10 Minute Mentor

17 May

Not long ago, a friend on Twitter announced she was ready to start her revisions again. Trying to be encouraging, I said, “You’ve got your list and you’re ready to go!”

Only, her response wasn’t, “Yup! Can’t wait!” It was, “What list?’

We jumped together to DM and started a conversation on revisions: what they are, what they aren’t, and how to do them. It was a *great* conversation – really made me personally think some things through a little deeper and solidify my thoughts and processes.

When she thanked me, I asked her to just do it for someone else some day.

That weekend, Darynda Jones and I were doing our monthly 4-hour drive to our writer’s meet and I mentioned the great conversation I’d had with the Twitter friend. We realized, that information, the stuff we’d been DYING for people to just tell us and explain the “why” also had probably taken (if we were talking constantly instead of tweeting and working) about ten minutes.

It hadn’t killed me, actually it helped me probably as much as her. There’s a wonderful saying that basically states if you want to learn something, teach it.

And, it was exactly what I’d wished someone had done for me a few years ago.

And so, The Ten Minute Mentor sprung to life in my mind. We’ll see how many topics I can discuss in the 10 mins timeframes and make them make sense…and helpful 🙂

Let me know, what’s a topic you wish someone had just given you the quick and dirty on when you started writing?

3 Responses to “10 Minute Mentor”

  1. Jeannie Lin May 24, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Love this idea! A lot of the stuff from my mentoring programs is just quickie questions that the mentee wants someone with more experience to just tell them the answer.

    Hmmm….ten minute mentoring topics…brainstorming here:

    Crafty stuff:
    Quick edits for deeper POV
    Backloading for power

    Query/sub stuff:
    Contacting/follow-up/nudging
    Formatting manuscript – word count/headers/title page

    Market/publishing:
    Category/Single Title/e-publishing lines

  2. briaq May 24, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    Ohhh You gave me a few to think over!

    Actually, Formating Your Manuscript is Wednesday 🙂

  3. danieford May 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    Head hopping (POV stuff)
    formatting manuscripts
    Synopsis (lots of trial and error on my part)
    Query letters (what to put in, what not to include)

    Some things I’ve had to “mentor” on –
    show vs tell
    unnecessary words, redundancy, heavy handed details/info
    writing tighter, sentence structure
    weak/lazy writing

Leave a Reply

