Luv YA Book Club: HELL WEEK by Rosemary Clement-Moore

21 Apr

As always….

WARNING: This is NOT a review – it’s a Blog Book Club. That means, we’re going to discuss the book – the whole book – yes – even the end – so guess what. There’s going to be spoilers.

SPOILERS PEOPLE!

NO! Seriously. If you read past here, it’s your own darn fault.

OK. Welcome to Luv YA’s Book Club Book Blog – with Rosemary Clement-Moore discussing her second book, Rita Nominated HELL WEEK!

 

BUT FIRST….. Two things.

1) Please remember that the book club is for Hell Week, the SECOND Maggie Quinn book. I’m asking nicely, but I will delete posts that give spoilers to book three. It’s pretty new and too good to ruin for someone who hasn’t gotten a chance to pick it up yet. Also, Rosemary may have to quick step some questions to avoid giving spoilers for book three. Please be kind as she does this.

2) At someone’s request I’m starting an email list strictly for book club if you’re on the list:

  • Email a month in advance announcing the next book
  • Email a 2 weeks in advance as a reminder
  • Email several days before confirming Book Club is good to go
  • That’s it unless I’m looking for Book Club suggestions which probably won’t happen often
  • If you’re interested, email me at briaquinlan@aol.com

 

And here we go!

 

I really cannot tell you how darn excited I am to have Rosemary Clement-Moore here to discuss her book Hell Week (if you haven’t guessed all of that already, now you know) – For you newbies, feel free to read the Book Club post and dive in with a question or two. Rosemary will be with us and answering them live tonight 🙂

 

Maggie Quinn, Girl Reporter and Butt-Kicker of Evil, should be enjoying all the perks of starting college, like finagling her way onto the staff of the school paper, but –as with most things in Maggie’s life — Yeah. Not so much.

It’s bad enough wondering what’s going on with her MIA almost-boyfriend Justin who spent the summer in Ireland, but after one night, it’s pretty clear that going undercover at Sorority Rush may just sharpen her snark skills to deadly.

When Maggie opens herself up to continuing in the Greek system as a pledge to write exposes for the newspaper, strange things start to happen. Not that that’s anything new. But her normal Sight dreams are getting weird and now she’s having these vision flashes when she touches things. That’s a way to learn way more than you wanted to know. Like about Deidre, the girl who just happened to be looking pretty intense with Justin in Ireland. Yeah, she definitely could have skipped knowing that. But when she comes out and asks him about it, Justin gives it to her straight: He likes her but needs to focus on school.

Ouch.

And so Maggie throws herself into the undercover work, getting sucked into Sorority life. Which means Pledging, Parties and  Some Word That Starts With “P” that means “hot guys who kiss you behind the bar.” Oh yeah, and let’s not forget the most important P: Paranormal.

Maggie discovers there’s more going on in the SAXi house than anyone suspects, and a very clear reason the pledges can’t have sex…does the word succubus mean anything to you?

Well, that put a damper on her reclaiming Justin plans. But, if a girl ever needed inspiration to not become a succubus (um, yeah) he’s definitely the one. So Maggie does what any girl bent on saving the world would do: She breaks into the heart of darkness, finds their secrets and begins the butt-kicking plan-building.

And then the threats begin, because did we mention that her mom has a “P” word of her own? She’s preggers and no one, no matter how powerful the demon she’s summoned, is going to screw with the people Maggie loves.

 

MUST READ. Seriously – I have not done the skim-the-set-up justice 🙂 

And now onto the pre-chat Q&A with Rosemary Clement-Moore

 

Let’s start with the dreaded, “So, Rosemary, tell us a bit about yourself.” were you a snarker like Maggie? Was writing always your thing? Have you vanquished anything lately?

I’ve always been a storyteller, with a wild imagination. Plus I have very eclectic interests, which made it hard to decide what I wanted to be when I grew up. So I became a writer, so I wouldn’t have to pick just one thing to study.

Was I snarky? Only in my head. Outwardly, I was very polite and well mannered. I did theatre and I was surrounded by boisterous, funny people, and I had this quiet, dry sense of humor that I kept to myself. It wasn’t really until college that I came out of my shell. It’s just gotten worse since then.

The only thing I’ve vanquished recently is the dust bunnies from under the couch.

 

Where exactly IS Avalon? Is Bedivere University named for something?

