Double Dog Dare You – Writing Goals

20 Jun

If you follow me even in passing you know I’m crazed about goals and time management.

This week, I dared my goals & accountability group to try something different. I have no idea if anyone is going to take me up on it, but I’m daring everyone here too.

I dare you NOT to make goals this week.

I heard that – that happy sigh as if I just gave you all permission to do nothing for 7 days. Well, you can just suck that happy sigh back in, my friend.

Instead, I dare you to pick up the mantle of recording.

Everyday, for the week (feel free to include aΒ “free day”) write down EVERYTHING (yes, every little thing) you do that feeds into your writing: writing, editing, revising, plotting, reading your work, notes, research, etc. –> Don’t forget to record the amount of time or pages!

If you’re really up for a challenge, divide tracking page in half and write down every time you procrastinate or do something that takes away from your writing practice. (Hey, when did that research switch to surfing the web?)

If you want to play, feel free to post in the comments OR you can leave a comment telling us a little about you and your writing and linking to your own blog (SPAMMERS: I’ll be checking each link to make sure it really is someone playing along)

Come back and see how I’m doing (feel free to cheer or boo)

Check out my numbers in the Comments section and feel free to leave yours too πŸ™‚

21 Responses to “Double Dog Dare You – Writing Goals”

  1. danieford June 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    I’m in. And I have a post up on my blog too about it. http://danieford.com/2010/06/20/challenges/

  2. briaq June 20, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    YAY! We’re up to four people!

  3. amanda June 20, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    I’m a disorganized procrastinator, but I’m willing to give this a shot!

  4. briaq June 20, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Yay another one sucked in!

  5. Katrina Williams June 20, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    I have no blog. It’s on my list of goals to start one. πŸ™‚

    You are eventually going to fill us in on the study/research stuff about this no goals deal that you cruelly mentioned and then withheld, right??

  6. briaq June 20, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    LOL – most people would be reallllly bored by that. And, like I said, you can totally track here!

  7. briaq June 21, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I decided to set a stopwatch for while I worked. Vicarious Writing Girl stayed home today and we went to work at our favorite cafe. Everytime we stopped to talk, I stopped the watch. It’s really interesting to see *real* numbers instead of “Well, I was at the cafe ‘working’ for 3 hours.

    How’d everyone else do?

    BRIA’S MONDAY:
    B1 Rev :45
    Edit Cards :45
    B2 Rev 1:10 min (Have another 30-60 mins tonight)
    (Kinda) Craft Book :30
    Agent :45
    Job Search :30
    Walk 1:15

  8. briaq June 23, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    TUESDAY:
    Crit 1:00
    Beta
    Edit Cards 30
    B2 Rev 1:55
    R/W 32
    Read 2:30
    Walk :45

    Yesterday I worked on fewer things, but when I added my time up,I worked an hour longer. Not to bad. We’ll see if this new way to work keeps me motivated by the end of the week.

  9. Kimberly Farris June 24, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    Wednesday (I didn’t time my activities):
    Renewed library books online
    Wrote 500+ words
    Read two non-fiction books
    Critted 9 pages
    Sent out ACer email
    Prepped for ACer chat
    Picked up and returned library books
    Organized story ideas
    Refilled meds
    Went to post office
    Worked on #1’s hair

  10. Katrina Williams June 24, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Wednesday:
    Wrote 1hr, 850 words
    AC Chat
    free write on story questions 15min
    read story notes 25min
    twitter, RD, AC blog, email 95min (ouch. I’m not sure why I spent so much time on social stuff today)
    Real Life Stuff:
    random internet surfing 1hr
    played wii 1hr (bored kids *shrug*)
    DH maintenance 30min (probably the only thing on here that’s ABSOLUTELY necessary)
    Mom’s Carpool Service for #1 1hr
    picked up dress from dry cleaners
    took #2 to library for story time 1hr
    bank

  11. briaq June 24, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    Thanks for adding in ladies!

    I’d love to hear what you’re learning about your writing from doing reverse goals.

    So, Wednesday was my day off. I ran a whole bunch of errands and read and had our ACer Goals and Accountability chat.

