Luv YA Book Club: ABCs OF KISSING BOYS

17 Feb

As always….

 

WARNING: This is NOT a review – it’s a Blog Book Club. That means, we’re going to discuss the book – the whole book – yes – even the end – so guess what. There’s going to be spoilers.

 

SPOILERS PEOPLE

 

NO! Seriously. If you read past here, it’s your own darn fault.

 

OK. Welcome to Luv YA’s first Book Club Book Blog – YAY!

Ok, special guest #1 is BuffyPrower visiting from deviantart. com with her plot summary of the first part of the book . Stealing her bio it says: “She’s a sixth grader who is a huge fan of video games and still manages to find time to read a lot.” And I’d like to add, that (may she not kill me and take this out on her mom instead) she’s a mini-diva in training. And that’s a good thing.

 

The thing is, I kinda started reading “The ABCs to Kissing Boys” the same night [as Twilight – I’m still on page 7]. And I’ve been reading it more than Twilight. Seems like my end of the deal isn’t holding up, is it? Guess not. Well, Kissing Boys is actually very good, considering it’s a romance book, that’s saying something coming from me.

 

The ABC’s of Kissing Boys is about a junior high school girl (Parker) who loves soccer. She had gotten put on the JV team at her school instead of the Varsity team. But her school has this sports fair at the start of the year. The booth that gets the most money gets a special parking spot for the coach. So her coach is setting up a kissing booth. And Parker’s plan for Coach Heartless involves the previous Prom King, and hottie, Luke Anderson. But then she needs to pay a small fine. Only just $300. The pair’s plan is to have Luke go up to the $3 kissing booth and offer up $300 to kiss Parker. But the thing is, Park doesn’t know how to kiss. Luke’s advice was to go buy a bunch of Starbursts and cherries. Then unwrap the Starbursts with your tongue, and tie the cherry stems with your tongue as well. But then, how hard can that be? Quiet hard. But it’s what his ex did.

 

On the way home, she meets her neighbor from across the street (Tristan), who her father is so convently competitive with his. But Tristan seems to know a bit about kissing. He went to a camp that summer as a counselor. When the kids went to bed or whatever, the counselors played some games that involved kissing. Lucky for Parker, he teaches her some things about Kissing. And he’s a FRESHMAN. The worst thing ever. Freshman kissing Junior. Or, Junior kissing Freshmen. Yeah… In PUBLIC. But luckily, it’s only the street and he’s at least as tall as her, maybe taller. Exactly 364 days younger, and teaching her how to kiss.. Shame.. He only really gets to teach her the “Caterpillar Kiss”. Basically where you rub eyebrows together.

 

I’m a bit farther than this, but he’s currently giving her private lessons on this stuff, and she’s also having to deal with the first day of school. Her prissy brat ex-friend Chrissandra, the most popular girl in school, saw Parker and Tristan in Park’s mom’s SUV driving from one of their lessons, and automatically figured they were dating. Big mistake! On the first day of school, Chrissandra and her posse decided to give Parker a gift. How thoughtful! Then it’s a pacifier.

 

Here’s what she has to say: Yes everyone, she said PACIFIER. If you haven’t read it, you’ll just have to now, won’t you!

 

Now, on to special guest #2 – is this a great month or what??? And, if you’ve been playing along at home, you know that special guest #2 is none other than TINA FERRARO!!!

 

Tina did the most amazing thing and gave us a little behind the scenes look at ABCs of Kissing Boys. She answered some great questions and I’m sure we’ll stir up some more with our chatter. Oh, and I passed on a few you sent to me…Yeah, I was curious about the younger guy thing too….*bria pleads the fifth*

 

What real city is DeGroot, MN named for?
A few summers ago, my husband, kids and I attended a family reunion in Minnesota.  Afterwards, we drove north and stayed in Duluth. That’s the “real” DeGroot.  I fell in love with the Lake Superior city, with its harbor, bridge, bike paths, downtown area…but altered the name to allow me to “tweak” the specifics to fit my story!