Some people assume it’s in Texas, since I’m from Texas. And it could be. 🙂 But once you say “Texas” people assume rednecks and cowboy boots and big hair. I wanted to avoid those stereotypes. I wanted Avalon to have that “everywhere” feel, like Middleton in Kim Possible cartoons.

And of course the name is part of that, because Avalon, in mythology, is not part of our world. Bedivere University named from that mythology, by the way. I’ll let the intrepid Googlers figure out the connection. 🙂

 

I love Maggie. Even when she accepts things, she fights them kicking and screaming. One of your reviewers said she was kind of a “Veronica Mars fights demons.” How do you see her?

 Maggie comes from the tradition of Nancy Drew — that plucky young heroine whose curiosity and do-gooder-ness is always leading her into danger, but her smarts and resourcefulness get her out of it. I didn’t watch Veronica Mars before I wrote the book(s), but I think she (VM) falls in this category too.

Maggie draws comparisons to Buffy, too, but I think those are more superficial. The both fight evil while cracking wise. But Maggie’s bravado is all to cover her terror. 🙂

 

Why a reporter? Was it a conscious decision or has it always just been part of who Maggie is?

I knew she’d be a reporter before I knew anything else about her. Think Brenda Starr and Lois Lane. She’s always sticking her nose where it doesn’t belong, always wants to get the whole story… even when she knows she’s not going to like it.

 

Maggie walks a really fine line between belief and disbelief. How do you balance that when writing her?

When I gave Maggie the Sight, I could have given her all the answers. But what fun would that be? It’s too easy. A leap of faith isn’t much of a challenge if you can clearly see the net beneath you. So Maggie questions everything… it’s rooted in her personality, that ‘dogged reporter’ thing. (See! It all plays together!)

Also I feel that her disbelief makes her fictional world (which is rooted in ours) more believable. Because I sure would question all these things if they started happening around me! so that voice in Maggie’s head that says “convince me” is a kind of reader surrogate.

 

I’ll be honest, I thought you were going to break my heart with Justin in Hell Week. Why did he back off at the beginning? And, for college students, their relationship moves fairly slowly — I’m enjoying watching it a lot. What made you decide to keep things physically light in this book?

Ha! My critique partner threatened me with mayhem if I broke Maggie and Justin up. Here’s the deal: Prom Dates From Hell (book 1) left them about to go on their first real date, then there’s a three month gap to the next book. I needed to reset the clock a bit, so we can all watch theri relationship develop. As for Justin’s motivation… Well, he has his own questions he’s asking, and we don’t know everything about him just yet.  (Just a teaser: we find out a lot more in book three.)

As for pace, I wanted to leave myself someplace to go. If Maggie and Justin reach complete physical and emotional intimacy too early, we don’t get a chance to enjoy the journey. The road to love is fun to read about, so why rush it?

And geez, he does get her shirt off. What more do you want?

No, wait. Don’t answer that.

 

And really, is there any better place to jump into our chat time than there *wink*

37 Responses to “Luv YA Book Club: HELL WEEK by Rosemary Clement-Moore”

  1. Kaige April 21, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    Congrats on your Rita nomination, Rosemary! I read books 1 & 2 last week and picked up #3 today. I can’t wait to read it.

    Thanks must also go to Bria for hosting this book club and getting me out of my reading comfort zone and helping me explore a bunch of great reads to introduce to my tween daughter. She was intrigued by my descriptions of these and was the one who found #3 on the shelf today at Border’s.

    I love how you weave all the pop-culture references into the stories. Do you worry it’ll date the stories or your readers? I loved that there were plenty for me and my daughter to both appreciate and have to explain to each other. Do you worry or hope that your younger readers will “get all the references”?

  2. Emily April 21, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    Hi Rosemary! Thanks for coming to book club this month 🙂

    I’m at work and about to dash home, but while I’m here, a question that’s been burning in my mind!

    In the first Maggie book, Justin is yummmm. I love him. But he’s sort of significantly older than Maggie (well, he’s adult, anyway), who wasn’t 18 at the time. Maggie’s parents are fine with the age diff, but did you ever worry about reader-parental annoyance?

  3. talesfromthecrit April 21, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    This whole series sounds great. I live in a place with a real dirth of YA so as soon as I’m able to find it I’ll be picking up all three. Do you think the market is as open to dark, more epic UF as they are to the fun, engaging ones like you have here?

    So interesting to hear about and I can’t wait to try them out.

