Renewing Goals

13 Aug

I’m a member (ok, i’m the annoying founder) of a group known as ACers — their the Accountability Corner. It’s a small group that does very focused weekly goals.

 

We started this week with some new people and a renewed focus. One of mine was that I would blog this week Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

Great. Not a problem. I can do that. I have two blogs for crying out loud (divadriving.wordpress.com is the other) — I could blog about writing OR I could blog about my round the country drive I’m doing…. so many great options.

 

So I sat down and realized….. I got nothin’.

 

Last night I got almost no sleep…nightmares. I have them sometimes. So I’m tired and then spent five hours critting.

 

But this is what it comes down to. I made a goal. I have the time and capability to complete it. Therefore, it gets done. This is where the line has to be drawn. There’s no emergency. Nothing is stopping me except my own laziness. It either gets done because I said I would or it doesn’t and I make up some lame excuse.

 

So today is the first day of the new goals that I’m drawing that line in the sand. We have to do it, all of us. Or success becomes a “wouldn’t it be nice” instead of a “give it all I’ve got” dream.

 

And I guess I’m a dreamer.

2 Responses to “Renewing Goals”

  1. leighroyals August 13, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Dreaming is nice. I dream for you good things…..

  2. LaurenJohnson August 16, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    As a former member of the ACers I know how demanding it can be… but since you rock so hard I have total faith in you. Since I’ve been gone I’ve been working on creating my own goals and holding myself accountable. Surprisingly it’s been working out rather well. I don’t think I could have done it without the initial guidance of the group. 😉

Leave a Reply