 

Do you ever name your characters after people in your life?
Yes!  Here is an internet exclusive (haha): a number of characters in my books (especially the guys) are named after my kids’ friends. Sometimes on purpose, sometimes not.  For instance, from HOW TO HOOK A HOTTIE, there’s a real Brandon and Mark.  In THE ABC’S OF KISSING BOYS, I used Kyle, Tristan, Luke, Rusty, Keegan and Nick–all after their friends.  And there will be even more in my next book, WHEN BAD FLINGS HAPPEN TO GOOD GIRLS.  It’s definitely fun to tease the guys about being in my books, and I tell them to take a copy to college and use it to meet girls:  “Hey, did you know I’m in a romance novel?”  🙂

 

Does the Steam Kiss really work?
I have no idea!  I never got around to fully researching it.  So please, those of you with copies of my book, check out pages 125-126, try it and tell me!

 

Where did you find the Steam Kiss?
I did kissing research on the internet and in a few books, but most of the really good stuff came from kissing websites!

 

What’s the truth behind the Starburst exercises?
Both my niece and my daughter had heard of the urban legend that unwrapping a Starburst with your tongue would make you a better kisser, and passed it along to me.  And my writer’s instinct told me it was a fantastic device to help set the story.  Does it actually work?  Who knows?  Good kissing is subjective, probably has more to do with how attracted you are to your partner than technical skill!

 

Have you ever dated a younger guy?
Yes, the summer I was 24, I had holiday romance with a three-years-younger guy.  I was in Sweden to help organize an international conference, and he was a student I met on a weekend outing.  I was learning Swedish and he used the English words he could remember from school, so our sentences were very tangled with both languages.  We made a lot of mistakes and laughed a lot.  The problem was, once we got over the language problems, we didn’t have all that much to say…so it didn’t end because of the age difference as much as a lack of chemistry!

 

So, who is going to get back to us on this Steamy Kiss thing? 🙂

 

Getting on to the other questions – one of the things that always impresses me about Tina’s books is how fun they are while dealing with topics that are serious and can feel bigger in that moment. Everything from not making the team to feeling like you may be losing your home….Oh, you haven’t read that one….yeah, go read it!  How did you feel reading the desperate struggle Parker has to maintain her status at school while fighting against her growing relationship with Tristan?

 

One of my writer friends emailed me this past weekend to thank me for suggesting ABCs and introducing her to Tina’s books – she said she couldn’t wait for book club to learn about the woman who could put her  in “total awe of a woman who can communicate that her MC’s parents sleep in separate beds with a single phrase not even related to sleeping” — How did you guys feel about Parker’s view of her parents and the war with Tristan’s dad? I know parents can seem irrational sometimes, did you find yourself groaning along with Parker or laughing at her situation? (perhaps BuffyPrower would like to share some of her “my mom is irrational” moments 🙂 )

 

Parker learns a hard lesson in the end and has one of those “don’t know whatcha got till it’s gone” moments…We all knew it couldn’t end clean and pretty, but what did you think of her recovery?

 

Not all the girls Parker had a tough time with were Mean Girls. Tina’s done a great job at capturing the complexity of girls being friends – were you hoping for redemption for all the girls or did you love hating them?

 

I can’t wait to hear your comments and questions about the book!  As you know, this is Month 2 (yay to everyone who came back) — So, as always here, jump in and share your thoughts and your questions freely – remember (adults 🙂 ) this is a YA blog, so keep your wording YA Friendly!

58 Responses to “Luv YA Book Club: ABCs OF KISSING BOYS”

  1. Gwen Hayes February 17, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    Hey! I’m totally not reading the post because I am avoiding spoilers, but I wanted to chime in with “what a great idea this is”. Too bad I’m too lame to participate this time. Maybe next month.

  2. briaq February 17, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    Thanks Gwen – I threatened to put Emily’s email directly into a comment since she said such glowing things about ABC’s – lol the time difference is hard for everyone I know

  3. Kaige February 17, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    But how can I get by with just a “What Gwen said.” then? Hmmmpphh.

    Ok. going to reread the questions and see if I can come up with some intelligent comments. 😉

  4. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    Thanks, Gwen!

    And thanks, everyone, for having me here tonight!

    By the way, I wanted to mention that half of the interview is cut off on my screen…don’t know about the rest of you?

  5. briaq February 17, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    No, you can’t b/c I know you read the book and liked it…unlike Gwen who still has that opportunity 🙂

    So, An Extra Kaige Question – I know you read just about everything that your kids read – tell us why you liked this book and passed it on

  6. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    And hello to Kaige! (And Bria!)

  7. December February 17, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

    All this talk of kissing makes me want to find the hubby and smooch on him.
    I had no idea there were so many different labeled types! What a fun plot! Can’t wait to hear more!