    Amber
    http://ambergilchrist.wordpress.com/

  4. Tina Ferraro April 21, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    Hi, Rosemary! I’m so excited about tonight…I’ve been waiting for this. And I have a question, if you have time, something I’ve been wondering as a reader and a writer: when you approach a sequel or another book in a series, do you rely on a “bible” of past notes, or do you start by going back and re-reading the earlier works?

  5. briaq April 21, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Wow! Welcome everyone! I’m sitting here crossing questions off my page as you guys post.

    It’s great to see so many familiar faces (e-wise)!

    And another welcome to Rosemary. I’ll save mine till we get going….see if I have any left with this group 🙂

  6. anshakotyk April 21, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    Great questions so far. Thank you Rosemary for speaking with us tonight.
    I was in awe of your ability to weave in the amount of pop culture references. How do you do it? 🙂 I also wondered if you worry about them dating your book. I got 99 % of the reference, but I’m 37. So I’m wondering if it is an issue for a YA audience.
    Also, I remember early on in the story you mention Maggie’s pc crashing (MS Extorter HAHAHA! love that btw) because of the fractal popping up. Was that supposed to be the red hearing? In my mind the computer was doing what the wreath ultimately accomplished. Fuzzing up her head.

  7. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    Wow. Sorry guys. I’m already behind. Y’all are QUICK!

    First question: Pop culture references and dating the book. I try and include things that already are so ingrained into our culture as to be timeless (Star Wars, Star Trek, etc.) plus a few more modern references. Honestly, the most current references dwindle as the series goes on, for *exactly* this reason.

    But as to whether the younger readers will know who Ripley and Hicks are, or get references to Hal the computer in 2001 a space odyssey, I don’t worry about it. They can look it up if they want, or just sort of get it by context if they don’t.

    Posting this then moving to the next question.

  8. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    Justin and Maggie’s age difference. I worried about it for about a nano second. Seriously, you’ve got wildly popular series out there about a couple with a HUNDRED year age difference. I didn’t think that 3 years would be a big deal.

    Before anything more than a kiss happens between them, Maggie is over 18. Plus, though she’s young, she’s a young adult. She’s fairly self-actualized, with the normal insecurities (that even not-so-young adults have to deal with). So though there’s an age difference in years, I don’t think there’s a huge maturity difference. THey are more equal.

    On to next question. 🙂

  9. Kaige April 21, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Thanks, Rosemary. I’m forever pushing the “look it up” or “can you guess what it means from context” lines on my kids.

  10. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    re: Dark and edgy YA. Yes, there’s a place for it, and I think it’s already out there. I actually think that the trend is going kind of dark and romantic right now, but there is room for edgy. Of course, I can’t think of any off the bat. But there’s edgy in non-fantasy YA. (Crank, etc.)

    re: Keeping the details straight.
    I have a notebook of details about the characters, yes, though I don’t have to refer to it that often. Mostly for dates and very specific things–also to see what has been in print already and is set in stone, vs. what I know, but can still be tweaked a bit.

    Because of course I know much more about Maggie, Justin and Lisa than has appeared in the books yet.

    I also have maps of all the locations, espeicallly Avalon. They’re very messy and not very artistic, but they get the job done.

    Minor characters–I’m the worst about forgetting names of minor characters. So yeah, got to take good notes on them.

    I have to confess… I don’t go back and reread my books. I’m too afraid I’ll find something I wish I could change!

  11. briaq April 21, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    I’ll openly admit to being in love with Justin…um…If he’s based on say, an adult …please give him my email *wink*

    Anyway, along those lines, do you cast the movies in your head? What’s the line up?

  12. anshakotyk April 21, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    I have to tell you Rosemary, that when I started reading the book (i haven’t read book 1 yet), I rolled my eyes, “Oh, god, a stereotypical all-sorority-girls-are-evil story”. But I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how you worked the concept through Maggie’s POV. I was also impressed by the accuracy of your information. (Can you tell I’m a former sorority chick?)
    I wondered how you did your research until I read your bio at the end of the book. 🙂 We had an initiation closet that was micro small… and yet, my crazy imagination would go wild with possibilities. I loved that yours had xmas decorations in it… ours did too! 🙂

  13. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    Okay, now that I’m getting a little caught up– I hope I’m not being too sketchy on these answers, guys! I’ll be happy to fill in more detail, but this is my first live chat, and I’m trying to get these out quick.

