Forks…2 YA Writers…And the Great Adventure

6 Sep

I’ve given my opinion of the Twilight series before…the good, the bad and the ugly. So, we’ll skip that. But, as a YA writer, I felt that being in Port Angeles for the week meant I HAD to zoom over to Forks and see the madness. Plus, it’s between me and the rainforest (which is a @gwenhayes & @briaquinlan #2words1 if you twitter).

 

So, Gwen Hayes plus her daughter H and friend P jumped in Hunny and headed out.

 

The girls kept us entertained on the way there. We heard tons of great stories about H’s uncle-cousins-son’s kids. Which it took me a while to decipher the family. What I learned: just nod and smile, she knows who she’s related to and I don’t need to.

 

All the way to Forks, the girls kept telling us how “NOT Twilighters” (the local term for Twilight fans) they are. No. No. No. No. NO! They were just going to DIE of embarrassment if ANYONE saw them. You can tell, they had a reallllly rough time getting into the whole Twilight Tour immediately:

Welcome To Forks  Welcome To Forks

 

Yeah, you can see we’re torturing them to get them to pose. We got the Thumbs-Up and the Vanna White 🙂

 

So, then we drove through town, with the 2 stoplights, that took roughly 1.75 mins. On the far side of town across from the airport (dear Lord, please never force me to land at the Forks airport. Amen.) Outside is a truck painted to match Bella’s. Of course, we had to get a picture of that too!

Bella's Truck

 

While they were all looking at the truck, I got another picture. If you follow me on twitter, you know that I’ve been kind of mocking the area…Not because of Twilight stuff, but because it’s been sunny and 79′ for 2 weeks. Not a cloud in the sky. I’m convinced northern Washington is lying to the rest of the country about their weather so no one moves there and overpopulates their little corner of the world. I think this is a lie:

 Rainfall in Forks Almost 6 feet? Yeah, not while I was there.

 

After lunch we headed out to the rain forest (or rainforest if you’re playing #2words1) — gorgeous. I mean, stunning. The greens were so thick and lush. It was amazing to be away from a city. I loved the dessert while I was out there, but this was a completely different experience. The girls told me they were “used to it” — wow, I guess I’m just that person. I never get used to things. Every time I go to the ocean (near my house) or the mountains (not far either) or the lakes (just over there) I’m still amazed. Sunsets, yup. Sunrises…um, if I’m up. So, part of the tour has to be the rainforest 🙂

HOH Rainforest

Came around the corner and had to double back to get a picture of this tree. It’s hard to tell, but the greens are so deep that it felt like you were in the middle of a…well, a rainforest. The parts that look white and silver actually looked more pale green and silver. The girls called it God’s Tinsel. Christmas year round 🙂

Then we saw an amazing gully. The cliff is two stores high. It’s hard to tell it’s that big with how tall and skinny the trees are!

Hoh Rain forest  Hoh Rain Forest Hoh Rain Forest

 

The 12 mile drive out to the state park was so amazing, and our day was running down (don’t even ask how long it took to get a slice of pizza) that we headed back to town. The girls (the ones who insisted they weren’t Twilighters) had a list of things they needed to see. NEEDED TO SEE.

First, we drove a little further out first so we could see Kalaloch Beach. It was this amazing cove with a whole bunch of HUGE trees washed up from storms.

Hayley & Paige at Kalaoch Beach

There’s the lovely P & H at Kalaloch Beach.

Don’t believe me about all the trees, check this out:

Kalaloch Beach

And then, back to town…not that there was anything we NEEDED to see….Except the convenience store. And the hospital. And the TWO “Dazzled by Twilight”. And…and…and..

Dazzled by Twilight

This is one of the Dazzled By Twilight stores.  It’s literally like walking thru a forest. It’s dark and enclosed. You have to weave and duck between trees. This is NOT a store mainly for kids. I was amazed how many of the gifts were more adult themed. But, we won’t go into that here. It really was a great shop to suck people into.  Brilliant marketing and tons of stuff hidden in nooks and corners.

Not to mention Edward was there!

Hayley & Paige Kissing Edward Hayley & Paige w/ Edward Cullens in Dazzled by Twilight

So, which do you think was their real reaction? Kissing or puking?

Two more stores and then we had to find Edwards house. Which must be over by the hospital where Carlisle worked. Wait, there’s Bella’s house. There’s the hospital. What do you mean we have to go home? We’ll CALL someone. Hold on. Directions achieved to the other side of town. But we NEEDED to see Edward’s house so we zipped across town. And there it was. Locked. Oh well.

But, before we go, P signed the guest book. Yeah, I’m sure her boyfriend Brady (who just happens to LIVE in Forks) is going to love this.

Leaving Forks

 

The ride home was not uneventful.

 

I learned that whatever is actually spelled: “W.O.T. Ever” — good to know.

That all the boys are amazing in Forks, just like Edward with great manners.

Fergie’s song Glamorous is actually “C.A.N.D.Y…wait…there’s more letters, right?”

If you want to call someone bitchy, you’re allowed to spell it…especially if you spell it: b.i.t.c.h.E.

H is obsessed with rafts and wants to be a marine biologist….except for that fish smell and all.

 

So, if you’re a writer…or anyone looking for a laugh…put two teenage girls in the back seat and go to an overpriced tourist trap in the middle of no where. Fun, had by all!

7 Responses to “Forks…2 YA Writers…And the Great Adventure”

  1. Kaige September 6, 2009 at 11:32 pm #

    E’s so jealous. You know it. *nods to self*

    It’s funny how the God’s Tinsel looks like Spanish Moss. 🙂

  2. gwen hayes September 7, 2009 at 12:23 am #

    I am so t-i-r-e-d.

    and God’s Tinsel isn’t Spanish Moss. We don’t have Spanish Moss here.

  3. Jeannie Lin September 7, 2009 at 12:30 am #

    That’s so awesome! And I’ve been known to make kissy faces at a cardboard Spike. I was well past my teen years too.

    The trip sounds like a blast. Totally wish I could have been there.

  4. Kaige September 7, 2009 at 2:46 am #

    Yeah, I know, I just meant maybe vampires like familiarly spooky settings. NOLA/spanish moss, Forks/God’s Tinsel. It looks like it’s a true moss or lichen instead of a bromeliad like spanish moss.

  5. Shelli Stevens September 7, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    Yup, was totally sunny when we were there too! The rainforest was too brown for my taste though 😦 I wanna go back in the fall/winter. Seen pics of it then and it was GORGEOUS.

  6. jodi September 7, 2009 at 4:47 am #

    I was thinking it looked like Spanish moss, too. I can’t imagine a true moss with that kind of creepability. Then I looked at the cliff and thought, “mud-slide”, lol. It’s amazing how people interpret things. Looks like you had a great time. 🙂

  7. Debbie Mumford September 7, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    Actually, if you’re looking for a laugh *anywhere*…”put two teenage girls in the back seat and go” *lol*

    Glad you had a good time with the vampires!

Leave a Reply

