Two Year Blogiversary

18 Jul

Two years ago this week I started blogging here. I’d been blogging on a group blog before that, but it kind of went south (okay, it died) – Each month I think about whether or not I’ll keep blogging. I mean, it isn’t like a broadcast news or writing cutting edge commentary or telling people the big meaning of life. All the same, I’ve been surprised how often people chime in or visit. I know this makes me a total loser, but comments *always* make my day.

I am glad I continued, and in some ways I’m even glad I continued blogging on my own as great as doing the group blog was. There are things I never would have gotten to do being on a weekly schedule of topics with other ladies. Like the Getting To Yes agent series has been a surprise. I guess it shouldn’t have. I remember when I was querying and looking for someone to just tell me what I needed to know. To say that the frustration was okay. To acknowledge that have several offers was really stressful. To remind me not to stop or give up.

But the there have been some bigger surprises. Ones that looking back at I’m still a little surprised how much notice they got. Like the Letter to My Future Successful Self or the When Did I Become Cool posts. So many people identified with those posts –  I was really amazed. I’m still getting emails from people telling me they printed out the Letter and put their own name there. Some even dated it! One woman put it in an envelope and wrote a specific date and “Because you’re successful, open now” – wow! Go you guys.

And I’ve had some quieter but just as positive posts – the 10 min mentor posts or the organizing posts.

But what it comes down to is I enjoy the blog. I know I’m not gaining future readers or really doing anything amazing or inspiring. But, this blog creates some structure for me in a very unstructured time in my life. It helps me focus and gets me moving forward.

So, to everyone who stops by, Happy Visitorversary to you! And thanks!

8 Responses to “Two Year Blogiversary”

  1. dyromance July 18, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    Congratulations on your blogiversary! Woo! Hoo!

  2. Linda G. July 18, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    Happy Blogiverary! You should give yourself a present. Chocolate’s always good. 🙂

  3. briaq July 18, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    Thanks ladies!

    I completely agree – Chocolate is *always* the answer!

  4. Tami July 18, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary, Bria!

  5. briaq July 18, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    I wasn’t kidding about getting excited about comments 😉 Thanks Tami!

  6. Katrina July 18, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Congrats on your blogoversary! I would miss you if you stopped. You always make me think about stuff and at the end of the day, I think that’s what we’re all here for – to be illuminated in some way. Or to get lit. Whichever you prefer. 🙂

  7. B Jas July 20, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    Congrats on the blogoversary! We just celebrated our one-year. Wow, how time flies when you’re having fun. Terrific site. Luve Ya!

  8. briaq July 21, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Thanks – I *am* having fun with it!

Leave a Reply