    I’m goign to try and put names on the replies, too. 🙂

    Re: anshakotyk’s questions about pop culture and the fractals.

    I sort of touched on the pop culture thing in a previous answer. The pop culture references that I tend to use are things that have been around awhile, long enough to enter our cultural lexicon. Plus, readers who like Maggie are going to tend to know what she’s drawing on. For instance, a Star Trek reference is pretty safe. A Peyton Place reference maybe not.

    The fractals…. Nice catch. They were a kind of magical spyware. Maggie started googling things related to the Sigmas, the Sigmas (it’s not really a hive mind, but kind of that nexus of energy–and the thing they were tapped into) started spying back. (It also kept her from prying, too, so in that way, yes, it influenced her like the wreath. But the wreath worked so well on her because by then she’d gone through the pledging ritual. She was in the loop, so to speak, so more vulnerable.

    I never know how much this comes out but… there was definitely an entity, though not as defined as the demon in the first book, tied in with the Sigmas. It knew about Maggie before Victoria et. al., realized who she was.

  14. briaq April 21, 2009 at 8:34 pm #

    We’re a patient bunch – take you’re time 🙂

    These are great!

  15. melsmag April 21, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    Hi Rosemary,

    It’s great that you’re here. I’m enjoying the story and interaction of the characters and can’t wait to read more. I must admit that I haven’t read the first book either, jumping straight into the second. Do you find it hard to balance out the details, making sure that there’s not a lot of info dump to overwhelm the reader in book 2, but enough to make it able to standalone?

  16. briaq April 21, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    “It knew about Maggie before Victoria et. al., realized who she was.”

    Wow, that’s an even MORE frightening idea to think about looking at the book … my poor girl Maggie.

  17. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    Kaige — Thanks back. There’s a HS here that uses Prom Dates From Hell to teach students how to get the meaning of a word through the context. They get a page from the book, a vocabulary word, and have to define it without a dictionary. It’s an invaluable skill that MY mom taught me when I was just a tot, and definitely the basis of my vocab. (I’ve always been a voracious reader.)

    anshakotyk again — Okay, I was a sorority girl, and I had good and bad experiences. I *loved* my sorority sisters (most of them anyway) but really deplored some of the things that the Greek system reinforced re: gender inequality and the way the girls pinned their status on the boys’ approval.

    That said, all sororities are not evil, and I *hope* that came across in the book. It’s the system that could do with a revamp.

    LOL on the Xmas decorations. Our closet was pretty big. It was also where girls stored their suitcases during the year. And where the TP was stored.

  18. Emily Ryan-Davis April 21, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    I have to come out and admit that I waited too long to fully participate this time around. I picked up Hell Week then realized Prom Dates From Hell came first, so I spent all my last-minute time reading PDfH and only skimming Hell Week.

    That confession aside 🙂 – did you know your SAXi women were sexual vampires/succubi/witches from the beginniing – did you set out with that MO in mind for them – or did you start with some less…adult-themed villainies before you ultimately decided to go no-holds-barred and make the sexual predator trope your big thing? Was it at all inspired by Lisa’s experience in PDfH – a continuation of that coping with adult themes?

  19. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    briaq said: Wow, that’s an even MORE frightening idea to think about looking at the book … my poor girl Maggie.

    Muahahahahaha… Wait until you get to book 3!!!! *zips lip*

  20. briaq April 21, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    Oh, I’ll so back that up – Guys, if you haven’t gotten book 3 – go get it…well, wait till we’re done here, then go get it.

  21. briaq April 21, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    OK, I have a couple things I was really curious about.
    You’ve created an amazing heroine who has these unexplainable, uncontrollable powers – and yet, the two people closest to her are the ones who seem to have the Big Secret Lives. How do you balance Lisa’s present and Justin’s past in dribs and drabs and still keep them so immediate? (avoids obvious book three spoiler question here *sigh*)

  22. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    Melsmag asked: Do you find it hard to balance out the details, making sure that there’s not a lot of info dump to overwhelm the reader in book 2, but enough to make it able to standalone?

    Ah, the dreaded info dump. That’s a challenge, as is giving the new reader what they need to know without completely spoiling book 1 for them.

    I look at it like I do any time I’m trying to avoid an info dump, or “expository diarrhea” as I call it when I’m in a bad mood. I tell the reader only what they need to know to get through THAT MOMENT. Then if I get to another moment when they need some new info, I’ll tell them.

