agentwin

2 Apr

OK, it’s time to talk positive. It’s time to stop scaring those new writers who haven’t queried yet. It’s time for AGENTWIN.

 

You heard me right, agentwin (shout out credit to Crystal Jordan).

 

I would like to discuss some agentwins I’ve had. Just some postive experiences that have shaped the way I look at this thing called a “writing career” — if I can get it that far.

 

  • The agent who read my partial and wrote back saying she was passing because the synopsis made the story look predictable. She hinted that the issue was the synopsis since she didn’t find the partial predictable. Thanks to that agent, I rewrote my synopsis (oh the pain!) and started getting more requests
  • The agent who, when told I had a deal on the table, sent me a thanks, but go with that agent BUT still took the time to type out an entire page of suggestions and praises. WOW!
  • The agent who remembered me a year and a half later who I never queried b/c she doesn’t list my genre and I thought she was humoring me (learned: agents don’t humor when they encourage you)
  • The agent who took the time to explain HOW to query my stuff as crossover without sounding like a pompous you-know-what
  • The agent who said “I don’t rep that, but if you have time, I’d like to introduce you to so-and-so. She might be looking for something like that”
  • The agents who blog about things that are helpful and timely
  • The agents who twitter the same

I’m sure I could go on, but jump in – I’d love to hear more agentwins!

13 Responses to “agentwin”

  1. Celise April 2, 2009 at 6:53 pm #

    I like the one who told me that I needed to cut about 5,000 words, and my book could be an episode of KIM POSSIBLE. That was pretty cool.

  2. Eva Gale April 2, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    I have never, ever had one bad experience with an agent. All have answered back, all have been courteous, all have been more generous than they needed to be.

  3. briaq April 2, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    That IS cool – Definitely an encouaging statement!

  4. briaq April 2, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    That’s wonderful to hear Eva – I have to say. I have had one bad experience and one discouraging one, but to say “AGENTS” and group them…yeah, no way.

    thanks for commenting ladies!

  5. melsmag April 2, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    I don’t have any yet but I hope to in the near future. 🙂

  6. Rita April 2, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    I’ve only subbed to 2 agents and both were very nice. Maybe I’ll have some input on this after I finish my newest project and it starts making the rounds.

  7. briaq April 2, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    Go Mel!

    Rita – I’m sure you will – lots of agentwins for you 🙂

  8. SheWolfSilver April 2, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    I haven’t had the pleasure of subbing to an agent yet but it’s nice to know they aren’t all bad. 🙂

  9. briaq April 2, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    Actually shewolf, I’d say, they’re mostly all good.

    A lot of it is doing your research ahead of time. If it’s a reputable agent at a reputable agency, then I’ve seen very few issues.

    Good luck!

  10. December April 3, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    I was just thinking about this too, I’m glad you did it!
    I don’t have any experience with Agents yet, but I had a dream that Angela James decided I was her own personal pet project, and she took me under her wing.

    So #DreamWin!

  11. jeannielin April 3, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Agentwin: Anytime an agent gave a personalized comment about the writing. Positive or negative. I know that this is unusual and I can see why since they open themselves to a writer whipping back with demands.

    Give us writers an inch…

  12. briaq April 3, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    Sorry December, I doubt Angela reads my blog. Should I copy and paste that into divas 🙂

    That’s always awesome Jeannie!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Publishing Blogs Weekly Round-Up « Luv YA - April 3, 2009

    […] about it HERE and then, when all the anger started to grate on me did a little agentwin post HERE. A couple of agents […]

Leave a Reply