  12. Kimberly Farris June 24, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    This week has reiterated the importance of cutting myself some slack. I can only do so much. And working on a goal a little bit is better than not working on a goal at all. I also like the freedom that comes with not having a specific goal (e.g. Write for 1 hour).

    When I was doing the pre-calculus class and the kids had a crazy school schedule, I kept a to do list notebook. I’d write down just about everything I needed to do each day. I’d write down stuff before bed and then add to the list the next day as I remembered stuff or as new things came up. I would cross off and number the the tasks as I completed them. Seeing a number to represent the things I did that day motivated me to get more things done (Woot! I’ve done 10 things on my list and it’s just 2 pm!) and also reminded me that I actually do more than I sometimes give myself credit for (Oh hey! I did 6 things on my list in spite of the drama bomb life threw at me this morning).

  13. briaq June 24, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    I know Kimberly – It’s funny. Some people need a stick. Some need a carrot — I’m beginning to wonder how many need both πŸ™‚

    One thing I’ve been seriously considering is creating a way to do both – goals and accomplishments.

    Maybe use the left side of the notebook for the goals and to do AND the right side for ‘this is what i’ve done’

    Lot’s to think about…lot’s to do πŸ™‚

  14. amanda June 24, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Ummm…remember, how I said I was a disorganized procrastinator? Haven’t gotten to the list-making, yet. But, I encourage you to continue πŸ™‚

  15. briaq June 24, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    *hands amanda a napkin to write on and a crayon… her choice of color*

    You can do it! You’d be surprised how much just writing it down gives that extra little push.

    THANKS! for the encouragement

  16. Katrina Williams June 24, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    “One thing I’ve been seriously considering is creating a way to do both – goals and accomplishments.”

    I, um, have this spreadsheet (shocking, I know) that I’ve kept since I joined the AC group, goals in one column, actual accomplishment in the other. I might be willing to share, you know, if the offer’s right…;)

  17. briaq June 24, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    LOL – I’m actually doing something portable – I like to have my to do list with me – You may be as addicted to spreadsheets as Danie and I!

  18. Kimberly Farris June 25, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    Thursday
    – added 500 word to wip
    – read
    – critted 3 pages
    – went to the library
    – made headcover
    – slept in

  19. Katrina Williams June 25, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    YAY Kimberly on sleeping in!
    Thursday:
    Wrote 1700 words on wip
    Set up website, email and twitter for pen name
    Reviewed all my notes on wip
    Real life-
    mop kitchen 45min
    cell phone issue 30min
    play wii 30min
    Mom’s Shuttle Service 1hr 15min
    grocery store

    I’m learning I have more free time than I thought and that I can accomplish more toward my career if I cut out useless stuff.

  20. briaq June 25, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Kimberly – I 100000% love that you put “slept in” on your list – sometimes it’s the best thing for you

    Katrina – I’m really curious what you’re seeing that you could cut out – how that’s working for you πŸ™‚

    I had another day of touching a lot of things for a shorter amount of time:

    Crit 1:00
    Rework EM 1:00
    Craft :30
    Blogged 30
    B1 Rev 1:00
    Website :45
    Job 30
    Errands 2:00
    Read 2:30

    WHAT I’M LEARNING: Sometimes, instead of torturing myself *not* getting something done because I’m supposed to be working on it, focusing on something else and getting it done is better.

    What I mean is, I’m struggling abit with this revision set. I know what needs to happen (and it’s going to be a full read revision again) but I can’t get it really moving. Starting is always the hardest part for me. Instead of floundering or stalling, I jumped to a different project in 15 min intervals. The revising still goes slowly, but I’m thinking while I do things like “rework EM (excerpt monday)”

  21. Katrina Williams June 26, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Friday:
    write 2hrs 20 min
    social 2hrs 10 min
    plot new story 20min
    update website 30min
    walmart, mom’s shuttle service, library, grocery store, 2 loads of laundry

    I’m thrilled I finally got the story plotted (actually it’s a trilogy) that’s been in my head for 20 years. I wouldn’t have taken the time if I’d had goals cuz I tend to do those and quit for the day.

Leave a Reply