  8. melsmag February 17, 2009 at 9:19 pm #

    I must say, when I was in highschool, I never read YA really. Maybe it was that whole wanting to be more grown up than I was kind of thing. But I’ll admit that I am intrigued by this book.

  9. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    Thanks, December and Melsmag! And Mel, think by the time I was in high school, I was reading adult novels, too. But the older I get, the more I want to stretch back to that time when my whole life was still in front of me, when anything was still possible. Which is not to say I’m playing the back nine holes of my life–just looking at things from a different slant!

  10. briaq February 17, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    OK, here’s a question I didn’t put above b/c it wasn’t for readers (but I guess they could answer it too in a different sort of way) — I’ve been wondering about YA heroes a lot lately (I mean, besides the ones I write) and the freedom of letting my non-fantasy heroes be a little more perfect, a little more “fantasy” like than those in my more realistic fantasy characters (if that made ANY sense) or my adult stuff.

    Do you (Tina) or any one else think there’s more freedom in creating a more-perfect guy in YA?

  11. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    Bria, do you mean is there more freedom in creating a perfect hero in YA versus adult romance novels?

  12. Kaige February 17, 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    Hi Tina! It was the conversation with my son about the Starbursts that Bria shared with you.

    Having a tween who likes to think she’s going on twenty some times, I loved how the book dealt with that oh-so-murky swamp of relationships between girls. We’ve had some issues with middle school this year and seeing that it’s not just mom but even characters closer to her own age dealing with similar betrayals and rivalries was something I wanted to share. And yes, DH related one of her dramas to his co-workers and they suggested having her watch Mean Girls (so I laughed to see the reference above too).

    My DH is 3 years younger than me, so I related to that whole aspect. I was a senior in college when he was a first year sophomore. People are a bit more lenient by they get to college, but I could identify with Parker.

    Just watching my two go through these years with all the pitfalls that accompany them, what made you decide to revisit them, Tina?

  13. briaq February 17, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

    Hmmm…See, I knew it couldn’t be clear 🙂

    Yes, compared to adult romances. I feel like some of my favorite YA heroes have been FAR easier to fall in love with than most of the adult romance heroes.

    I mean, I’m STILL in love with Jared 🙂 and I can see well drawn flaws, but he was soooo easy to fall in love with!

  14. melsmag February 17, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    I don’t know. I think there’s always a line. I mean, you do want them to be appealing in a way that draws the younger readers, whether playing on fantasies or whatever, but there also has to be a realism as well with faults and quirks. I could be completely off base from your question though. LOL. I think back then I would have maybe looked for a hero who was more perfect than what I would now, the ‘White Knight’ complex kind of thing. Now, I think I see the appeal more for those little quirks to keep things interesting.

  15. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Hmmm…I can’t say that I choose where my stories go. I just latch on to a subject and thread that appeals to me and then I forced myself down avenues. Some are uncomfortable, but that’s usually when my best writing emerges.

    Like most girls, I experienced a bit of the Mean Girl stuff, and I remember it being devestating, and while I was going through it, nothing else mattered or compared. I NEEDED the approval of those girls to feel good about myself. And I envied those who could laugh in the face of that kind of adversity. So I find myself writing both…the pain I suffered, and the triumphs I wished I;d had!

  16. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    Sp: devastate. Man, typing too fast!

  17. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Bria, I’m not sure where I stand on the hero question. Adult heroes are often emotionally bruised from an incident in their youths, leading to traits that cause conflict in present day. But teen heroes are often “clueless” to what’s really going on, which adds to their conflict. So I think for me it’s a 50/50 thing…

    And playing off with Melsmag said, I really do try to make my teen heroes as realistic as possible, if for no other reason than my 18 year-old daughter gives me a hard time if I don’t!

  18. Emily February 17, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    Hi everyone!

    If I haven’t mentioned yet, ❤ THE ABCs OF KISSING BOYS. I devoured it over the course of about 3 hours and was totally dismayed that it ended.

    Tina, I really AM in awe over that one little reference to Parker’s parents’ twin beds. It was so sly and clever and s-m-o-o-t-h-e.

    Regarding reading YA as an adult: I didn’t read much YA/middle grade fiction as a child because my mom would’ve had to pay for it. I got as much from libraries as I could but by the time I was 10 I’d gotten down to reading adult romances, S. King novels, etc., because they were the books my mom brought home free in huge paper bags. As an adult, I tend to gravitate toward the YA section of the bookstore and library before I head anywhere else.

