Line by Line Contest – Still In The Mix

11 Feb

I find it amazing with the talent in the Karin Tabke First Line Contest that I’m in the TOP 30!!!! Woo Hoo – it’s like Simon just told me “You’re going to Hollywood!” and I don’t have to stand on a stage with people staring at me.

 

I’ve already posted the next line – last week we voted. The weeks before that, you gave me YOUR best next line for my story. Some have nearly killed off my heroine. Some have turned her into the HS equivalent of a teen-girl-scorned-ninja (note to self: write that book), some have almost nailed my next line….So, let’s see what you’ve got this week!

 

I know what my next line will be. . . . Do you?

 

Seven lockers down, my boyfriend was making out with Cheryl, the way-too-perky head cheerleader.

 

I tried not to stare, but when his hand slid past her waist and over her hip, I slammed my locker shut and stormed off in the opposite direction. Not that anyone noticed. The problem – not only was I that gorgeous jock’s secret girlfriend, I also had a secret power.

 

I’m invisible.

 

OK, not invisible invisible. But, in the not-so-mythical land of Highschoolia where blending in equals obscurity, I rated a negative seven JD on the Jane Doe to Lindsay Lohan visibility scale. I’d be the first to tell you I didn’t mind – well, typically. I’d made a deal with the devil … I mean the boy… and stomping away was the only thing I could do.

 

 

 Give it your best shot – make me laugh, make me cry, make me wish I’d written that NEXT LINE now!

6 Responses to “Line by Line Contest – Still In The Mix”

  1. aj chase February 11, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    And as I was striding away, someone shot me in the back.

    THE END

  2. samq February 11, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    I just wish somebody, anybody, could have seen me do it.

  3. Inez Kelley February 11, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    Because hocking a lugie on his shoes was sooooo not my style.

  4. briaq February 11, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    You guys are totally cracking me up. Now AJ, I’ll need to make it a paranormal if I go with yours lol

  5. December February 11, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    No more after school Nookie, or crib sheets for the German level three exam for him!

  6. briaq February 13, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    I totally love that you capitalized “Nookie”

Leave a Reply

