On My Way – RWA National Conference

26 Jul

Tonight (technically, tomorrow morning. but when you’re getting up at 3am, it might as well be tonight) I leave for the RWA — Romance Writers of America — National Conference.

Those of you who don’t write romance, stop laughing. Technically, I don’t write romance either. But, I’ve been to other conferences (waves at…oh, let’s not name names) and learned NOTHING. Yeah, I got to hear some great stories, but typically they were ego stroking fests. The writers would talk about oh, say use of language in a certain subsection of a genre (why I was at that workshop) for maybe 3-5 mins and then panel members would start with the “I LOVED your…” and the love fest would begin.

No learning of course, just loving.

Thank goodness for RWA. Everyone who writes should hook into them. Just ask an agent who are the most prepared, most professional unpublished writers. Every time I’ve heard someone ask, the answer was RWA.

So, I’m off to conference tonight (tomorrow morning for you sticklers) and I’m looking forward to several things:

  1. Meeting my agent face to face for the first time (huge, huge draw for me! very excited!)
  2. Learning more about the business end of things
  3. Being a presenters date (always nice to pretend you’re important)
  4. Seeing friends. I’m the last of a certain group without a book deal (except a new friend who is my secret club co-member. I can’t tell you the name of the club, we’re that exclusive) and I’m really excited to see all of them with their First Sale ribbons. I may be more excited than some of them are!

I’ve got all my workshops picked out and a list of people I want to “bump into” *not stalk, I’m above that* *kind of* and I’m ready to go.

When I get back, I’m sure I’ll have  at least a weeks worth of info to share, but what do YOU want to hear about/learn about from Nationals? Let me know!

One Response to “On My Way – RWA National Conference”

  1. December July 27, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    I can’t wait to get there! I love the vibe of so many creative people in one spot.
    Last year my critique partner and I had a brainstorming session in the pool on Friday night. It was fabulous. Relaxing, calming, and helpful!

Leave a Reply

