Cheeky Reads Job Description: Treasure Hunter

31 Mar

Job Description: Treasure Hunter

      Yep, I’m the female version of Indiana Jones. I just wish I was half as kick-ass sexy as Laura Croft! So what’s the elusive treasure I’m hunting: it comes in many forms, but essentially it’s HAPPINESS.

      In my main job, I’m a consumer marketing manager for a large magazine publisher. I freaking love my job and it never bores me. It’s something new everyday, but my goal is the same: find that magic idea that sells tons more magazine subscriptions. I test campaigns, re-test to make sure the results really were awesome (or not) and then I mine the idea for offshoot ideas.

      Most people think of marketing positions and envision wonderful creativity and party-like events. No so much for my position. Everything I do has to be directly tied to the bottom line and I have to come up with ideas under tight budgets. No room for getting too exciting there! But, my favorite thing is when some little tiny thing I tried literally takes off and becomes a treasure chest of new orders. Happiness ensues, but I have to move on with more research and hope my treasure chest doesn’t run out of jewels too soon.

      Now, like I said I love my job and my co-workers. It makes me immensely happy and I’m glad to say for this part of my job, I’d say treasure found.

      My alter ego is a Romance Book Blogger and here I am at my treasure hunting best. I’m literally reading tons of books for those solid gold treats that speak to me, a diamond in the rough author, or even the holy grail of first time author perfection. I’m constantly mining for gold in the book shelves. Looking for the books that make me happy with their awesomeness is my favorite part of being a Treasure Hunter.

      Now, the day to day life of being a Book Blogger is not all shiny new free books. There are a lot of fool’s gold books out there you are expected to read and review as well. You have to keep track of treasures coming in and cataloging and communicating your finds. Not to mention, you have to provide reports on a timely and consistent basis to your investors (blog readers) and they don’t really care what else is going on in your life. The pressure is there to read fast, review fast and be a website god all in one.

      But again, just one treasure in a pile of 50 books makes the hunt worthwhile.

      A small but growing part of my job is finding those nuggets of insight to add to my newest endeavor, writing my first book. Those pieces of inspiration are like finding a secret passageway to a never-before discovered land. It’s remembering to write those treasures down that seems to be the hardest part!

      Lastly, I’m a wife and mom to two fur-kids and I’m always the Treasure Hunter for them as well. Now, for the boys my treasure hunting can be quite literal. They want me to find their balls immediately when I come home. Usually they are under the couch and it’s a quick hunt. You would think I’d found Noah’s Ark for how they act when I proudly show them my find.

      I’m also constantly looking for treasure to share with the hubby. He needs quality time with me, and that means searching for the prefect things to do and share with him. It means remembering what makes him happy and making sure I have time for him everyday. Those little treasures are the most elusive and take my very best Dan Brown deductions to find. The best treasure of all? His Laugh.

www.cheekyreads.com
www.twitter.com/cheekyreads

6 Responses to “Cheeky Reads Job Description: Treasure Hunter”

  1. Tami March 31, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    What a heartwarming and delightful job description! I love it! And I love hearing that people enjoy their dayjobs rather than just enduring them for the sake of a roof and some bacon. ❤

  2. Cheeky Girl Sabrina March 31, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Thanks Tami! I had fun trying to think of what I would call my “real life” job and am so thankful for a day job I really love (aside from my few bad days). 🙂

  3. Tami March 31, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    @Cheeky Girl Sabrina

    *laughs* Bad days hit us all. Sounds like you have a passion for your current job and that’s inspiring and amazing and awesome (and other a-words, as well) all rolled in one.

  4. Danielle Yockman March 31, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    I loved that post. I love that your husband’s smile is a treasure to you. Le sigh. 🙂

  5. Katrina Williams March 31, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    What a great take on treasure hunting! Editors and agents always talk about finding the gem in the slush pile but you took it to a whole new level. Good luck on the book! If it’s half as inventive as this job description, you’ll have us lining up for it…thanks for sharing.

  6. Cheeky Girl Sabrina March 31, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    Thanks ladies!

    Danielle – I LOVED your Bossy Wench post.

    Katrina – thanks for the well wishes on the book. It’s slow going, but since it’s my first I’m pretty well prepared that once I’m done it will collect dust under the bed. I’m using it as a learning experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

