The Deal

24 Jun

Disclaimer: This is not a whine session or rant… stick with me 😉

So, this has been a rough year – actually, the last 3 have been rough. Unemployed. Selling off furniture, clothes, books. Living with friends when I can. But this last spring… wel,, darn it to this last spring. My storage unit flooded (by rest of my stuff) and then the only thing that could actually get me down happened: MY HANDY-DANDY LAPTOP DIED.

Fortunately, we’re in a “it’s fixed for a little while” phase, but I can see that coming to and end. It’s crashing and falling over (don’t ask) several times a day now.

The other half of this equation is the How I Work part. I’ve always worked well under deadlines. actually, I’d go as far as to say I need deadlines. I know a lot of unpublished writers feel like the only reason to “play around” with deadlines is so you get used to working under them when you’re published. Me? I think it pushes me and keeps me on track.

Which brings us to the deal — You’re all invited to check in and cheer or boo me on.

THE DEAL: If I can finish the revisions for book 1, the first version of book 2, get Cami’s First Kiss on smashmouth (so excited about that – very fun short), and either complete the Edit Cards OR The Organized Writer (a planner for writers I’m creating) and finish the Beta read and Crit I’m currently doing, I will suck it up and put a new laptop on a credit card…. something I just do NOT do. *credit shivers*

The thing is — and it was actually pointed out to me by a non-writing friend — a writer can’t write these days without a computer. You wouldn’t ask a dentist to dent without a drill (please, before you start your annoyed email, the “dent” thing was a joke)

So, tell me about the deals you make with yourself. Do you stick to them? Are they hard and fast? Big? Small? Don’t do deals? Hate them? Think I’m nuts?

OR share your best way of just getting it done… oh, and wish me luck!

**ADDED: It was pointed out that I really need to get my butt in gear and get my business cards and info for my new website up too… Yeah, that laptop is slipping through my unemployed hands!

5 Responses to “The Deal”

  1. Linda G. June 24, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    I use chocolate to get me through the next paragraph. (Oh, who am I kidding? I use chocolate to get me through the next sentence!)

  2. briaq June 24, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    I wrote an entire chapter once giving myself a Plain M&M at the end of each page…. I was desperate 🙂

  3. Katrina Williams June 24, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    I have a deal with myself and the hubby. If I get published (I’m loosely interpreting “published” as a sale) before baby #2 goes to kindergarten, I don’t have to get a job. I have two more years. When I first started seriously seeking publication, this seemed like a sure win…uh, not so much, now. I actually hear a clock ticking down to Sept 2012 in my head. It’s the reason I’m crazy.

  4. briaq June 24, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    That’s a great deal – where are you focusing to pub?

  5. Katrina Williams June 25, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I want NY/print but I’m not particular about which house. At this point, I’m just focusing on the agent part and then we’ll see what’s what. Although at gun point I’d admit I’d love to go with Berkley, who publishes Jess Granger because I love her books.

Leave a Reply

