Birthday Month!

27 Feb

If you know me, you know I LOVE birthdays….not just mine. But, we’re going to talk about mine today since, well…. this is Bria Birthday Month (feel free to cross out “February” in your calendar and put that instead)

 

So, just like people do during the New Year season, I’m going to talk a little bit about life and blessings and struggles.

 

This month has been great on the blog – we’ve had amazing fun with the Line by Line contest….I’m still in it! Being in the top 20 was something I hadn’t even aimed for, but feel amazingly lucky to crossed that line.  The competition is amazingly tight so I could go at any minute. I was just telling a friend, it would ache to make it two rounds till the crit round, but with such great competitors, i’m psyched to have made it this far….seriously, go check them out! And remember, those entries are there based on only being able to add one line per week….. a great birthday gift would be making the top 15!

To everyone who has played along on the blog — I LOVE reading your suggestions….please ignore the fact that AJ has killed off the heroine 🙂

 

Last week Tina Ferraro was here at the Luv YA Book Club. We did her book The ABCs of Kissing Boys.  It was a huge hit…as was Tina. Seriously, she’s been so kind to me, I feel amazingly blessed to have found her and other people who make the time for peeps like me with nothing under our belts yet.  If you didn’t read the Book Club yet, check it out. We had a ton of fun!

 

One of my groups has been so focal to the turning point of my writing this month (and it is a special month, isn’t it) I’m part of a private blog group called ACers (Accountability Corner ‘ers) – these ladies have been amazing for me. I’ve had the writing grumblies lately. But I’ve kicked back into gear with this light, fun YA I’m writing. If it wasn’t for them kicking my butt and encouraging me, I’d still be slumping I thinking…. Ansha, Kai, Kaige, Kendal, Lauren, Mamad, Mel, and Tuna….thanks ladies!

 

Speaking of a certain ACer who I won’t out off the RD board (feel free to out yourself)….poooor girl. My darling AJ IM’d me to ask why the heck I wasn’t a mentor this year. When I had no reason she basically said, Fine. We’re good at different stuff. We’ll co-mentor her. —- Everyone say a little prayer for the poor dear.  But I’m finding it really exciting to see someone else’s project from the ground up. Just sent her the rough of the really light stuff. She’s hopefully laughing b/c its funny…not laughing at it.

 

Work, work, work….OK, thank God for the part time job. As you might have read in little clippets, I’ve been basically unemployed except for a couple short consulting gigs for 2 years…it’s been hard (to say the least) and I just want to say, with even little part-time store jobs so difficult to find, I remind myself that this little job slows down the financial bleeding and I’m lucky to have it.

 

My friends are taking me to my favorite Ethiopian resturant Saturday to celebrate! How lucky am I? No. Seriously!

 

So, I’ve written a book and had some positive feedback (ok, lets be honest, some, um, not so positive feedback, too)….I’m working on a light, rom com series of stand alones and thinking out book 2 of the fantasy… I’ve threatened to start giving out Book 1 on street corners in 2 years (everyone go find a street corner) – I have several book ideas (which is a good thing since I’d like to write a couple more than several) and writing seems to get better each time I do it. I can see my own growth, even though I know it will never be the end.

 

This year, I have a Big Maybe Plan….which if everything falls into line involves taking some  huge risks and having a big adventure. Stay tuned.

 

I have my ACer goals for 2009 to keep me motivated, focused and on track. No becoming a writing slouch here!

 

I am so lucky to have local friends, local writing friends and writing friends all over. I was one of those people who never would have believed you could be Friends with people you’ve never met face-to-face, but i know some of those nearest and dearest my heart — you know who you are!

 

This year feels good. I need a good year and this is going to be it.

 

So, happy Bria Birthday Month everyone!  Hope 2009 is a great year for everyone!

6 Responses to “Birthday Month!”

  1. Kaige February 27, 2009 at 12:40 am #

    Happy (B)ria (B)ir(t)hday Mon(t)h! I’m (g)lad i(t)’s been a (g)rea(t) one! You deserve i(t)!!*

    *PS: I special ordered he sicky keys jus for you!

  2. talesfromthecrit February 27, 2009 at 1:45 am #

    Happy birthday. And sorry about the character. That’s just the way I roll.

  3. briaq February 27, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    LOL Kaige – you’re too funny

    AJ, you can roll however you want

    Thanks ladies

  4. talesfromthecrit February 27, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    Well, thanks. Cause, you know, inertia…

  5. leta1950 March 5, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

    Hope you had a Happy Birthday, but I’m afraid you’re going to have to share that February title with me, my fellow piscean. We have so much current in common (aside from b-day closeness) a book , unemployment with the blessed juggling of part time here and there. i feel ya gal’. I hope you don’t mind but I’ve been stealing from you again, but I never do it with out linking back to you. I hope your new year is a good one.

  6. briaq March 5, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    It’s just nice to know someone thinks I’m worth stealing from!

    Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

