Buffy V Bella

12 Apr

Be honest, who would you rather be? Buffy or Bella…I’m sure everyone will have a grand old time justifying their answers in comments section. Play nice πŸ™‚

34 Responses to “Buffy V Bella”

  1. Jeannie Lin April 12, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    Buffy, hands down.

    It’s kind of cool if your vampire boyfriend is just a little bit afraid of you.

  2. Ella Drake April 12, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    Well, I’d lean toward Buffy, but I never really got into the show. haven’t read Twilight, but my impression is that Bella doesn’t have her own feet to walk on, much less a good roundhouse.

  3. briaq April 12, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    Jeannie – that’s brilliant lol

    Ella, you never got into the show? even the early stuff??/

  4. gwen hayes April 12, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

    Yeah. I didn’t even have to think about that one. Empowered female with the destiny to save the world–or—not so much.

  5. briaq April 12, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    lol Gwen….maybe worldsavers are tired and need to be…you know…the “not so much”s for a while….or yeah, not so much

  6. talesfromthecrit April 12, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    Let’s see…kicka$$ heroine or TSTL female? I’m voting Buffy!

  7. debbiemumford April 12, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    Woops! Sorry. Forgot to log out from Tales. That last comment was mine *LOL*

  8. briaq April 12, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    Ohhh someone voted for Bella amidst allllllll you buffy lovers. I wish she’d commented.

    So, if you loved Edward, but didn’t like Bella….would you vote for Bella?

  9. gwen hayes April 12, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    No, I would still rather be an empowered female and not change just to get a boy.

  10. briaq April 12, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    What about it if were say…..Hugh Jackman…..would you be Bella to have Hugh Jackman?

  11. gwen hayes April 12, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    No, Sam I am.
    Not in a box. Not with a fox.

  12. talesfromthecrit April 12, 2009 at 7:33 pm #

    I have to say, Bella drives me crazy because without Edward there is no story. Which I guess is sometimes true. But Angel and Spike and Riley make Buffy more interesting, but even without them there would still be a story.

    Amber

  13. briaq April 12, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    Thank you for including Riley…you know how i feel about him.

    What about for Angle, Spike, Riley AND Hugh Jackman as allll his roles?

  14. melsmag April 12, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    Ok I just watched a movie with Hugh and he was particularly hot in it… so that’s not really fair when I’m still thinking about him. LOL. But… that said… I’d still go with Buffy. She’s kick ass. I didn’t watch it when there was Riley or Spike so I can’t go by them. I did like Angel (thinking I show go rent the seasons). Haven’t read Twilight or seen the movies either though so I’m at a bit of a loss but I keep hearing how weak of a char she is, etc.

    On that note…Can I just get a side of Hugh?

  15. Cate April 13, 2009 at 10:53 am #

    I hate to say it but Buffy was in love with Angel and gave it up for him!!!! And he left her and broke her heart, and then she ended up with Spike. Edward always loves Bella, end of story. But it would be cool to see Bella take on Buffy in one of those celebrity death match things.

  16. briaq April 13, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    Wow Cate – that just sounds, I’m fast and painful lol

    Amber, that’s true, you could see the way she grew with each relationship no matter how it ended

  17. Gemilyrox April 19, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    Buffy wins no contest. And Angel too, when he found out buffy died he was real sad but he didn’t go all “sparklecide” like edward. Buffy is an icon, has had countless character studies and is a great fighter for feminism, Buffy rocks!

  18. briaq April 19, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    Ok, sparklecide might be my new favorite word

  19. talesfromthecrit April 19, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    Sparklecide!!!! LOL LOL LOL

  20. Imogen Howson April 20, 2009 at 6:45 am #

    Well, I voted Buffy because the idea of being that powerful is so much more seductive than just being a normal human–or of having to die and become a vampire before you can be powerful.

    But that’s not particularly a criticism of Bella. It’s just taste.

    And in terms of long-term happiness, I’d rather have Bella’s HEA than Buffy’s not-really-HEA-at-all.

    But then I’d rather have Angel than Edward. But then again I’d rather have Edward than Riley–particularly after he married someone else, pff. Hard decisions… πŸ˜‰

  21. briaq April 20, 2009 at 7:09 am #

    Immi lol

    I think that is one thing that got muddled over on the Boards – that it’s a matter of taste.

    I’ll admit, I can’t stand Bella. BUT, as I said, I can’t stand her independent of Buffy. I wasn’t the one who kind of said “why would you want to be Bella when you could be Buffy” — but, if Buffy didn’t exist….I still wouldn’t want to be Bella

    Or have Edward

    But, don’t make me throw down over Riley πŸ™‚

  22. gwen hayes April 20, 2009 at 8:57 am #

    I still think Riley was a putz, sorry B. I loved him, right until the time he gave Buffy an ultimatum after she caught him cheating.

