Dear Friend

16 May

Dear Friend Who Does Not Understand My “Writing Habit” –

 

Don’t pity me. I love my life.

 

I have something I enjoy so much — that I want so desperately — that I find time in my busy schedule to do it. I’ve weeded out the unimportant, the unenjoyable, the irrelevant and kept only the important and  the things I love so I can fill the rest of my time writing…which also just happens to be on the “Things I Love” list.

 

I use my mind to build worlds and create people that are so real people fall in love with them or hate them.

 

I am NEVER bored. Remember that day we were stuck waiting for someone in that bar that was so loud we couldn’t talk and you were bored out of your mind and I kept chuckling under my breath? Yeah, I wrote chapter 4…and it’s funny.

 

You will never know what it’s like to have someone email you telling you you’re brilliant, or you made them cry, or they wish your hero was real. You will never know what it’s like to feel so passionately about something that even having someone rejected it feels like a step forward. You will never know what it’s like to get The Call and have to decide if that person is the right one to trust with your work because, no matter what everyone says…the career is work, but the writing is personal. You will never have to deal with the minor annoyance of people emailing you saying, “When the heck can I have the next book” — yeah, that’s really hard to take.

 

Friend, stop trying to tell me you don’t understand but feel bad for me, because the truth is…I feel bad for you. I wish for you a passion, so big, so important, that you fear it as  much as you crave it. That success is something you chase after, and yet not the real goal. I wish for you a small portion of what I’ve gotten already from this “Writing Habit” of mine.

 

Next time you look at me and think, “The poor dear”, remember I’m probably thinking the same thing. I’m probably thinking something like, “May she find something to chase after.” Because, life is short and, as the saying goes, if not now – when? Those things you’re going to try later… don’t wait! Try them now, and maybe one day we’ll sit down for tea and you’ll have to fight to not dominate the conversation because you’ve found your passion and it’s joyfully spilling over.

 

with love,
bria

4 Responses to “Dear Friend”

  1. Jeannie Lin May 16, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    What about having someone who wants to see this book on the shelf so much that they’ll read it twice and would read it a third time…and they’re already making fangirl trailers about it?

    I love your comment that there’s never a boring moment for a writer. Rush hour traffic? Time to work out that next scene.

  2. briaq May 16, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    OHHHH I still watch my trailer….I really wish I could post it! It’s seriously one of the best gifts ev-ah!

    Look, another place I can tell you “you rock” today 🙂

  3. Celise May 22, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    I’m glad all the people I know are supportive and think it’s pretty cool that I write. When I’m in Writing Mode, I write at work during my breaks and lunch. During that time, I try to bring my lunch. My co-workers think it’s great that I stick to my guns when they all go out to lunch. I tell them I’m on a deadline and they commend me for sticking to it. I’ve yet to come across this problem. But if I did, this person would be drop-kicked from my life due to the negative vibery. I don’t that crap in my life.

  4. kaimarie May 25, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    I find it amazing that there’s so many people that act like it’s something to be pitied. A bad habit, like smoking or alcoholism. Amusing, and very well put, my friend.

    When can I have a finished version of SG? LOL

Leave a Reply

