Goals and Outside Influences

28 Nov

I run a group affectionately called ACers (Accountability Corner) – It’s an online weekly goals and accountability group. Right now we’re starting to discussing Long Term Goals (LTGs) for 2010 and I realized something important: I’m not sure how to plan 2010.

 

In the past, my plans have always been straightforward and aggressive.

 

But now (to continue the “After the Yes” theme) all that has changed. I’m sitting here thinking: What if she doesn’t like book two? What if she says, Let’s get something else in line? What if I sell and then have to readjust everything? What if…What if…What if…

 

So, I guess that’s my new lesson for the end of the year. I’ve always tried to teach my managers that flexibility is essential. You never know what’s going to happen. For example, in succession planning (planning at the higher levels for training and promotion to back fill people who quit or get fired OR if there’s a change in company structure OR if a new position opens up, etc) there’s a ton to plan for besides alllll those things you just saw in the parenthesis.

 

What if someone’s training doesn’t go well and they don’t move fast enough? What if someone’s training goes really well and they jump the  line? What if someone does well, but suddenly everyone realizes he should be doing V instead of W? What if department’s merge? What if there’s a buy out? What if he has to go on leave? What if there’s a big opportunity from a customer and we have to move him over there and slow or stop his growth to the next level? What if… What if… What if…

 

So here I go again, taking life and applying it to the career I want in writing: Plan A isn’t going to happen. Probably Plans B & C either…But some combination of those and things you haven’t thought of yet.

 

So, Bria, I shouldn’t bother to create goals and a plan the, right?

 

WHAT? ARE YOU CRAZY?

Without a plan and goals set, you’re aimless. It’s like saying you’re going to go on a trip and then trying to pack. What do you bring? Will it be warm? Sunny? Will you doing something active? Lounging on the beach? Enjoying nightlife…which will be cluby/sophisticated/trendy/chic/laid back?

 

You have to give yourself the ability to pack your writer back. Yeah, just like any trip, you can buy something you need when you get there if you forgot it, but do you really want to spring for a whole new wardrobe?

I didn’t think so. So, go make Plan A…and B & C….and get ready, because 2010 is going to be our year!

4 Responses to “Goals and Outside Influences”

  1. danieford November 28, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    My sentiment exactly. I’m trying to be structured but not to structured in my goals. It’s going to be a balancing act with new things that are coming up (like school).

    I’ve got that feeling too – this is going to be our year.

  2. briaq November 28, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    YAY for our year! Go ACers! WOOO HOO!

    Ok, I just wore myself out.

  3. mamadivine November 29, 2009 at 1:00 pm #

    I learned this year that I do better when my time is structured. The first half of the year when I was helping S with pre-calculus and driving kids around all day, I got so much accomplished. When the math class was over and the kids didn’t need as much taxi-ing, my productivity nosedived.

    I need structure (never thought I’d say that).

    2010: Year of the ACers!

  4. briaq November 29, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    Me too…even if it’s self-created structure. That’s a huge learning!

Leave a Reply