    With HELL WEEK, one thing I had to do was establish the history of Maggie and Lisa (because her redemption arc is important here, even though she’s not on screen for most of the book!) early on. I wanted new readers to get that there was both love and betrayal there. It didn’t matter if they know the specifics. If I did my job right, they’d still feel the emotional resonance of it, without all the details.

  23. Emily Ryan-Davis April 21, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    Oh, fwiw, I found the Maggie/Justin shirtless scene really hot. I’ve said before that I really enjoy the sexual tension in YA that is so much more subtle than the tension in adult novels, and Hell Week did not fail to deliver.

    I also appreciate that you didn’t complicate their encounter by pulling the but-I’m-too-young/but-I’m-a-virgin/but-whatever card, and made the interruption relevant to both plot and character. I’m eager to read book 3 to find out whether Justin and Maggie revisit their intimacy with less supernaturally influenced heads and bodies. 🙂

  24. briaq April 21, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    Emily – You’re question kind of feeds into my other question.

    Rosemary – how hard was it to push your character into college but keep your books on the YA shelf? Was there any type of discussion about what that had to look like?

  25. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    Bria asked: How do you balance Lisa’s present and Justin’s past in dribs and drabs and still keep them so immediate?

    This is an excellent follow up to my previous answer, because some of the same rules apply.

    As with the “previously on Maggie Quinn” expo dumps, I think about what I need to know to get through whatever dire, up to their *sses in alligators situation they’ve gotten into now. Because that’s how life is. When the garbage compactor on the Death Star is closing in, you don’t stop to ask a lot of questions about why Luke happens to be living with his aunt and uncle. (Even though we know *now* that’s an important question, it wasn’t important at that moment.)

    Justin’s past– I want you to wonder (as Maggie does) what made him believe the stuff he does. He tells her what she (and the reader) need to know at the moment, but no more. Once the crises is over, does Maggie pester him about it between books? I don’t know. I think they have a lot of things in the present to talk about. I think he’s probably good at giving her superficial answers. The moment when he comes completely clean will be important, and a turning point for them.

    Lisa–well, no one is surprised that she’s secretive. Maggie knows better than to push her. So, as a writer, I thank my character for having emotional walls like Fort Knox.

  26. anshakotyk April 21, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    You don’t need to push me Bria, I plan on getting book 1 and 3 for my reader asap! 🙂
    And yes, Rosemary, I did get the feel that you showed both sides of the sorority maelstrom. 🙂 I dropped out of Rush 3 separate times. My Rho Chi kept signing me back up anyway… she ended up being one of my sisters. So I totally identified with Maggie.
    I hear you on how the system needs a revamp… I had positive and negative experiences myself. I really think you did a wonderful job portraying everything about it in this book.

  27. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Emily asked: did you know your SAXi women were sexual vampires/succubi/witches from the beginniing –

    I knew sex was going to be the thing. As I mentioned, I have opinions about the messages that the Greek system sends about sexual politics. I wanted to play with that. Not to make it into social commentary, but my books are all about where your power comes from. Are you stealing it from someone else? Putting down someone to feel more powerful? Or does it come from inside, faith in yourself, or maybe even in something bigger than yourself.

    So in that regard, yes, its a continuation of the theme with Lisa in the first book, both what she did, and what happened to her before the book started. It’s about power. The sex thing–well college is all about figuring out the sex thing.

    And you know, with the media today, there’s very little teens aren’t exposed to by the time they’re old enough to read my books. I think that how you handle adult subjects and what you have to say about them matters more than the content itself.

  28. briaq April 21, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    OK everyone – It’s almost 10, so unless someone has a shockingly brilliant question or Rosemary has stuff she’d like to add without them, I’ll ask that you put in anything else, RIGHT NOW – so that we don’t kill her whole night 🙂

    If I could ask one question that you can ignore (seriously) – it would be – With all the secrets in book 3 that come out, are you already building book 4 secrets, how far ahead to you think that stuff. Like, we learn A LOT about Justin (so if that doesn’t get people buying it….) but is there still more to learn? How many books out do you plan?

    Also, Rosemary has a new (non-Maggie) book coming out in September called The Splendor Falls – would you like to give us a hint about that one too?

