Post Conference I Didn’t “Go” To Summary

30 Mar

I had a wonderful last couple of days. Writing friends from as far away as Washington state came into Boston for the RWA Writer’s Conference this weekend. While I couldn’t afford to attend the conference, I did get to hang out in the bar and with them outside their pitches. It was great! Just getting the vibe off encouraged writers has really rejuvinated me!

 

I did volunteer to be a runner since I wouldn’t be missing anything and so I got to meet several people.

 

I picked Meg Ruley up at the airport. She was as lovely as ever and getting to pick her brain about the whole “well, agents are telling me it’s YA-Crossover, but that sounds really assumptious to say” thing was great. (FYI, she told me to use the crossover word if trusted people said it was.)

 

I got to re-meet (the also lovely) Leah Hultenschmidt from Dorchester. She has an amazing memory. Anyone that can meet that many people and say, “I remember you don’t write anything we sell”, well, that’s pretty good for me – I mean, to remember me even though I DON’T write anything they’ll see….wow! Plus, my friend asked her about the SHOMI line. I don’t want to mangle the answer, but she said she’d try to blog about it soon…so watch that blog.

 

And, beyond my own friends and writers I don’t get to see very often, I got to meet Jessica Faust (as she was in the lobby getting ready to head out). Downside, they still aren’t doing YA or Crossover. Upside, I got to say thank you to her for the amazing blog she does. I’m a big believer in Thank You’s.

 

My friends who attened the conference had positve pitch results and great things to say about the workshops (feel free to send me those notes, girls 🙂 ) – but, hopefully, things will change enough for me to get to actually attend next year. But either way it was great to

5 Responses to “Post Conference I Didn’t “Go” To Summary”

  1. tuna72 March 30, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    Sounds like it was a lot of fun. I promised myself I would go next year.

  2. Meg March 31, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

    Thanks, Bria for all your help at the conference! Your help was invaluable! Glad your friends had fun and make sure they send in their chapters to the A/Es that requested them! I hope to see you soon- it was so great to talk with you.

    Meg

  3. briaq March 31, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    You’ll love it Tuna – I know the Divas who were there are already thinking about if they can go next year or not.

    Oh please Meg, I did nothing – seriously – amazing job this year on the conference! Very smooth, very fun, very amazing who you snagged!

  4. Meg April 1, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

    What? I snagged someone? Who? Did I enjoy it?

  5. melsmag April 2, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    Sounds like you had an awesome time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

