I’m Just A Girl Who Can’t.Say.No.

13 Jan

I’m in New Mexico this year. This means I joined the local writing group. I thought “Ahhhhh….A chance to sit back and not do anything but show up.” Plus, my kinda-mentory person told me to stop “giving back until I get” — I can’t seem to help myself.

So, here I am. I don’t know anyone. I have a job that I do nothing at but I can write and be on the internet (dream job?), and I’m living in the middle of no where. When I heard the chapter was thinking about skipping this year of having their writing contest…which was just becoming really successful… I said “Whatever I can do to help, I’m in.”

Which somehow turned into “I can coordinate the contest.” Yes. Yes it did.

The upside? There will now be another reputable contest with a YA category. Yeah, if you’re going to take on the spreadsheets, you might as well get the upside too!

8 Responses to “I’m Just A Girl Who Can’t.Say.No.”

  1. uninvoked January 13, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    what sort of contest? Novels or short stories? What’s the entry fee?

  2. briaq January 13, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    It’s The Rebecca for New Mexico’s LERA chapter.

    I’m really excited and we’re talking about some BIG changes right now. As soon as those are nailed down, I’ll be chatting more about it here.

    Stay tuned! One of the changes I’m already jumping up and down about 🙂

  3. December January 13, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I’ve heard good things about that contest!
    I’m actually on the flip side, I don’t get involved, becuase I hate any sort of requirements on my time. Mine mine mine.
    But this year, I volunteered to coordinate one of the Fab 5 contest categorys. Not the whole contest, mind you. Just one category.

  4. briaq January 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I do know that some of the best opportunities and greatest friends made come from volunteering.

    And yes, you have to do the LERA this year 😉

  5. Amethyst January 13, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    You tell them, Amy. Uh, I mean Bria. Of course that’s what I mean.

    *Whistles OOOOOO-klahoma . . . .”

  6. briaq January 13, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    I know, it’s been in my head since I wrote it this morning LOL

  7. Steve January 13, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Your job sounds lfun and rewarding. Where do I apply?

    🙂

  8. briaq January 16, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    I’m hoping it’s fun! I hope I bring something new to add to an already great contest.

    Please, don’t let me ruin this contest!

Leave a Reply

