Critique Partner Needed

30 Dec

Because of the new way I’m working, the speed and output I want to aim for and some other personal reasons, I’m looking for a second Critique Partner. So, when I said this on twitter last night, a bunch of people very kindly offered to “read” for me. Because that’s such a broad statement, I figured I needed to put some more thought into what I’m looking for and what I offer so people can see if they really want to come anywhere near me and my scribblings :)WHY I NEED A CRITIQUE PARTNER

  1. That Darn Dyslexia has me. Things I can’t “see”:
    1. Misspelling words spell check doesn’t catch
    2. Putting words in the wrong order (sometimes more than just switching 2 words)
    3. Skipping words
    4. Putting words (or corresponding words) more than once
  2. Is what’s in my head on the page?
  3. Occasionally the phrasing I’m using is clear in my head, but not so much to someone reading it.
  4. And of course, overall thoughts, things that stop you, if a joke falls flat (that NEVER happens *cof*) and typical beta stuff.

 

HOW I WORK:

I’m looking to write 4 200-page books a year (we’ll see if I can do it!). I’m a pantser and so I’m not able to write the first 3 chapters and send it off to be crit’ed. I need to write the whole thing, go over it and then send it off preferably over a 3 week period (3 weeks in a row) in 3rds (or something close to that). I’m hoping to find someone who would be willing to do large chunks in fairly quick turnaround times. Which, if we coordinate as long as it isn’t during a fast draft period or crunch time for either of us.

Do you have to write this much? No. But, I am looking at someone who can crit this much. If you need me critting that much too, we’ll do it! 🙂

WHAT I’M GOOD AT:

Continuity, spotting movement errors, plot holes and pushing you on your story, leaving your voice alone, pretty good with grammar. I’m honest and tough, but tactful. I also try to weave in comments about what you’re doing well and what I really liked. I think CPs should try to do that not just for encouragement or to keep the crit balanced, but sometimes we need others to point out our strengths so we can focus on those as well.

WHAT I’M LOOKING FOR:

My current CP writes and mostly reads adult romance. I’m looking for someone who writes YA preferably OR who reads YA a lot. Like, It’s-my-main-reading-for-pleasure-category a lot.

WHAT I’M NOT LOOKING FOR:

I’m not looking for someone who needs help with stuff in a teaching or mentor capacity. I already have a few people I volunteer to do this for. I need this relationship to be a more even level of give and take.

WHAT I DON’T DO:

I don’t read erotica. Sorry. And if it’s hot or violent I’m useless because I skim right over those to the next scene. We joke that it takes me about an hour to read a JR Ward book when I was trying her out.

WHAT I WRITE:

I write a series that at the moment I’m calling The Secrets. They’re standalone books about a group of friends in high school. Nothing paranormal going on (I know! Nothing!) Each book deals with a tough issue with humor (hopefully) while forcing the characters into making the tough decisions.

I also write YA fantasy… the traditional stuff. I’m not focusing on this right now. The first book is complete, but put away for a year while I work on The Secrets and 2 other ideas I’ve floated. I plan on reworking this over time and hitting the next book in the series as well. This is a much bigger endeavor. It has a big cast, its own mythology, it’s own world, gods who won’t stay out of the way, a war, hidden enemies…a lot to juggle J So, that’s there, but wwwwwaaaaayyy over there right now.

I will say, I don’t think that I’d be looking for a person here and a person there to dive in deep with like this since the time commitment to each other would be fairly intense.

ABOUT ME:

I’m newly agented and aggressively writing. I love to write. I actually enjoy editing (most of the time too) I love to read and go on genre binges. I lead a goals and accountability group to (so I’m big on balance). I try to be one of those people who doesn’t drop the ball – or warns you if something unforeseeable is going to stall me – if I say I’m going to do it, I’m going to do it.

So, if I haven’t scared you off and you think you’re a good match, drop me a line at briaquinlan@aol.com and let’s chat. There’s stuff that isn’t here and stuff I’m sure you’d want to say and ask as well. We can always try it out and see if it we’re a good fit.

Thanks!

5 Responses to “Critique Partner Needed”

  1. briaq December 30, 2009 at 5:36 pm #

    Kind of an Edited To Add:

    Yes, I think it *WOULD* be a good idea to read a little of each others stuff before jumping in 🙂

  2. December December 30, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    I think this is a fantastic list of specifics! I would love to CP with you, but I don’t think I’d help much in the Dyslexia dept, I’m not a close, careful reader, and I tend to skim, especially when reading on the computer screen.
    Misused words don’t pop out at me.
    I don’t read much (if any) YA, and what I have read didn’t really do much for me.
    Also – I think you’re writing level is much more advanced then mine, and it wouldn’t be a good give and take. But the crits you’ve done for me have been priceless!

  3. katiebabs December 30, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    I am looking for a CP also for my UF and YA books I am in the middle of revising and want to cause me to die a slow death. I need someone to tell me, this sucks, re-write it or slap me because I don’t know when to use the words then and than.

  4. Julie K. December 30, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    Forgive me because I’m still sick, but I want to make sure I’m reading properly. You are looking at about a 66 page crit a week for 3 weeks per book (roughly)?

    I should be able to do that (especially if you gave me a heads up a bit before it was coming so I could wrap up other crits).

    My only concern with the swap is that I write YA urban fantasy, so there are sections of violence. If that won’t (you don’t think) bother you, let me know 🙂

  5. georgiamcbridebooks January 3, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Hi Bria-we have a group at #Yalitchat for crit seekers. Look there and you might find someone. Good luck and let me know, OK? Cheers-Georgia

Leave a Reply