    The YA hero is probably what does it for me. Adult romances don’t feature heroines who are dreaming of and sighing over the perfect man/boy (at least none that I like). The female leads aren’t unabashedly searching for the next heart throb (is that phrase outdated?) and are often actively NOT looking for the next love. It’s all very tricky, and to top that off, the hero has to go about proving himself and overcoming any of his past sins.

    Forget it. I don’t think YA romances are simple or simplistic, but I really adore the straightforward “I’d like to be in love”ness that’s more readily acceptable in YA. So even though I say the YA hero does it for me, maybe the real bottom line is the acceptability of looking for love is the hook, and that allows for a platform where a hero CAN be romantic, honest, straightforward, looking out for his girl in less complicated ways. Perfect in the sense that he doesn’t always have to redeem himself because he’s not guilty by default.

    More to come!

  19. melsmag February 17, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    I think that’s something that most readers can empathize with on some level. Highschool was bad for that Mean Girl stuff. I hated it and did things to make myself as invisible as possible. And if you’re in highschool and you’re reading about what the heroine is going through that’s similar, I think you feel more secure and confident because it’s not just you and you can put yourself in that character’s shoes throughout the story.

  20. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    Yes, Melsmag, and I think it’s human nature to root for the underdog. What surprised me in writing the book was how easy it was for me to write the mean girls. I could feel them and their insecurities and how they had to lash out to make themselves feel better. It was creepy to spend time in their bodies, but actually also helped me to get deeper into Parker.

  21. Emily February 17, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    “How did you feel reading the desperate struggle Parker has to maintain her status at school while fighting against her growing relationship with Tristan?”

    I didn’t realize it until just now, re-reading this question, but the romantic conflict is a perfect twist on the “I can’t love you because I’m an earl and you’re a maid” scenario.

    Re: the actual question – I wouldn’t say I had a hard time or felt grouchy or anything, but I will say I found myself sighing every time Parker let Tristan down a little on behalf of her friends. A little bit of self-shame for memories of my senior prom, when I went with the fat, smelly boy (who was VERY SWEET and kind, who had plenty of friends and was well-liked but wasn’t “boyfriend material”), when I went with him so I would have a date but turned away every time he came near. That memory made me identify completely with Tristan when he named his price for the kissing lessons. I saw a little bit of Tim in him (except Tristan is hot 🙂 and a little bit of me in Parker.

    The above sentence is strange in itself, though. I was not a popular girl. I didn’t play sports, was the fat kid, didn’t have any money, and so on. I was the kid who preferred not to have any friends than to risk a friend turning into a mean girl, so I had lots of acquaintances and not much else. At first, I didn’t think I’d identify with Parker. As soon as I realized she had lots of acquaintances and not much else, too, my doubts faded.

  22. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    Emily, that’s one of the best explanations of why to choose YA over adult romance I’ve ever heard! 🙂 I’m going to pass that along to my YA romance writer friends, if you don’t mind!

    And the twin bed thing…thank you…the reference to when Parker and Chrissandra are on the phone, huh? Well, as you say, there was growing distance between her parents, and yes, that was another subtle sign.

  23. briaq February 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    Sorry for the delay Em on getting your post up – my Tubfi (ie: borrowed wifi…shhhhhh) keeps blitzing

  24. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    <>

    Not in so many words, but believe me, Teen Tina wanted to shove Chrissandra against a locker in many of those scenes and shake a finger in her face until she apologized to Parker! 🙂

  25. briaq February 17, 2009 at 9:51 pm #

    Ok, I somehow deleted my own comment *snort*

    Emily – that was exactly what I was trying to say about teens and love and the hero…except on 2.5 hours sleep. That combined with Tina’s statement about cluelessness….which is far easier to feel is endearing from this DISTANT vantage point.

    Tina, I was wondering thinking back on the Mean Girls in ABCs if there were times writing it when the adult and mom in you wanted Parker to suddenly be 35 and saying “you guys are nuts. I’m done with this.” — are there ever times you struggle to keep that teen mindset and how do you deal with that if you do?

  26. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:55 pm #

    Emily wrote: <>

    You know, when I first started writing Parker, she wasn’t as pretty and previously popular as she later emerged on paper, and it was because I didn’t think I’d like someone like that, either. It wasn’t until I got comfortable in her skin that I realized she could be who she needed to be and I could still be her and give her my all! (I hope that makes sense.)

