Ripping Hearts Out

3 May

There comes a time when writing characters in any type of a relationship, that the relationship must turn bad.

 

I hate doing things halfway, so I don’t want him to feel bad. I want to destroy him. It’s his own fault you know. He totally has it coming. I could tell you all the ways he messed up everyone’s lives, but then why would you read the book when it comes out (look who’s feeling optimistic today!)?

 

But there’s this line. You know the one I’m talking about. It’s the difference between cheese and icon. The place where you’re willing to let the tears slip out and not feel stupid about it. The Melo-Line. My goal is to always stay on the right side of that line. To deal with just how emotions can shape a person without ending up with a “Nobody puts Baby in a corner” moment.

 

So, let’s here them! Books and movies that tore your heart out without the cheesiness making you need a napkin.

6 Responses to “Ripping Hearts Out”

  1. gwen hayes May 3, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    “Angel”
    In last season, episode called “Thank You”
    The last scene with Angel and Cordy when she builds him back up, kisses him, and tells him ,”You’re welcome.” That scene shredded me.

  2. briaq May 3, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    OH! Good scene.

    We were talking about scenes that get you every time. I have a couple RomComs (the end of Strictly Ballroom – every time. Their dance *sigh*)

    BUT, I got watery just TELLING someone about the scene in To Kill a Mockingbird when she says “Stand up Scout, you’re daddy’s walking by” (or such) – every time. Book. Movie. Play. Me poorly paraphrasing it…every time

  3. gwen hayes May 3, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    Actually, I do remember you tearing up when you talked about that scene when I was visiting.

  4. briaq May 3, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

    Seriously – it’s sad that I can NOT not tear up.

    What is wrong with me lol

  5. talesfromthecrit May 4, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    Wow, I don’t know. This is a really fun blog but I rarely cry at books and movies. I mean, I can’t remember the last time. Except a few weeks ago at a Sil Desire and that’s just because I’m pregnant. I mean, I can’t even remember what happened.

    I wish I could think of something. I can think of plenty of songs that get me every time, but no books or movies. I know something is going to occur to me in three days and I will come back here and post a comment apropos to nothing. This is a cool blog though.

    Amber

  6. melsmag May 4, 2009 at 9:37 am #

    Hmm… I’m bad for crying because I’m the emotional type. I’m worse with animal movies… heh. I can’t think of a specific incident though. The last movie where the scene made me cry was Nights in… Rodanthe. Book, I’m not sure… hmm I can’t remember. I’ll haVe to think about that one.

Leave a Reply

