you’
  9. Attempting to be “arm candy” for Jeannie Lin at her big presenting gig. She really needs to aim higher.
  10. Having my first champagne. Also, that champagne being *way* outside my price range and yet free
  11. The $4.79 lasange – mock me not people, I stayed under budget!
  12. Managing to get there and back with the small luggage (seriously people, stop asking if they lost my bag)
  13. The fact that I was *also* not wearing Spanx at the awards ceremony
  14. The surprise bump-in-to of people I missed and didn’t know would be there
  15. That the rooms weren’t freezing – I know, this sounds stupid, but so often the rooms are so cold I can’t think
  16. Having friends so out pacing me that I’m constantly their plus one to the coolest places on Earth – ladies, don’t stop writing, I’m looking forward to when you bring me to something else fabulous, like an all you can eat gourmet chocolate dessert awards ceremony
  17. “Starting” a new YA line
  18. Trying to get a receipt for those drugs
  19. Finding out what a husband… I mean business CEO guy does
  20. Mocking the Bump-it, even tho it wasn’t huge and looked great
  21. The cabana – lovely times
  22. The Not So Magic Elevator
  23. The fact that I met seven agents… and didn’t care professionally (because I”m a lucky girl. See #1)
  24. Being Sabrina Darby’s twin
  25. Breaking onto our own balcony
  26. OMG! Is that…. Sorry Mel 😉
  27. Sitting down and enjoying a chat with a stranger for 30 mins before you realize that “OMG, You’re…!”
  28. Leaving – NOT!

Alrighty! Bring on yours! What rocked for you?

6 Responses to “Conference Share Time”

  1. Kim Lionetti August 2, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Was definitely a highlight to meet you too! But are you trying to make ME “paranoid and neurotic” with #23? 😉

  2. briaq August 2, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    HA! You know (people who still haven’t found their agent match) it is a *great* feeling to get to say to an agent, “Oh, I’m with Kim Lionetti and she’s super great” — Seriously, I think agent’s have radar that tells them you aren’t going to pitch to them so they can come sit with you

  3. Kim Lionetti August 2, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Awwwwww shucks.

  4. Jeannie Lin August 2, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    I have an overwhelming number of dessert pictures in my camera, so I’d have to say I met my goal of leaving no dessert unturned. Champagne at the RITAs was super-awesome. Let me say, I rocked the bump-it. Other rockin’ moments — besides every moment with you…awww….*snicker*…

    Have to say meeting Sherry Thomas and not almost crying like I did with Jade Lee. Sitting as an “orphan” during the Nora luncheon and then wanting to rush and find all my friends and give them big hugs after hearing her speech. Seeing Gwen Hayes and Amanda Berry and Liz Talley at book signings on the OTHER side of the table. 🙂

    Every moment was a gift, a true gift. Well, except for when that Harry Potter spider spit out the lens of Rachel’s glasses after we’d waited for hours in line. That wasn’t cool man.

  5. Katrina Williams August 2, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    #23 is like when the only girl in a group who gets hit on is the married one.

    #10 had me singing So Long, Farewell, auf Wiedersehen, good night. Wow I’m a geek.

    I have nothing conferency to add, so I’ll just say thanks for sharing.

  6. briaq August 2, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Katrina… If we’d asked, i’m sure we would have gotten, “Yes?” “No.” 😉

    Jeannie – You did rock the bumpit – totally different from the bumpits I saw in Boss Cowboy Land – those were HUGE big egghead shaping bumpits 🙂 Yours did what you promised it would 😉

Leave a Reply