  27. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    Oops, looks like it’s not letting me put things in quotes. First up was a question Bria asked about whether I considered Parker’s feelings at 35 , second was Emily’s comment on how she wasn’t sure she would identify with Parker.

  28. briaq February 17, 2009 at 10:00 pm #

    Ok, so it’s almost 10 here!

    I want to thank everyone for bringing their enthusiasm. To the people I know weren’t able to get on tomorrow and are looking forward to reading this tonight, welcome and feel free to join in the comments!

    I’ve turned the “moderate comments off” (is that like letting the mice know the cat’s away) but I wanted guest to feel free to post and I’ll be heading to bed later and sleeping till work time tomorrow.

    TINA – wow! thanks for joining us. I’m sure once I get some sleep under me I’m going to have to read thru these again – this has been amazing and I’m so glad you could spend time with us. Any idea yet when we can look for WHEN BAD FLINGS HAPPEN TO GOOD GIRLS???

  29. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    WHEN BAD FLINGS HAPPEN TO GOOD GIRLS is slated for Summer, 2010.

    Thank you so much for hosting this! And I will continue to pop back on periodically and say hi and answer any questions or whatever!

  30. briaq February 17, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    blockquote instead of quote should work, Tina.

  31. Emily February 17, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    Tina, for what it’s worth, I don’t know if Parker’s conflicts and story would have worked if she had been a shy girl or a “content” girl who either didn’t care about friends or was happy with the way things were going. You needed to create a social difference between Parker and Tristan in order to make the romance work. Age difference can be overcome, but having the age difference function as a big complication with the social status problem really sealed it as a nearly-insurmountable-obstacle.

    In the end, Parker experienced lots of emotional change, from security in herself and by herself, to a greater understanding of friendship v. pack mentality. She also conquered a challenge many girls never do: coming to see the difference between a boyfriend who will make you look good and a boyfriend who will make you feel good. (Adult translation being the man who can provide a nice material life v. a man who can help make a nice emotional life.)

  32. briaq February 17, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    Great Tina! Thanks so much….

    Ladies, grab her while you can – and if you enjoyed this, please click over to see the trailer for Parker and Tristan’s story THE ABCs OF KISSING BOYS at tinaferraro.com – it’s very cool. As always, you can click on the YA Fresh link under my favorite YA links over to the left to visit Tina’s blog.

    Um, Kaige, you’re still logged in as me…I would never know anything about blockquotes – first clue 🙂

  33. Emily February 17, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    Everybody went to bed while I was typing with one hand and having dessert with the other 🙂

    Tina, I second bria’s thanks! It’s always a really unique experience to talk about a book with its creator. I can only hope some day folks will be excited about analyzing mine. 🙂

    Hope everyone has a great night – I’ll keep following replies for the next couple of days.

  34. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    Again, Emily, really well stated! And thank you!

  35. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 10:08 pm #

    Thanks again, Emily. And if you’re so inclined, please find me on Facebook (TINA FERRARO). I have lots of writer-friends and we love to chit-chat about characters and books!

  36. Kaige February 17, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    Oops. Yeah. I figured that out as soon as I hit the button.

    Sorry, I couldn’t drag Ms. BuffyPrower into the discussion or questions. She’s off doing that tortured tween thing which usually translates into art or a story while singing along with the iPod.

  37. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    Thanks, Kaige. As I said, I’ll continue to visit, and there’s always Facebook and/or my website and e-mail. I love to talk to readers and writers!

  38. briaq February 17, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    Emily – you’re totally trying to steal the “what ___ said” slot this week – I couldn’t agree with you more

  39. melsmag February 17, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    Thanks for dropping by Tina. Your book sounds great and I must say I love your titles. 🙂

  40. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    Thanks, Melsmag! My titles are intended to grab teen readers, but are just a little embarrassing to many adults. Including to me when I have to relay them to strangers with a straight face. LOL.

  41. briaq February 17, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    Emily – since you’ve really shone tonight with much better phrasing of my thoughts *sigh* – I put you in charge of Steamy Kiss Research – report back soon! *wink*

  42. Kaige February 17, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    I always figure it’s better to be caught reading even if the cover might bring a blush. Now, there are a couple of covers I refused to take to lunch with DD in elementary school, but I bet yours would have caught a lot of interest too. It’s definitely what caught DD’s eye on this one! It’s not her usual fare, so the fact that she liked it made me happy too.

