Get Simple: Office Inventory

11 Jun

Okay, welcome anyone who isn’t an ACer. ACers is the group I founded wayyy back that has become a core of my support (and hopefully theirs). It’s a goals and accountability group (you can read more if you click the workshop tab above) and has been just great.

I’m combining a couple of topics we’ve been discussing and starting a Get Simple series (yes, I know I’m also doing the 10 Minute Mentor series, but they’re going to run side by side) for Fridays.

So, here we go: Inventory.

Start in your office or workspace, grouping everything and give them homes. Then, wander your house. Look in drawers, shopping bags, totes, under the couch… your own specific “hide it here because company is coming over.” Then, once you’ve found every single office supply, group them with the ones already in your office.

What’s this going to do?

  1. Clean up clutter — once everything is grouped in the right place (in the right room!) that will free up cluttered space elsewhere (and we all know the bazillion reasons clutter is not our friend)
  2. Save money – When I moved,Vicarious Writing Girl asked if I had secretly been planning on opening an office supply store. Every where my friends looked, they found my weakness: Post-its and Index Cards. If they’d all be in their homes, I would have known I had 11 (yes! 11!) packs of Index Cards
  3. Make work easier – When you know where something is and can just reach for it, the excuse of not being able to complete a task is gone

And so, step one of Get Simple is Office Inventory! What’s your office or office supply weakness?

12 Responses to “Get Simple: Office Inventory”

  1. briaq June 11, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Someone pointed out that as basically being homeless with no belongings…. how was I going to join in?

    Well, I’ll be heading to the storage area (yes, the one flooded) and finding my workspace storage boxes and seeing if anything is saveable in there. Then, I’ll organize whatever is left for the move to the new place…. the new place I get as soon as I get a job 🙂

  2. talesfromthecrit June 11, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    My office supply weaknesses are notebooks and good writing pens. I’m not buying anymore notebooks (for a while) because I have cases stored around the house. My oldest daughter likes pens too so I use her pen fondness to justify buying more pens.

  3. Kimberly Farris June 11, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    The last comment is mine.

  4. danieford June 11, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Notebooks closely followed by Post-Its and Index Cards in varying colors. I think I may have you beat on the Index Cards. I currently have 2 containers of index cards in 3 different colors. But I use them for writing and school. That doesn’t include the neat, unlined white ones. I have about 3 packs of those.

    I’m during my reorg during break from school. I have my writing area – upstairs and my crafting/study area – in the basement.

  5. Tami June 11, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    *laughs* What ISN’T an office supply weakness?! Fresh writing notebooks and tablets are HEAVEN. I also love the clear post it flaggies – *rummage, rummage* Like these! http://unclutterer.com/2010/06/10/once-again-write-in-books-that-arent-yours/

    Pens. Papers. Notecards.

    It’s even worse because I also like arting with paper. I have parchments, an inkwell and nib pen, a TON of colored pencils, colored pens, and various sizes of inking pens.

    Staplers. Binder rings. Rubber band balls. Paperclips.

    I am shamefully office supply addicted. I could spend hours in an office supply store, just looking at papers and envelopes!

  6. briaq June 11, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    I so love pens – Staples discontinued my favorite pens. Yes, I will yank it out of your hand if you try to take it 🙂

  7. briaq June 11, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    This past week at Bible Study – we had to all write something on an index card – everyone wrote on the lined side…. but me. I wrote on the no-lined side. What do you think that means? lol

  8. briaq June 11, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Nods Tami – completely – BUT, are they organized?

    I should have a photo contest of writing space!!!!

    Also, I totally love Uncluttered 🙂 and those full size clear postits… why did you have to show me those???

  9. mikidemillion June 11, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    Hey! My page looks just like yours. How’s that for being organized?

    I’ve been using this method of clearing up my office space for a long time now. And I know at a glance when supplies are low.

  10. briaq June 11, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    LOL – can you guess why I like this page? – It’s so clean looking. Yeah, my group is getting reorganized. They’re all just lucky they don’t live within driving distance 🙂

  11. Sharla June 11, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Pens…not the gel kind, but the actual roller ball kind. Medium. Blue. Not that I’m picky. I actually love different colors at work, but for writing it has to be blue. I use black if I absolutely cannot find a blue one, but I’m not happy about it.

    And post its. It’s an illness. Love all different sizes and colors, can’t stand the boring yellow ones.

    And I write longhand first so there is nothing—NOTHING—like a fresh new writing notebook. I like the 9.5 x 6.5 size and my fave color is red so…a red one is just about enough to make me giddy.

    Wow this sounds really OCD.

  12. briaq June 11, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Nah, it just sounds like a writer.

    If it makes you feel better – I edit with one pen each round. If that pen gets lost or runs out of ink… OMGOSH! Look out!

Leave a Reply