    I could have dealt with “I’m sorry. I’m a wreck and didn’t mean to hurt you even though I was hurting.”
    Or even, “I’m out of here. This obviously isn’t going to work with us and I need to go.”
    But instead, he basically said, “It’s all your fault I made a bad choice, over and over. If you had been a different person, the girl i want you to be–and if you mother hadn’t died leaving you bereaved and stuff–well I wouldn’t have cheated. So it’s your fault. Either forgive me now or I am leaving forever.”

    That just made him less a man for me.

    But I agree with Immi–Angel over Edward. Totally.

  23. briaq April 20, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    Yeah, I’ll admit he screwed up big time at the end…But, I thought that just added to his humanness as compared to her other heroes πŸ™‚

  24. Imogen Howson April 20, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    Yeah, I think to seriously compare Bella and Buffy (not in a fun poll like you’re doing) is a bit odd, because they’re completely different characters filling completely different functions/roles in completely different worlds.

    And there doesn’t need to be an either/or. I freaking *adored* Buffy, and used to literally have dreams that I was her, which is a level of heroine-worship not much else inspires me to! Bella doens’t do that for me at all, but it doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the books in a completely different way.

    Tbh, I never forgave Riley for not being Angel. I’m loyal, me. πŸ˜‰ But I think if he’d been *more* of something and less of a white-bread clean-cut college boy I could have bought into that relationship as much as I later did with the Spike one.

  25. gwen hayes April 20, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    and see…I loved Riley’s white breadedness and think he was really good for Buffy. Very grounding. Until he decided to have the identity crisis. But I am very attracted to that kind of guy.

  26. briaq April 20, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    My sole argument: But Mark Blucas played Big 10 b-ball
    πŸ™‚

    Actually, i always saw Riley as the “might have been” guy – the respite, the if I were normal, this TA would be the guy I’d want, the guy I’d get to class to watch sit up front next to the professor, the guy I’d flirt outrageously with…if I could just be normal….

  27. Imogen Howson April 20, 2009 at 2:18 pm #

    Ha, funny. I’d seriously never considered that anyone might genuinely like Riley and want him to be The One. I feel enlightened, Gwen!

    From Buffy’s POV, Bria, that does make sense. And thinking about it, I realise that Riley was like the other guys she’d had crushes on/dates with before: Owen and…Scott? The sort of guy she’d be with if she *weren’t* the Slayer, if she didn’t have darkness in her.

    The fact that *I* like them better, too…I don’t know what that says about me!

  28. gwen hayes April 20, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    If I were to write say…Season Ten or Eleven….I think Buffy and Xander would end up together, eventually. At the beginning of Season Seven…when he showed up at the house when Dawn was getting ready for school….I just said “aha”. And then when he lost his eye…I just had a feeling.

    But that is me. I loved Angel, but I liked him better with Cordelia until she became not Cordelia.

    Why am I still talking about this show?

  29. briaq April 20, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    Because it was brilliant Gwen lol

    No, the kickbutter can never date the glue. Sorry.

  30. Imogen Howson April 20, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    What Bria said. Every time there’s a new paranormal type show I hope and hope and hope it will be as good as Buffy. And it *never* is.

    And ohhhhhh, I didn’t like Angel being with Cordelia! Even though I did like Cordelia in Angel. I felt extremely territorial, and wanted to grab him back and put him in cold storage till Buffy came to get him. LOL, doesn’t it show what amazing characterisation Joss did, that we care this much after all this time?

    Have you read any of “Buffy Season Eight”–the comic books? Cos there’s a definite “maybe Bander” vibe going on, so obviously some of the writers were on your wavelength, Gwen!

  31. tsvetinka April 27, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    I love BTVS and Buffy herself , back in the days I would have given anything to be her.But her life was very dangerous and sometimes she looked to me like the most miserable person on the world, I really felt for her. So maybe I would choose to be Bella because her life looks happier and easier to me than Buffy’s. And especially her future as a part of the Cullen clan. Money, invulnerability and nothing holding her back from her big love.:))

    P.S. And not burnig up in the sunlight:)

  32. tsvetinka April 27, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    I mean that the Twilight vampires don’t burn in the sunlight but if Buffy becomes a vampire she would.And she will loose her soul.So to me Bella has the better deal.

    P.S. Don’t think that I am not completely in love with Buffy, I am just finding the the pluses and the minuses of the two options:))

  33. Louisa May 5, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    I wish there were a way I could register how strongly I voted for Buffy here. Like a super double dog vote or something.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Am Woman Hear Me…Um, What Exactly Is It I Do? « Luv YA - May 5, 2009

    […] buff A couple weeks ago, based on a writing forum discussion, I posted a Buff V Bella blog post HERE. It’s still getting tons of hits and some votes, but what’s interesting is the strong […]

Leave a Reply