  43. Kelly Parra February 17, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    Hi Tina, just stopping in to say hi! I’m Tina’s critique partner and ABCs is one of my fave books of hers. I think Prom Dress will always top the charts but ABCs was so awesome to read as it developed. I felt it was an education learning about all those kisses! haha!

    Also, I thought it was really brave of Tina to write about Parker and Tristan’s age difference. She pulled it off realistically for me and I don’t know if I’d have been able to pull off a young couple like she did, touching on feelings and popularity drama. It was a romance that made me sigh.

    Great job, Tina!! *hugs*

  44. Emily February 17, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    bria: I’ll talk dh into trying it out tonight!

    Tina: I’ll definitely look you up on facebook. I love talking about characters, and everything else literary-criticy. Unfortunately, I keep typing words like literary-criticy so I figured I’d never make it in that field. 😉

  45. briaq February 17, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    OK, one more reason to get on Facebook.

    Welcome Kelly – I completely agree. One thing I thought was realistic too was not only the obsession with the “he’s younger” part but knowing the exact number of days and sort of clinging to that. All along the way there were little hints at things that made Tristan mature and seeing him next to Parker and her lack of maturity coming out often, the match was great!

  46. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    Kaige, I’m agree about covers, and am delighted mine caught your daughter’s eye, too!

    Kelly, thanks for dropping by and saying all those lovely things. I think the age difference between Parker and Tristan was a little scary to write, but the initial set-up was so much fun that I just had to take deep breaths and get through it! 😉

    Emily, see you on Facebook!

  47. Tina Ferraro February 17, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    And Bria, thanks again! It was wonderful to be here with you and your book club!

  48. Emily February 17, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    OMG – Kelly Parra too? I loved your RITA-nominated book. The day I saw you featured on the Fictionistas blog, I ran out to pick it up.

  49. Kelly Parra February 17, 2009 at 11:34 pm #

    Hi Bria, thanks! Yes, the obsession with the number of days was so perfect!

    Emily, thank you so much! I appreciate that very much!

    Tina, looking forward to Bad Flings!! (Even though, I’ve read the rough draft!) 😉

  50. Ansha Kotyk February 18, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    I’m totally late to the party. *frown* But I loved reading all the comments.
    Looks like I need to get my hands on a number of Tina’s books!

  51. briaq February 18, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    What Emily said *again*

    And thanks for stopping by everyone – I’ll be posting info about next month soon!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twilight » Blog Archive » Luv YA Book Club: ABCs OF KISSING BOYS - February 18, 2009

    […] Becky’s Book Reviews wrote an interesting post today on Luv YA Book Club: ABCs OF KISSING BOYSHere’s a quick excerpt…reading “The ABCs to Kissing Boys” the same night [as Twilight – I’m still on page 7]. And I’ve been reading it more than Twilight. […]

  2. Publishing Blogs Weekly Round-Up « Luv YA - February 20, 2009

    […] off this week – If you didn’t get to Luv YA book club with Tina Ferraro right here on Tuesday night….Where were […]

  3. Birthday Month! « Luv YA - February 27, 2009

    […] week Tina Ferraro was here at the Luv YA Book Club. We did her book The ABCs of Kissing Boys.  It was a huge hit…as was Tina. Seriously, […]

  4. Round-Up, Positivity Style « Luv YA - March 13, 2009

    […] – I’ve been holding off reading it till this weekend but keep hearing all the amazing hype. Last months book club was so much fun. Another THANKS to Tina Ferraro…and if you haven’t read her books yet, what are you waiting for? […]

  5. KISSING, The Blog « Luv YA - March 31, 2009

    […] searches, kissing searches, seriously?, tags Since the lovely and talented Tina Ferraro visited Luv YA for Book Club, I’ve been  getting a ton of odd searches here. If only I could see WHO the people searching […]

  6. Book Club Big Announcement: Rosemary Clement-Moore « Luv YA - April 15, 2009

    […] you’re curious what it all looks like, check out our last one with Tina Ferraro HERE. We had a ball…I’ll never forget it b/c I was so sick I wasn’t even allowed to […]

  7. Book Club News: Tera Lynn Childs Joins Us « Luv YA - June 22, 2009

    […] Tina Ferraro – ABCs of Kissing Boys […]

Leave a Reply

