I Am Woman Hear Me…Um, What Exactly Is It I Do?

5 May

A couple weeks ago, based on a writing forum discussion, I posted a Buff V Bella blog post HERE. It’s still getting tons of hits and some votes, but what’s interesting is the strong reactions.

 

The divide blew me away. People saying they WOULD want to be Buffy or Bella. I’m not sure anyone even talked about the girls in between – the more everyday heroine. Step outside a paranormal and there are a ton of witty, strong, powerful female leads.

 

I realize not everyone can be Elizabeth Bennet (so yeah, she’s out of the running), but which female character have you most identified with in your life. Has it changed as you’ve “grown-up”? Has it effected how you view yourself?

 

Why? Because I’m really curious what makes people identify with a character. Is it a good thing to relate that much? Does that make the character “better” than others? Do you identify with their flaws as well? How clearly do you see the connection? OK, now go ask a friend if you’re right?

In our book club years ago, a woman said she was shocked how much a character was like her. She just couldn’t wait to get to book club because she knew everyone would be talking about it. This character was NOTHING like her. It was so far from her that we all thought she was joking at first. But to her, the author had written her kindred spirit in this character.

 

So, no Elizabeth Bennet (which was rated the number one character women relate to) – but who is your soul-mate character?

5 Responses to “I Am Woman Hear Me…Um, What Exactly Is It I Do?”

  1. Emily Ryan-Davis May 5, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    I…don’t have one. How’s that for lame? (PS: Buffy)

  2. Rosemary May 6, 2009 at 2:37 am #

    You know, I wonder how many women who say they identify with Elizabeth Bennett really just want to be the woman that Mr. Darcy falls in love with. Also, I’ve never seen a movie version of Elizabeth who was as flawed as the book version. (And I *love* book!Lizzie.)

    I always saw a lot of myself in young Jo March. I totally understand her pigheadedness, her horrible temper, and her wish that nothing had to change. Jo was CRANKY. She was also creative and loving with her sisters, and always came back to the family.

    But as much as I love that book, love that Jo found her voice when she wrote about her sisters, I never liked the sequel books, because it made me sad she didn’t keep writing.

  3. briaq May 6, 2009 at 6:59 am #

    Em *shakes head* — For everyone else, Em had someone she mentioned off blog. It made me smile.

    Rosemary – I totally agree about Mr. Darcy. I love Darcy and I know that this war already broke out once on my blog *sigh* but I always thought that she’d REALLY have to love him, because he’d be work. (Now, Captain Wentworth….)

    Jo, yeah. She was great. She always feels like the least fabricated character to me. As if we aren’t allowed to be surprised by decisions she makes because she’s real.

  4. melsmag May 7, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    Good question. Not sure if I have one. I’m not exactly char type. I mean there’s Peabody (from Elizabeth Peter’s series) who is an extremely strong willed woman for the time the books were to be written, enjoying mystery and archaeology (all things I love). I feel like I can connect on that level.

  5. Darcy May 10, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    I sort of have two and I can’t really choose between them because I identify with each for entirely different reasons.

    First of which is Kaoru Kamiya from the Rurouni Kenshin manga/anime because our personalities are so eerily similar down to the fact that neither of us can cook without turning the food into poison. It’s what made my friends and all start watching the anime in the first place because the connection was so amusing. It never really changed my perception of the myself because I already saw myself thusly, but it did draw me deeper into the story because her reactions were so natural and familiar to me.

    The second character is Faraday from Sarah Douglass’s Axis Trilogy. I loved that character and she’s much more an opposite. Quiet, lady-like, noble, logical, and self-sacrificing. None of the things that I am, but I was endeared to her struggle none-the-less. I cried throughout those three books every time she metaphorically fell, knowing she was going to be betrayed and left with nothing. But she had a purpose and an iron will, and I did find myself thinking that I wished I could be more giving and self-less.

Leave a Reply

