Progress…or not

9 Feb

Sometimes you just feel squishy.

 

I know you know what I mean. Everything feels soft and unfocused. There’s not urgency or desperate need to get it down. The story/life/job/relationships/all of the above all have a squishy-fuzzy edge feeling to them, like being on emotional cough syrup. I’m feeling that way right now. I’m trying to get myself refocused and wondering what this issue is.  This is what I’ve come up with:

 

  • Working on more than one project at a time is a new experience and I need to learn to balance the emotions/voice/style between those
  • I’ve gotten out of my world for the Fantasy — I’m starting a read thru of book one tonight to do some more tweaking (hopefully) and re-grasp everything I’d put aside
  • I’m tired – yup, it’s as simple as that. I’m tired and stressed b/c of real life stuff and I want to push it all aside and just focus on writing again

So, what makes you squish? How do you get past it? Feel free to post in depth explanations with step by step directions 🙂

5 Responses to “Progress…or not”

  1. December February 9, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    eh – I usually give myself some slack when I run out of steam. read a book for fun, try not to obesses about stuff. Good luck! I got through the doldrums 2 weeks ago.

  2. briaq February 9, 2009 at 4:24 pm #

    LOL December – You don’t want to know HOW MANY books I’ve given myself permission to read – it’s embarrassing.

    I got a call from a friend today and when I admitted I was at the used book store she said, “For shame, bria! For shame!”

    I’ve decided to revert to deadlines 🙂

  3. Gwen Hayes February 9, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    I’m pretty much never focused. I’m a amazed I ever get any writing done at all.

  4. briaq February 9, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    I wish i could do that – i’d jus tsit in a chair for days and read and dream up stories and never actually write them down if i didn’t create some type of structure

    any type

    even a little

    like having a clock in the room

    yeah

    seriously

    *sigh*

  5. Celise February 10, 2009 at 12:03 am #

    Life stuff makes me squish. And, unfortunately, most of the time I just cram it down and hope it goes away on its own. LOL.

Leave a Reply