  29. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Emily (re: the shirt scene and sexual tension): I think that sexual tension is what drew me to write YA. In grown up books, there seems to be a rush to do the deed, and all that delicious tension leading up to the moment isn’t sustained. Good writers will keep the ride going (um, so to speak), but I (personally, and as a reader!) think there’s so much more to explore than just tab A, slot B.

    I think this is part of the success of Twilight and it’s sequels. They want each other, but can’t have each other. For three books!

    Bria, on the heels of that asked: how hard was it to push your character into college but keep your books on the YA shelf?

    There was no problem with it, and no discussion. It just was. 🙂 I have little interest in writing about high school, and my editor likes that about me. My books (Maggie’s, and the next two non-series books I have coming out) are all set in that age between–when you aren’t a kid, but aren’t fully an adult in the eyes of society yet.

    Content-wise… I haven’t sent in anything (yet) that anyone has told me to cut. 🙂

  30. Emily Ryan-Davis April 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Thanks Rosemary – I’m always curious about the conception and evolution of ideas and how the author’s interests emerge through the character’s voice.

    I look forward to finishing book 2 and starting into book 3, and in the meantime I’ll content myself with mental Justin/Maggie fanfiction. 😉

  31. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    Okay, I notice I missed the question about casting my books. I’m going to answer that one, then Bria’s question about future books… though if you throw out anything between now and then, I’ll do my best to answer.

    I’m also very open to answering questions on my blog–unless it’s a spoiler for book 3, in which case, e-mail me. 🙂

    Casting!
    —- Do you cast the movies in your head? What’s the line up?

    Yes and no. Most of my main characters are pieces of people. Maggie could be played by a young Wynona Rider, but I didn’t do that on purpose. She’s small, has that kind of elfin look. Her hair is out of control–she compares herself to Helena Bonham Carter in Fight Club, but the face is all wrong there.

    Justin (this is what you really want to know, isn’t it) is influenced by my love of Indiana Jones. He doesn’t look like Harrison Ford, except maybe around the eyes. You know in Raiders of the Lost Ark, when Indy comes into that tent and discovers that Marion is still alive? That look in his eyes? That’s Justin.

  32. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

    Books beyond book 3.

    I wanted the first three books to make a nice arc. There’s a development of Maggie’s character and her comfort with her superpowers, and with the supernatural world she’s learning about. So a lot of mysteries are explained in book three, but I hope that I’ve also opened the door to future things. There’s a hint at the end that her adventures are far from over.

    I like threes–I think of an overreaching character arc that spans about that long. However, I think each book should stand alone. Which sort of, but sort of doesn’t, answer your questions. I really plot the books that have been sold, though I may have things I hold onto and hope to use for future books.

    The Splendor Falls– Oh. My. Gawd. I love this book. It’s completely different from Maggie’s books, though I think you’ll find a lot of my usual themes, humor, romantic sensibility in it.

    The protagonist, Sylvie, is a ballerina, but she breaks her leg and can’t dance anymore. She’s grieving heavily for that, and for her father, and gets set to stay with distant relatives on a (haunted!) Southern mansion. There’s a ghost story, an old mystery, a (really gorgeous) guy that she can’t have met before, but feels like she knows, plus magic and a really adorable dog.

  33. briaq April 21, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

    OK, you just finished me off – I love that scene in Indiana Jones – I actually just had an I.J. movie marathon party this winter and yeah, lots of great memories.

    THANKS so much Rosemary for joining us – this was so much fun. I really loved the extra insight into books that I already loved! I can tell from the IMs in the other windows that everyone really enjoyed getting a chance to pick your brain about your books and writing!

    Best of luck – I really hope we get to see more Maggie in the future, but everyone remember to take a peek at The Splendor Falls this September.

    And to all our regular attenders and all you lurkers who are coming in from links I don’t even recognize (!) Thanks for coming – it’s been great hearing other people’s thoughts too

  34. briaq April 21, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    Wow – great sell on the book. Pre-Order time!

  35. Emily Ryan-Davis April 21, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    I want The Splendor Falls right now. 😦

  36. Rosemary April 21, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    Thanks everyone! I loved this!

    Let me add my blog address(es) if you have a question I didn’t answer, or, you know, just want to add me to your must read RSS.

    http://readrosemary.blogspot.com/

    and for the LJers…

    http://rclementmoore.livejournal.com

    Thanks again for the great questions!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Club News: Tera Lynn Childs Joins Us « Luv YA - June 22, 2009

    […] Clement-Moore – Hell Week   Leave a […]

Leave a Reply

